Jump to content


Ghost shell....


  • Please log in to reply
117 replies to this topic

parky2000 #1 Posted 16 January 2018 - 11:46 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 33606 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    08-30-2012
What does everyone think of this... Why cant they fix this stupid issue. After that I got clipped and then died...

cragarion #2 Posted 17 January 2018 - 12:06 AM

    Captain

  • Beta Tester
  • 42900 battles
  • 2,184
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
Cant see anything on that apart from sore eyes bounces about way to much.

SuedKAT #3 Posted 17 January 2018 - 12:20 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,284
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014
The tracers is just what your client display, the shell travel path and impact point however is decided by the server, with a tiny bit of lag/packetloss you get a tracer that ain't displaying the exact truth.

Homer_J #4 Posted 17 January 2018 - 12:31 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

Pausing the replay and being an idiot for effect does not make you clever.

 

To fix the issue you need to invent a better internet.  One with 0 latency and 0 packet loss.  Please come back when you have done that.



VsUK #5 Posted 17 January 2018 - 12:44 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 14288 battles
  • 1,301
  • Member since:
    06-19-2012
Firstly, if the server is so out of sync with the client that what the client see's isn't whats going on, on the server side. Then the problem isn't with the client. But with the server. But seeing as this game is a reaction based game where split second reactions mean something. That amount of out de-sync is unacceptable. I've had shots not follow the line of the gun, they veer off massively in another direction. Apparently that's a sync problem. But it isn't. Its a server problem. 

Makes no difference what he did with the zooming & pausing. It doesn't take that long from that distance for a shot to register. They we're ample time to show the shot didn't register. It happens a lot. Simply denying it or deflecting the argument the OP made with irreverent comments won't get the problem fixed. And anyone who say's ghost shells don't exist. Well, what do you expect from people who think they know everything because they spend too much of their lives playing this game.

SuedKAT #6 Posted 17 January 2018 - 12:53 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,284
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

View PostVsUK, on 17 January 2018 - 12:44 AM, said:

Firstly, if the server is so out of sync with the client that what the client see's isn't whats going on, on the server side. Then the problem isn't with the client. But with the server. But seeing as this game is a reaction based game where split second reactions mean something. That amount of out de-sync is unacceptable. I've had shots not follow the line of the gun, they veer off massively in another direction. Apparently that's a sync problem. But it isn't. Its a server problem. 

Makes no difference what he did with the zooming & pausing. It doesn't take that long from that distance for a shot to register. They we're ample time to show the shot didn't register. It happens a lot. Simply denying it or deflecting the argument the OP made with irreverent comments won't get the problem fixed. And anyone who say's ghost shells don't exist. Well, what do you expect from people who think they know everything because they spend too much of their lives playing this game.

 

You don't seem to understand how basic server to client communication works, when you pull the trigger you send that info to the server which then calculate this with all the info it have on everyone's position, RNG etc, then it sends that back to you so the client can render the situation for you. Any latency or packetloss or any other issue along the way can interfere with this and then the client renders a tracer approximately were it thinks your shell went. It have nothing to do with the server, the distance of the shot, sync or what ever you called it, it's down to basic IT networking and the limitation it have, your ISP might have issues, your router might be hot, what ever and in the end your tracer in your client is a few centimeters incorrectly positioned.

Edited by SuedKAT, 17 January 2018 - 12:55 AM.


parky2000 #7 Posted 17 January 2018 - 01:25 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 33606 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    08-30-2012

View Postcragarion, on 16 January 2018 - 11:06 PM, said:

Cant see anything on that apart from sore eyes bounces about way to much.

 

​All you need to see is the first shot that goes in and where the tracer clearly is, go to specsavers
 

View PostHomer_J, on 16 January 2018 - 11:31 PM, said:

Pausing the replay and being an idiot for effect does not make you clever.

 

To fix the issue you need to invent a better internet.  One with 0 latency and 0 packet loss.  Please come back when you have done that.

 

​Did I say it made me clever? no. Did I say I was doing it for effect? no. It was frustration. Do I know anything about Networking? No.
 

Homer_J #8 Posted 17 January 2018 - 01:57 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27652 battles
  • 29,000
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostVsUK, on 16 January 2018 - 11:44 PM, said:

Firstly, if the server is so out of sync with the client that what the client see's isn't whats going on, on the server side. Then the problem isn't with the client. But with the server. 

Errmmmm... No, the problem is 1. with some players expecting too much from the technology. and 2. the distance and equipment between the client and server.

 

Server side aimbots would fix it though.

 

Quote

But seeing as this game is a reaction based game where split second reactions mean something. 

Are you sure you are playing the same game?



TEMELJNI #9 Posted 17 January 2018 - 02:41 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 22649 battles
  • 127
  • [L_T_D] L_T_D
  • Member since:
    08-11-2014

View PostSuedKAT, on 17 January 2018 - 12:20 AM, said:

The tracers is just what your client display, the shell travel path and impact point however is decided by the server, with a tiny bit of lag/packetloss you get a tracer that ain't displaying the exact truth.

