Jump to content


USA Tech Tree change


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

Bultan1144 #1 Posted 19 October 2017 - 08:26 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6229 battles
  • 23
  • [IDFAC] IDFAC
  • Member since:
    04-26-2016

I have the T37 and i was aiming to reach to T57 Heavy but i just saw that you canceled the option to move to the T57 Heavy line.

Why did you cancel it??

Now i just wasted a lot of time while i played the Chaffee and the T37..

Please fix it because it doesn't make any sense what you did.



qpranger #2 Posted 19 October 2017 - 08:31 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 32457 battles
  • 5,061
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-25-2013
OK

Aikl #3 Posted 19 October 2017 - 08:58 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 25547 battles
  • 4,349
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
Consistency in playing style, I believe.

If it helps, even at T8 you're essentially half-day to a T10 tank. If you "only" reached T6, the impact is quite small in the long run.

callum347 #4 Posted 19 October 2017 - 09:15 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 44805 battles
  • 397
  • [WAAT] WAAT
  • Member since:
    05-05-2013
I hope they do this to all other light tank/medium lines that connect with each other in future patches to, and this change to the USA tree should not be changed back, the T37, T71 CMCD, Bulldog play nothing like the T21, T71 DA, T69, T54E1 + T57 Heavy, it's autoloader vs no autoloader

Sheridan is still pretty good anyway, if you know how to play it well

Balc0ra #5 Posted 19 October 2017 - 10:49 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 66269 battles
  • 16,259
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostBultan1144, on 19 October 2017 - 08:26 PM, said:

I have the T37 and i was aiming to reach to T57 Heavy but i just saw that you canceled the option to move to the T57 Heavy line.

Why did you cancel it??

Now i just wasted a lot of time while i played the Chaffee and the T37..

Please fix it because it doesn't make any sense what you did.

 

It was not canceled. It was simply made into a single fire LT line, and a clip fire LT line. And yeah you might have wasted time on it, but it was announced and revealed months ago. So you had time to "divert" to the other line. So it's not a bad idea to check the portal for news now and then, or follow on the different WOT blogs. As such changes is shown there way before they occur.



SaintMaddenus #6 Posted 20 October 2017 - 11:57 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34729 battles
  • 1,342
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    03-04-2011

Not everyone lives breaths and sleeps WOT believe it or not.   I have 150K Sitting unusable on my bulldog as I to was working on that branch.   I have T49.

 

now at my average of 350 exp a battle that's....  a heck of a lot of battles....(ok Fortunately I was better with my Bulldog than with many of my other tanks, it used to be so OP not quite so without that massive clip)


 

Nor am I prepared to pay in gold to turn that exp into useable exp.



OreH75 #7 Posted 20 October 2017 - 02:42 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 47894 battles
  • 2,137
  • [RANGR] RANGR
  • Member since:
    05-29-2013

View PostSaintMaddenus, on 20 October 2017 - 11:57 AM, said:

Not everyone lives breaths and sleeps WOT believe it or not.   I have 150K Sitting unusable on my bulldog as I to was working on that branch.   I have T49.

 

now at my average of 350 exp a battle that's....  a heck of a lot of battles....(ok Fortunately I was better with my Bulldog than with many of my other tanks, it used to be so OP not quite so without that massive clip)


 

Nor am I prepared to pay in gold to turn that exp into useable exp.

 

A lot of people in your "unoffical" forumrites clan visit these forums daily and none of them told you of the upcoming changes...how dare they!

Pvt_Duffer #8 Posted 20 October 2017 - 02:47 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 16658 battles
  • 3,145
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-11-2011

View PostAikl, on 19 October 2017 - 07:58 PM, said:

Consistency in playing style, I believe.

If it helps, even at T8 you're essentially half-day to a T10 tank. If you "only" reached T6, the impact is quite small in the long run.

 

Here have one of these      ^H

and one of these                   w

 

Unless you're seriously suggesting earning 300K XP in half a day.

