Jump to content


SPG: Stun how?

mission says stun 3 times

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

Spankher #1 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:36 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4138 battles
  • 24
  • [UBATS] UBATS
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013

Hi, 

I have run out of patience with videos and guides that explain everything and anything about SPG what it stands for, where to park up on a map, how rubbish they are. I have watched hours of video and still no answer. 

 

How to stun? 

 

I have seen some views changing on the aim and I don't know how to do that either. So basics. 1 aim 2 kill 3 stun .. how to guide would be great, not a whole library on SPGs please anyone ? :confused:



DaddysLittlePrincess #2 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:43 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 23981 battles
  • 193
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

Most of low tier SPGs don't have stun. Hover over the gun of your arty and look for this parameters:

If they're not there, you cannot stun with it.



Spankher #3 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:49 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4138 battles
  • 24
  • [UBATS] UBATS
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013
Okay look, I get my question is soooooooo basic it's causing a problem. I in a tier four SPG, I have a mission to follow, it's stun 3 times and I get 50 000. I can get direct hits, I can get a 'wow that was close', I have no clue how to get a stun. I do see when I press the T on my keyboard a targeted circle light up on the map. I thought perhaps any tank in that circle might be stunned if I hit it dead centre, but no. I am clueless. Just tell me how to stun please:arta:

Strappster #4 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:51 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015
You need a gun with a calibre over 150mm to get stun.

K_A #5 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:52 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13581 battles
  • 4,663
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 07:49 PM, said:

Okay look, I get my question is soooooooo basic it's causing a problem. I in a tier four SPG, I have a mission to follow, it's stun 3 times and I get 50 000. I can get direct hits, I can get a 'wow that was close', I have no clue how to get a stun. I do see when I press the T on my keyboard a targeted circle light up on the map. I thought perhaps any tank in that circle might be stunned if I hit it dead centre, but no. I am clueless. Just tell me how to stun please:arta:

 

Try reading the post by DaddysLittlePrincess again. He told you. 

cragarion #6 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:56 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 42884 battles
  • 2,184
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 08:36 PM, said:

Hi, 

I have run out of patience with videos and guides that explain everything and anything about SPG what it stands for, where to park up on a map, how rubbish they are. I have watched hours of video and still no answer. 

 

How to stun? 

 

I have seen some views changing on the aim and I don't know how to do that either. So basics. 1 aim 2 kill 3 stun .. how to guide would be great, not a whole library on SPGs please anyone ? :confused:

 

You dont need to do anything to stun it's automatic when you fire anyone in the blast radius can be stunned.

Strappster #7 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:58 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015
Right, I've checked OP's tanks - your German tier 3 and 4 arty can both deliver stun. The others don't have a sufficient calibre so they won't stun. Play the Germans.

Erwin_Von_Braun #8 Posted 17 December 2017 - 08:59 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 37332 battles
  • 4,530
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    01-25-2014

View PostStrappster, on 17 December 2017 - 07:51 PM, said:

You need a gun with a calibre over 150mm to get stun.

 

I admit I thought it was a tier thing.

You learn something new every day:)



Homer_J #9 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:00 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 07:49 PM, said:

Okay look, I get my question is soooooooo basic it's causing a problem.

And clearly the explanation was too simple for you.

View PostDaddysLittlePrincess, on 17 December 2017 - 07:43 PM, said:

Most of low tier SPGs don't have stun. 

You're gonna need a bigger boat gun.


Edited by Homer_J, 17 December 2017 - 09:00 PM.


Spankher #10 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:01 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4138 battles
  • 24
  • [UBATS] UBATS
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013

View PostK_A, on 17 December 2017 - 07:52 PM, said:

 

Try reading the post by DaddysLittlePrincess again. He told you. 

 

No she didn't she told me how to see if it's possible for my gun to stun. Can you quote me the answer where it says how to stun ? How difficult a question is this? :ohmy: oh and by the way, isn't Daddyslittleprincess a female name? Sorry if I got that wrong. Perhaps cragarion has given me the clue, the blast radius... which I guess is to do with the Targeting circle. I have tried a number of times an never stunned anyone......it's beyond me , I think I will just give up. 

Homer_J #11 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:03 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostStrappster, on 17 December 2017 - 07:58 PM, said:

your German tier 3 and 4 arty can both deliver stun.

Maybe.  The Grille can in theory but in my experience it was pretty rare.  Either it's broken or the stun duration combined with any armour is so low it doesn't count.



Spankher #12 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:04 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4138 battles
  • 24
  • [UBATS] UBATS
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 17 December 2017 - 08:00 PM, said:

And clearly the explanation was too simple for you.

You're gonna need a bigger boat gun.

 

Nope I have the right size gun. What is wrong with you people? I am in Tier 4 SPG Sturmpanzer 11 and have a stun of 6 seconds on the gun. As mentioned above, I either get direct hits, or 'wow that was close, but never a stun, I was wondering why. I have deduced at this stage I need to have the targeting circle, OR no one else knows either. :deer: But thanks for taking the time anyway. 