 

As cobra pointed out, stuff you see is not what actually happens. Its a server based game, your client is just "showcasing" what client "thinks" happens.   Sometimes net code is not good as you might think it is. Take those ghost shells as just glitch in mostly ok developed game.

slitth #10 Posted 17 January 2018 - 07:25 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 11931 battles
  • 928
  • Member since:
    06-23-2011
Question? Was server-side reticle enabled or disabled doing that battle?

_T_1_T_4_N_0_ #11 Posted 17 January 2018 - 09:50 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28997 battles
  • 1,114
  • [SQCI] SQCI
  • Member since:
    02-17-2015
I think at times it is an ISP problem and at time its WGs ISP problem.

I have had ghost shells and seen my ping fluctuate  and accept that as my ISP.
I have also started games where 2/3rds of the team go AFK but I have been able to play.
Also had in with a clan member able to play (both UK) but I am not, but my internet is working perfectly.
Came back after 5 mins... !?!.

That was a month or two ago and I was complaining about ghost shells at the time.
I got the feeling WG where doing something with there servers an upgrade maybe, move or something.
It was just a week or so and completely spurious and actually it was very likely to be there side not mine.  

DracheimFlug #12 Posted 17 January 2018 - 09:57 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 8957 battles
  • 4,033
  • Member since:
    11-13-2014
Ghost shell? I hear if you stand alone in a complex, you'll be laughing man.... 

parky2000 #13 Posted 17 January 2018 - 07:56 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 33606 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    08-30-2012

View Postslitth, on 17 January 2018 - 06:25 AM, said:

Question? Was server-side reticle enabled or disabled doing that battle?

 

It was disabled but don't worry I do know about the server reticle as I used to play with it on.

AliceUnchained #14 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:20 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 38126 battles
  • 8,784
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011
Wow... a real ghost shell.... So they really do exist.... So worth it to create a whole new thread for!

Unangwata #15 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:26 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 8229 battles
  • 239
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017
I had better ghost shell experience today. Type 4 heavy shot his 75 penetration shell into my IS-3 turret (hull down) for full 1k damage and made everything broken in my tank+2 crew members injured. Explain that. Even the hat has more armor which I wasn't exposed anyways.

Pvt_Duffer #16 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:30 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 16653 battles
  • 3,144
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-11-2011
Replay. Or it didn't happen.

_T_1_T_4_N_0_ #17 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:42 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28997 battles
  • 1,114
  • [SQCI] SQCI
  • Member since:
    02-17-2015

View PostPvt_Duffer, on 17 January 2018 - 08:30 PM, said:

Replay. Or it didn't happen.

 

https://www.youtube....h?v=3k3dKIboZLY

https://www.youtube....h?v=WJwOqyJTjkM

https://www.youtube....h?v=5ZevsSu5MSg

https://www.youtube....h?v=dLT2eoSLfIs

Got bored but just google it, extremely rare but yeah they do happen.

 


Edited by DumbNumpty, 17 January 2018 - 08:44 PM.


AliceUnchained #18 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:47 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 38126 battles
  • 8,784
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostUnangwata, on 17 January 2018 - 08:26 PM, said:

I had better ghost shell experience today. Type 4 heavy shot his 75 penetration shell into my IS-3 turret (hull down) for full 1k damage and made everything broken in my tank+2 crew members injured. Explain that. Even the hat has more armor which I wasn't exposed anyways.

 

How is that even a ghost shell? And as always; provide replay or sod off.

Unangwata #19 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:48 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 8229 battles
  • 239
  • Member since:
    02-26-2017

View PostPvt_Duffer, on 17 January 2018 - 08:30 PM, said:

Replay. Or it didn't happen.

 

as a matter of fact I have the replay. 12 min till end of battle it happened. Crappy battle by the way.

https://nofile.io/f/... Copy.wotreplay

There must have been Ghost in that Shell.. https://www.youtube....h?v=AsIQ_kA77b4


Edited by Unangwata, 17 January 2018 - 08:54 PM.


Balc0ra #20 Posted 17 January 2018 - 08:48 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64335 battles
  • 15,403
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View Postparky2000, on 17 January 2018 - 01:25 AM, said:

 

​All you need to see is the first shot that goes in and where the tracer clearly is, go to specsavers

 

As others have pointed out, your tracer is just an delayed representation on what the server says your shell does. For all you know, the server says your shot went in front of the AMX, not in it. As you firing, or pressing your mouse vs the server saying you are firing will always be delayed regardless. As that tracer was rather close to the edge oh him to make sure what happened, and he was moving.

 

And since the game is calculated via the server and not via your client. It's not an "easy" fix. And there will always be delay on everything you do. Thus why you see tanks blowing up... before your shell hits them. Because the shell you see, is again not 100% synced to what the server says you do.

 

View PostUnangwata, on 17 January 2018 - 08:26 PM, said:

I had better ghost shell experience today. Type 4 heavy shot his 75 penetration shell into my IS-3 turret (hull down) for full 1k damage and made everything broken in my tank+2 crew members injured. Explain that. Even the hat has more armor which I wasn't exposed anyways.

 

Explain that? Easy, you overestimate how much armor your IS-3 upper turret plate or roof has. Every Type 4 driver knows where to aim at an IS-3. As he usually is higher up then you, thus he usually fires downwards at you at an angle. So that plate is not working the way it normally does head on.

Spoiler

 


Edited by Balc0ra, 17 January 2018 - 08:50 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users