:great:



Aikl #9 Posted 20 October 2017 - 03:09 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 25547 battles
  • 4,349
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011

View PostPvt_Duffer, on 20 October 2017 - 01:47 PM, said:

 

Here have one of these      ^H

and one of these                   w

 

Unless you're seriously suggesting earning 300K XP in half a day.

:great:

 

Heh, Android spell correction is a funny one. Well, truth being told I'm terrible at writing on my phone. I want my T9 text prediction back, darnit! Oh, and where's my walker and cane?

 

I'll add that it sucks for OP regardless and that there traditionally has been 'line jumps' when stuff like this gets changed, usually sticking around for a patch or two. Would make sense to do things consistently - but hey, it's Wargaming! :P


Edited by Aikl, 20 October 2017 - 03:10 PM.


SaintMaddenus #10 Posted 20 October 2017 - 03:41 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34729 battles
  • 1,342
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    03-04-2011
People focused a lot on the Brit changes and the "Free" tank.  Not so much on the tree splitting.

Homer_J #11 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:15 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28744 battles
  • 30,032
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostSaintMaddenus, on 20 October 2017 - 11:57 AM, said:

Not everyone lives breaths and sleeps WOT believe it or not.   I have 150K Sitting unusable on my bulldog as I to was working on that branch.   I have T49.

 

now at my average of 350 exp a battle that's....  a heck of a lot of battles....(ok Fortunately I was better with my Bulldog than with many of my other tanks, it used to be so OP not quite so without that massive clip)


 

Nor am I prepared to pay in gold to turn that exp into useable exp.

 

You could try a support ticket, it won't cost you anything.

 

I remember when they switched the German light tree they gave out gold to retrain crews which had been altered.



Cobra6 #12 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:19 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 16332 battles
  • 15,768
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010

This is why they should have put the option on the T71 to switch between the trees, but they didn't because they want your money/time to grind another line instead of making it easier for their players to get the tanks they want.

 

Cobra 6



Homer_J #13 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:25 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28744 battles
  • 30,032
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostSaintMaddenus, on 20 October 2017 - 03:41 PM, said:

People focused a lot on the Brit changes and the "Free" tank.  Not so much on the tree splitting.

 

The loss of the link between the two lines didn't become apparent until the test server although they did try to remove it before when the tier X lights arrived so there was some warning of the intention.

 

View PostCobra6, on 20 October 2017 - 04:19 PM, said:

This is why they should have put the option on the T71 to switch between the trees, but they didn't because they want your money/time to grind another line instead of making it easier for their players to get the tanks they want.

 

A link between the two T71 tanks would make sense but probably only help a few people.



Aikl #14 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:30 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 25547 battles
  • 4,349
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011

View PostHomer_J, on 20 October 2017 - 03:15 PM, said:

 

You could try a support ticket, it won't cost you anything.

 

I remember when they switched the German light tree they gave out gold to retrain crews which had been altered.

 

Well, that was because they actually fudged it up and transferred the spare crew from the Aufpanther to the Panther 8.8 - which I didn't even have at that point. :rolleyes:

Balc0ra #15 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:44 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 66269 battles
  • 16,259
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostSaintMaddenus, on 20 October 2017 - 11:57 AM, said:

Not everyone lives breaths and sleeps WOT believe it or not.   I have 150K Sitting unusable on my bulldog as I to was working on that branch.   I have T49.

 

True, that's why we said... it don't hurt to check the portal now and then just to keep up with changes. As tech tree changes happens several times a year, most announced months a head of time. And become a topic even on this forum. Even the tier 8 LT XP changes not getting their XP going up was a hot topic several times. As was the T71 changes. So some will get that intel by simply coming here a few times a week.

 

View PostCobra6, on 20 October 2017 - 04:19 PM, said:

This is why they should have put the option on the T71 to switch between the trees, but they didn't because they want your money/time to grind another line instead of making it easier for their players to get the tanks they want.