Homer_J #13 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:05 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 08:01 PM, said:

 

Can you quote me the answer where it says how to stun ? 

You just hit them, or hit near enough to splash them.  If there's enough stun power left after the game makes it's calculations for distance and armour then you will stun them.  If it's not happening then get a bigger gun.



Strappster #14 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:06 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostErwin_Von_Braun, on 17 December 2017 - 07:59 PM, said:

I admit I thought it was a tier thing.

You learn something new every day:)

 

Being WoT, there's an exception to that - the Crusader SP is the first Brit that can stun with its top gun despite it only being 139.7mm. I guess in that case it is a tier thing. :teethhappy:

Strappster #15 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:10 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 08:04 PM, said:

What is wrong with you people? 

 

Now go back, look at your previous posts and find the one where you tell us which arty you were trying to do it with.

 

That's right, you didn't. You only said tier 4 and most tier 4 arty can't stun. But there's no trick to it - hit the target or land a shell nearby and you should stun them. I can only guess that you're aiming at super-heavies like O-I, where the armour is negating the HE hit completely or your accuracy is completely to [edited].

 

If you upload a replay to wotreplays, we might be able to see what's happening.



Spankher #16 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:14 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4138 battles
  • 24
  • [UBATS] UBATS
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013

View PostStrappster, on 17 December 2017 - 08:10 PM, said:

 

Now go back, look at your previous posts and find the one where you tell us which arty you were trying to do it with.

 

That's right, you didn't. You only said tier 4 and most tier 4 arty can't stun. But there's no trick to it - hit the target or land a shell nearby and you should stun them. I can only guess that you're aiming at super-heavies like O-I, where the armour is negating the HE hit completely or your accuracy is completely to [edited].

 

If you upload a replay to wotreplays, we might be able to see what's happening.

 

Thank you for your conclusive answer. I did think telling you guys I had a mission to stun 3 times was ample enough proof that my SPG could stun, otherwise, they wouldn't let me do the mission.....:amazed: right? In any case, apologise for the lack of clarity. It comes from my complete lack of clarity of how to stun. I can kill and damage but not stun... and I never ever have damage to the enemy from my stuns either ( clearly because I am not stunning)... No need for remarks that my gameplay is not stunning , I know... ;) It took me a few thousand battles to realise I could zoom in on the target.. ahem........... anyway, thanks all for your help....

Strappster #17 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:17 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 08:14 PM, said:

I did think telling you guys I had a mission to stun 3 times was ample enough proof that my SPG could stun, otherwise, they wouldn't let me do the mission.....:amazed: right? 

 

No, you can have an active mission that you're unable to complete in the tank you're playing.

 

All I can suggest is that you try aiming for lights, mediums and TDs more than heavies. You've more chance of damaging them and therefore more chance of inflicting stun but it should get easier as you progress to higher tiers.



mortalsatsuma #18 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:18 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 13088 battles
  • 1,593
  • Member since:
    06-13-2014

View PostSpankher, on 17 December 2017 - 09:04 PM, said:

 

Nope I have the right size gun. What is wrong with you people? I am in Tier 4 SPG Sturmpanzer 11 and have a stun of 6 seconds on the gun. As mentioned above, I either get direct hits, or 'wow that was close, but never a stun, I was wondering why. I have deduced at this stage I need to have the targeting circle, OR no one else knows either. :deer: But thanks for taking the time anyway. 

 

Multiple people have answered your question but just completely ignore that and insult them. :facepalm:



DaddysLittlePrincess #19 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:21 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 23981 battles
  • 193
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

Basically, if you hit the target, you stun it. There should be stun icon with timer over the hit tank. Stun damage happens when your allies shot the tank you stunned. Be sure you have enabled hitlog option for stun dmg:


Edited by DaddysLittlePrincess, 17 December 2017 - 09:21 PM.


Spankher #20 Posted 17 December 2017 - 09:34 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 4138 battles
  • 24
  • [UBATS] UBATS
  • Member since:
    08-26-2013

View Postmortalsatsuma, on 17 December 2017 - 08:18 PM, said:

 

Multiple people have answered your question but just completely ignore that and insult them. :facepalm:

 

:child: er no, I have not intentionally insulted anyone. If you are insulted, sorry. If not, then why bother mentioning it? . No one told me how to stun, they told me to look see if the gun on my SPG could stun. Now, I don't know about you, but being asked how to write a letter, and answering , you need a pen, is facetious at best or at worst not understanding the question. I might not be the greatest WOT player, but I have a couple of degrees and I teach language. Quote me an answer above to the question, 'How do I stun?' before I posted the reply you found so insulting. Remember in the English language, How do I stun, and Can I stun, are not actually the same question. But hey thanks again for your interest in the thread even if you have like so many others, completely misunderstood the question and the intention behind it. Have a nice evening. :great:




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users