Jump to content


Wargaming.net Game Center - Feedback


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

Kandly #1 Posted 14 November 2017 - 01:19 PM

    Community Manager

  • WG Staff
  • 695 battles
  • 663
  • Member since:
    08-23-2016

Hello Commanders,

 

The new Wargaming.net Game Center is here and we encourage you to change out your old World of Tanks launcher for a whole new experience! The Game Center lets you keep all your Wargaming games in one place, read the hottest news, watch videos, and get all the information on the latest deals!

 

DOWNLOAD NOW

 

  • Replace your regular launcher
  • Get in the game faster with automatic background updates 
  • See current news, useful links, sales, and more in the launcher before you play
  • Check and repair installed games if necessary
  • Access all your favorite Wargaming products from one convenient location

 

Got questions? We've got answers on our Knowledge Base! 


If you are experiencing technical issues that cannot be resolved with our Knowledge Base tips submit a ticket to our Technical Support team here.

If you have feedback on WGC or would like to report a bug, please do so in this topic.

 

See ya on the battlefield! :girl:

Kandly



Red_Dragon_Firkraag #2 Posted 14 November 2017 - 01:26 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14808 battles
  • 1,672
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

Forced to use torrents? NTY. My traffic isn't free. If it fails to work with just HTTP and HTTPS, enforced by a firewall, and gets mandatory, I am gone.

 

No, "Stop Upload" is "Stop Upload after Download" (insufficient), not during (what i really need).

 


Edited by Red_Dragon_Firkraag, 14 November 2017 - 02:23 PM.


Gremlin182 #3 Posted 14 November 2017 - 01:28 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 45395 battles
  • 7,509
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

Lets have a video showcasing it working first, Its not something I want to install then find I cannot take a step back and run the game how I usually do.

 

Not against it in principle just unsure if it is something I want or need.

 

 



Homer_J #4 Posted 14 November 2017 - 03:23 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27085 battles
  • 27,736
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostRed_Dragon_Firkraag, on 14 November 2017 - 12:26 PM, said:

 

No, "Stop Upload" is "Stop Upload after Download" (insufficient), not during (what i really need).

 

 

There is an option for no uploading.

 

Posted Image

 

If that doesn't do it for you then I don't know what you want.  To me no uploading means no uploading, during, after, or before download.

 

Downloading always generates some outbound traffic but it should be just acknowledgements and requests for packets to be resent, etc.

 

Ouch at that 30GB limit, my kids have more than that between the two of them on their cellphone plans.:ohmy:


Edited by Homer_J, 14 November 2017 - 03:31 PM.


TheSpearman #5 Posted 15 November 2017 - 01:40 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 21314 battles
  • 1,429
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010

View PostRed_Dragon_Firkraag, on 14 November 2017 - 12:26 PM, said:

Forced to use torrents? NTY. My traffic isn't free. If it fails to work with just HTTP and HTTPS, enforced by a firewall, and gets mandatory, I am gone.

 

No, "Stop Upload" is "Stop Upload after Download" (insufficient), not during (what i really need).

 

 

But the HTTP downloads aren't free for WG either, so instead of paying a proper CDN or using the limited capacity of their G-Core platform, they've shifted the cost to the player instead, since seeding a torrent is cheaper for them to do.

Red_Dragon_Firkraag #6 Posted 15 November 2017 - 02:08 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14808 battles
  • 1,672
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

View PostTheSpearman, on 15 November 2017 - 01:40 PM, said:

 

But the HTTP downloads aren't free for WG either, so instead of paying a proper CDN or using the limited capacity of their G-Core platform, they've shifted the cost to the player instead, since seeding a torrent is cheaper for them to do.

 

so they rather lose paying customers (and the revenue they generate) that rely on HTTP by making them buy more traffic at their ISPs instead of buying gold in the games they offer. Nice marketing logic.

 

If I and many other LTE users had a true flatrate for an appropriate price as an alternative, believe me, we would change ISP.

 

Blizzard used torrents for a while as well but changed to HTTP completely. CDN traffic is far cheaper than the traffic WG could rip off (and lose at potential purchase power) from their customers that are unable to obtain a true flatrate.


Edited by Red_Dragon_Firkraag, 15 November 2017 - 02:43 PM.


Storm_Upa #7 Posted 15 November 2017 - 05:41 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 2310 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    04-04-2017
A region changing feature? But like without downloading all the clients.

badabum #8 Posted 18 November 2017 - 04:44 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 44150 battles
  • 212
  • Member since:
    02-08-2011
Please keep the Game Center optional and leave the standard WoT launcher in place as many of us prefer it that way.

_Crusad3r_ #9 Posted 26 November 2017 - 02:26 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28400 battles
  • 1,562
  • [R-U] R-U
  • Member since:
    11-22-2012
1 game is enough....would rather not have more than one WG game installed on my PC :trollface:

Alabamatick #10 Posted 27 November 2017 - 08:05 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 31849 battles
  • 2,908
  • Member since:
    04-11-2011

View Postbadabum, on 18 November 2017 - 03:44 PM, said:

Please keep the Game Center optional and leave the standard WoT launcher in place as many of us prefer it that way.

