Am I doing it wrong? Or spotting is broken?

Spotter

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

DuskGuard #1 Posted 19 December 2017 - 06:51 PM

Private

• Player
  • 16910 battles
  • [R-AM] R-AM

Hy!

Usually I rage myself out and acknowledge that Im a noob. But this is just stupid.

So, trying to do the 1500 spot damage without seen mission. I have 3 problems.

1. Mostly I get Close combat maps. No real chance for some longe range passive spotting.

2. If I do get one, and get into position, I cant spot a damn tank.

3. Usually a TD spots me, or in some cases a heavy tank. Even before I get into position. And they start sending me "back to the garage letters". Even then I cant damn spot them. 

So, what am I doing wrong in this case? Someone else has the same problem? Or it is just my karma?

Strappster #2 Posted 19 December 2017 - 06:59 PM

General

• Player
  • 23577 battles
  • [WJDE] WJDE

You're being out-spotted, most likely by an enemy light who's doing the same thing you are. Those missions can be a pain, you might get a run of city maps where it's nearly impossible to get any spotting - don't worry about the mission then, focus on doing what you can to help your team win, usually by looking for gaps to exploit to give the enemy something else to worry about.

Use optics or binocs, depending on the tank and your preferred light playstyle - active (driving around in circles peeking over ridges to spot) or passive (sitting in a bush). There's no point sitting in a bush that doesn't cover some area that the enemy will have to go through. Part of the challenge of playing a light is to counter-spot the opposing lights - when you're lighting them up before they see you, you're doing it right.