Jump to content


Sandbox HD Maps - Is your PC ready?

Sandbox Server HD Maps

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

4TankersAndDog_US #1 Posted 15 October 2017 - 04:19 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 251 battles
  • 688
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

Played a bunch on the Sandbox server today and I love what WG is doing to update the 3D rendering system in World of Tanks and the HD maps it enables, but, I always then ask, what does it cost...?  Nothing is free!

However, War Gaming has made the bold claim that the new 3D renderer they've written from scratch is so much better than the old one and so well optimized, that it will deliver similar frame rates as before even with so much more eye candy, and even added a new "Ultra" detail level to take things to the next level.  As always, only one way to find out...

 

So, WG's claim of similar frame rates between v9.20 and Sandbox?  Generally true, although there are some odd pauses in game play (especially when switching between 1st and 3rd person views) that need to be ironed out (no stress people, that's why it's being tested).  Also Ultra Mode even delivered solidly playable performance on my rig, which is really quite amazing.  For reference:

Dual hex-core 3.33Ghz Xeon CPUs & 48 GB RAM

Dual Samsung 850 Evo SSD (RAID-0)|

ASUS Geforce GTX 1080 GPU

Visio 40" UHD 4K display (3840x2160)

 

Other system resource costs however were certainly not zero, and worthy planning ahead for (Black Friday is coming)

Sandbox CPU use ran around 50% higher and peaked at double that of the old v9.20 stats.

Peak memory use went up 400MB to 1.4GB (and when some day we have a 30v30 Grand Batttle HD Map, look for 1.6-1.8GB, about time for 64-bit WoT)

The game client on your PC's drive, with HD content enabled (HD textures), is about 30GB for v9.20, while Sandbox is about 40GB, and that's only with 12 maps!  Expect it to rise to 60-80GB total before release.

Along with the expanded storage footprint, battle loading times certainly increased though I did not clearly measure by how much.

 

And lastly a note on parallelism.  WoT v9.20 runs along with about 90 threads, while Sandbox is pushing 120 threads!  That's significantly more parallelized programming, gj WG and multi-core PC owners rejoice.

 

Want to more HD Map Sandbox game play?  Let's roll...



jack_timber #2 Posted 15 October 2017 - 06:47 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 31140 battles
  • 1,594
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Well I tried Sandbox, briefly, on my laptop. I was pleasantly surprised that can get, don't laugh, still 40fps using Geforce Experience on same settings to launch sandbox as playing 'normal' WoT. 

The weakest part of mine is the 840m GPU so maybe to enjoy the full HD experience it's time to upgrade. Well I have been looking for an excuse anyways so maybe now is the time.



RamRaid90 #3 Posted 15 October 2017 - 07:40 AM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 19657 battles
  • 5,841
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-14-2014

Nvidia Geforce GTX 1050ti here with an AMD A8 7600 10 core.

 

Played Ultra graphics @ solid 60fps.

 

Hopefully the new engine will allow for better optimisation on high end systems and not pander to the potato community.


Edited by RamRaid90, 15 October 2017 - 07:42 AM.


monthey_ #4 Posted 15 October 2017 - 08:12 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 34038 battles
  • 626
  • [MAROC] MAROC
  • Member since:
    04-24-2011
It's time to say good bye to my old and trusty Geforce GTX 9800 and 8 year old rig. Been thinking of replacing it for ages now. Hope the misses won't make a too big a fuss about it (probably wishful thinking).

ogremage #5 Posted 15 October 2017 - 08:50 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 31601 battles
  • 1,348
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011
So what is the minimum GPU to run it Ultra at 4K at 120 fps?

jack_timber #6 Posted 15 October 2017 - 09:08 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 31140 battles
  • 1,594
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

View Postogremage, on 15 October 2017 - 07:50 AM, said:

So what is the minimum GPU to run it Ultra at 4K at 120 fps?

Jingles had a video up yesterday about new maps he was recommending a GTX1060, probably what I am going for as it seems good value compared with a 1070/80, along with an I7 or maybe a Ryzen. Hopefully this will future proof for a couple of years.

Time to break open the piggy bank:)



Hammerhead20 #7 Posted 15 October 2017 - 09:48 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 25252 battles
  • 1,626
  • Member since:
    06-29-2011

I'm actually afraid that my old PC won't run this game anymore even on "minimum" settings...



Kicky92 #8 Posted 15 October 2017 - 02:23 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 12857 battles
  • 78
  • [EMRYS] EMRYS
  • Member since:
    04-21-2015

My potato PC can play the new maps okay. Intel Core Duo 2@ 2.93Ghz, 3.5Gb ram, AMD Radeon 6670 1Gb gpu, Win 10 32bit.

I play on SB with medium graphics without any loss to gameplay. The new maps are still eye candy on pleb-based machinery. 

Just go in a training room and fiddle with your settings till you find one that works :)

I get 30/40fps and my gpu and cpu are not too taxed either. 

 

Good work WG :)  Take my money.... 



4TankersAndDog_US #9 Posted 15 October 2017 - 03:27 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 251 battles
  • 688
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

And also FWIW, there's always talk of how WG's users have potato computers...well I have no data on that (though I assume WG does), however I find Steam's HW Survey at least an interesting reference to see how the online PC gaming community's hardware is evolving: http://store.steampo...vey?platform=pc



4TankersAndDog_US #10 Posted 15 October 2017 - 03:46 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 251 battles
  • 688
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View Postmonthey_, on 14 October 2017 - 11:12 PM, said:

It's time to say good bye to my old and trusty Geforce GTX 9800 and 8 year old rig. Been thinking of replacing it for ages now. Hope the misses won't make a too big a fuss about it (probably wishful thinking).

 

Frame your old MB and put it on the wall, faithful rigs deserve respect!

 

Damn, that's actually a really good idea, I think I have my old 8088 MB, and maybe an AMD 386-40 in a box some where...


Edited by 4TankersAndDog_US, 15 October 2017 - 03:47 PM.


4TankersAndDog_US #11 Posted 15 October 2017 - 03:47 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 251 battles
  • 688
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View Postogremage, on 14 October 2017 - 11:50 PM, said:

So what is the minimum GPU to run it Ultra at 4K at 120 fps?

 

LOL, well...something like double the power of my GTX 1080.  Not really sure such a beast exists without going SLI...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users