How Player Stats Can Mislead

XVM Tomato Other Fruit

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

Tramp_In_Armour #1 Posted 15 November 2017 - 12:38 AM

Lance-corporal

• Player
  • 1779 battles

After lingering a while in the Below Average zone, I finally made it up to Average! On someone's XVM, I will now show up as yellow!

But that colour's a lie.

On tier 3, which is where I play most of my games at the moment (grinding new tanks) I feel I am, indeed, average. But on tier 4, I'm actually still below average. And when I play my Cromwell B at tier 6, I am really a tomato. Because I still struggle mightily at that level.

So on a tier 6 game, when some player with XVM peruses his team, I will be hidden among the yellows, and he'll curse the reds, not realising that I am one too. And I won't play to expectations because my WN8 was earned lower down, and at tier 6, I'm still a noob.

Yet that same player may see another tomato on his team and start giving him grief, in spite of the fact that the tomato player may indeed be a tomato at, say, tiers 8-10 (because he's still getting to grips with those levels), but when he drops down to tier 6, he could well be a better and more skilled player than I am.

Life is never fair, but it's worth a thought that the tomato you see may not be a tomato in the current game at all. And the apparently better coloured players may actually be worse.

Stats can lie.

ralesm1989 #2 Posted 15 November 2017 - 12:49 AM

Second Lieutenant

• Player
  • 26529 battles
  • [KAZNA] KAZNA
Congrats on you becoming a 

qqq10 #3 Posted 15 November 2017 - 01:23 AM

Corporal

• Player
  • 22292 battles
  • [_PPP_] _PPP_