 

Cobra 6

 

If every tech tree change like that had shortcuts to the old branches, the tech tree would be a mess of shortcuts. What they should have done was given you a simple option on what T71 the XP you had should go to when you logged on. Tho they did announce during CT that the current T71 XP would be moved to the T71 on the Bulldog line. But as more complained on the fact they were targeting the T57 more so then the Sheridan. They changed it to stay on the old T71 instead.

Havoc7926 #16 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:46 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 13083 battles
  • 559
  • [OLDG] OLDG
  • Member since:
    01-21-2011

I must admit that I missed this change and I visit the forums quite a lot. 

It's pretty hilarious really.

  • Ages ago I wanted to grind to the T57 and for that I had to go through light tanks.  So I failed my way up to the T71.  For some reason I didn't do really badly in that so when I researched the T69 and I had to put a fresh medium crew into a tier VIII tank I kept the T71 with the crew training accelerated.
  • Then the light change happened and I played the T71 a bit because now they had a tier VIII light tank to research.  Was ages before I realised I still had accelerated crew training on!  So wasted time there before turning it off.
  • Then I missed the line change so now I have xp on a tank that can't use it.
  • I've switched accelerated crew training back on.

The T71 has been a comedy of errors for me right from the start.

 



Havoc7926 #17 Posted 20 October 2017 - 04:49 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 13083 battles
  • 559
  • [OLDG] OLDG
  • Member since:
    01-21-2011

View PostBalc0ra, on 20 October 2017 - 03:44 PM, said:

. What they should have done was given you a simple option on what T71 the XP you had should go to when you logged on. Tho they did announce during CT that the current T71 XP would be moved to the T71 on the Bulldog line. But as more complained on the fact they were targeting the T57 more so then the Sheridan. They changed it to stay on the old T71 instead.

 

To be fair you don't even need to ask people.  Have a default stance if both options are not researched sure but if you have researched one and not the other then simple logic would state the xp should be put on the line of the not researched tank.  I hear computers are quite good at simply binary logic bit apparently WG are not.



Homer_J #18 Posted 20 October 2017 - 05:29 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28744 battles
  • 30,032
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostBalc0ra, on 20 October 2017 - 04:44 PM, said:

 

If every tech tree change like that had shortcuts to the old branches, the tech tree would be a mess of shortcuts. 

 

You mean like the Russian tech tree?  The only link they ever dropped there was the T-43 to SU-85 and that's only because they couldn't draw enough lines!

 

Nobody is asking for a plethora of shortcuts but a link from one T71 to the other, like the link between the two T28 TDs, would make sense.



mikado2 #19 Posted 26 October 2017 - 06:15 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 22343 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    03-28-2011

Hi guys,

I've grinded the M41 Bulldog to the T49 there was a change with the TX LTs so I was left with a large amount of XP on the Bulldog.

So for giggles I kept the Bulldog to got the T54E1 and so on.... & got the T49 to go for the Sheridan.

I've just noticed that the link is gone to the T54E1, what the hell?

I've 168k xp on the bulldog & nothing to research for it, changing it will cost a s**t load of gold.

What are my options??

 

cheers

 

 



thestaggy #20 Posted 26 October 2017 - 06:32 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14841 battles
  • 1,939
  • Member since:
    04-24-2015

View Postmikado2, on 26 October 2017 - 06:15 PM, said:

Hi guys,

I've grinded the M41 Bulldog to the T49 there was a change with the TX LTs so I was left with a large amount of XP on the Bulldog.

So for giggles I kept the Bulldog to got the T54E1 and so on.... & got the T49 to go for the Sheridan.

I've just noticed that the link is gone to the T54E1, what the hell?

I've 168k xp on the bulldog & nothing to research for it, changing it will cost a s**t load of gold.

What are my options??

 

cheers

 

 

 

That is the only option, convert it to free XP with gold/real money.

 

Fortunately I saw this coming and got the T54E1 unlocked the weekend before. Basically had to play only Bulldog over one weekend as I needed ~60k XP before the rework and I can't really play during the week. Got 3-days premium time and used some XP reserves, managing to get around 15k XP in a 2-hr booster period then played a bit more to get 20k, so it took me a Friday and Saturday night and a bit of Sunday morning.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users