Prolific Hacks at High Tiers

• Please log in to reply
183 replies to this topic

NuclearNev #1 Posted 30 December 2017 - 06:34 PM

Private

• Player
  • 25977 battles

I have been playing this game for about 2 years pretty intensively and this is my first ever post, based on 22,000+ games. Having played loads of other games like BF2 etc over the years, I know when the cheats are in the game.

I am pretty certain that the upper tiers of this game are plagued by a few hacks/aimbots/cheaters. At the lower tiers it pretty minimal, but for Tier 9 and 10 it has slowly become clear that the game is unsporting and unfair ( with a commensurate loss of fun ).

I am a programmer myself (for the last 30 years), so please don't give me the usual guff about server side processing. It is still possible to write hacks and clearly it is widespread. I won't go into examples, as it's a waste of time and been done a 1000 times before no doubt. I have collected a few game replays recently, but it serves little purpose to upload them, as I am sure Wargaming have a whole department working on the issue.

However, I would say this: WARGAMING NEEDS TO ADDRESS THE HACKING / AIMBOT/  CHEATING EPIDEMIC WITH MORE VIGOUR. Regular dynamic obfuscatement of the code and network I/O  should occur every day or two, to stop the hackers keeping up IMO. In this day and age it's even possible to force users to upload unique (private key encrypted DLL) versions of the client that would really help stop any generic code hacks from isolating and interpreting the data in a fixed way (as the critical code would be different for each client's vanilla). All major encryption systems use this form of evolving/dynamic change, even the Germans managed it in WW2 using analogue systems, so it should be entirely possible in a digital game.

I myself have spent a lot of £ developing my tanks and find that the upper tiers are simply not fun to play because of this problem. It is spoiling my (and 1000s of others) fun.