 

^^

i never got game center to recognize any games to import (auto or manual) or connect to download service (shame i sometimes played wowp and now i can't(so uninstalled both)), i would also wish it was optional:(



Ray_PhotoGoth #11 Posted 28 November 2017 - 04:16 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 4951 battles
  • 97
  • Member since:
    11-03-2014
I use multiple clients and this confuses them. I am very upset that we are FORCED to use this on WoWP. The fact that you are not taking feedback comments seriously and telling me that I am stuck with the "game center" is discouraging.

I'm guessing you won't read this either.

etody77 #12 Posted 30 November 2017 - 11:06 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 58535 battles
  • 644
  • [PT-RO] PT-RO
  • Member since:
    09-12-2015
I want to play only 1 game, i don't need game center

grasho #13 Posted 05 December 2017 - 10:59 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 71684 battles
  • 30
  • [1ETR] 1ETR
  • Member since:
    11-09-2012

View PostKandly, on 14 November 2017 - 12:19 PM, said

The new Wargaming.net Game Center is here and we encourage you to change out your old World of Tanks launcher for a whole new experience!

Oh, I got the whole new experience.

 

This POS broke my game, wiping out my ability to play the game for the day, meaning I lost use of a day’s premium account.  Basically, WG’s software failed, it cost me a service I had paid for (a days premium account) and (and this is the best part of the “experience”;), when I complained, WG’s response was that I was to blame because I was stupid enough to install their software.

 

*Edited


Edited by Nohe21, 11 December 2017 - 02:35 PM.
*This post has been edited by the moderation team due to disrespectful comments.


Red_Dragon_Firkraag #14 Posted 10 December 2017 - 09:31 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14808 battles
  • 1,672
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

 

Thank you, Wargaming, for listening to my concerns regarding forcing to torrent LTE users and those that cannot obtain a true flatrate. Firewall blocks and other blocks are thus not necessary, because the launcher behaves as expected.

 

EDIT: I sadly have to take it back

Posted Image

 

Firewall settings are in order.


Edited by Red_Dragon_Firkraag, 13 December 2017 - 05:47 PM.


geekuma #15 Posted 22 December 2017 - 02:51 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23509 battles
  • 382
  • [URHO] URHO
  • Member since:
    08-18-2012

Hello! 

 

I say I like the Game Center, as it's a bit similar approach to multiple game management like Battle.net or Steam interfaces. However there's one big option missing all together: possibility to directly terminate the Game Center, instead it only gets minimized without any notification. 

 

Description: 

  • Closing the Game Center either from red X or from Windows Taskbar only minimizes the program and hides it to the right corner of Taskbar. 
  • There is no warning that Game Center is only hidden, now shut down. It remains resident eating computer process time. [EDIT] It doesn't matter how much or little process time it consumes, the principle is that it should be computer user's own decision whether or not a program can stay resident. 
  • One has to go and find the hidden Game Center and then with a right mouse button finally exit the program. 

Request:

  • Add a possibility to directly shut down Game Center without the need of multi-step closing process. 
  • Add a notification when only minimizing the Game Center instead of actually closing it. 

 

Merry Xmas time,

geekuma

 


Edited by geekuma, 22 December 2017 - 02:54 PM.


Unangwata #16 Posted 22 December 2017 - 06:36 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 7519 battles
  • 239
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017
Hi. Please make Game Center to auto-close on game startup, to save system resources. Normally it runs all the time in background which is not neccessary. Or add option to set it to auto-close.

deorum #17 Posted 23 December 2017 - 09:11 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 17364 battles
  • 167
  • [WHOGS] WHOGS
  • Member since:
    10-27-2010

I have the following problem. 

I have already bought Master Of Orion, via steam. 

But the Game Center cannot add it as already installed game. 

Not that this is a big problem, but i thought i would share it with you.



etody77 #18 Posted 24 December 2017 - 03:58 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 58535 battles
  • 644
  • [PT-RO] PT-RO
  • Member since:
    09-12-2015
I want launchers for every game separate, no gamecenter

Ashiq_1000 #19 Posted 25 December 2017 - 09:32 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 3551 battles
  • 7
  • [CMC3] CMC3
  • Member since:
    10-13-2014

hello,

 

Game center really needs a lot of optimization, because it takes up system memory while playing games and it also takes longer to resume an installation than the normal launcher. 



Red_Dragon_Firkraag #20 Posted 25 December 2017 - 01:10 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14808 battles
  • 1,672
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

View PostAshiq_1000, on 25 December 2017 - 09:32 AM, said:

hello,

 

Game center really needs a lot of optimization, because it takes up system memory while playing games and it also takes longer to resume an installation than the normal launcher. 

 

1) Memory consumption: It keeps files into memory to seed them to other players.

2) Slow start: It's slow because it tries to connect to other players to resume your installation before attempting to connect to the CDN and also checks already downloaded data for consistency before resuming.

 

If you don't want to seed, setting "No Upload" is not enough.


Edited by Red_Dragon_Firkraag, 25 December 2017 - 01:14 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users