Jump to content


My PC finally died, so I'm out...


  • Please log in to reply
142 replies to this topic

TungstenHitman #1 Posted 17 January 2018 - 10:28 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 18619 battles
  • 3,457
  • [TKSV] TKSV
  • Member since:
    08-28-2016

It died much earlier today actually, the signs crept in during today's few attempts at battles, then finally the screen froze entirely and never recovered. I restarted to a horrible scratchy noise and and all that came up on screen was some error info about the hard drive, ran the recommended diagnostics but the short of it all is my borrowed work pc is dead, and I'm out of this game lol... 

 

O dear what a pity never mind. I was given another hard drive from work to try but when I installed it the screen now reads something about the newly installed component needing me restart the pc with some other startup disk or something which I don't have and couldn't be arsed with anyway because the pc is not for gaming anyway and just some business thingy.

 

Anyway, I have a question, about what sort of minimum requirements is needed to run WoT to a full screen mode with acceptable FPS? It doesn't have to be in HD and can have most the extra FX switched off just so long as I can play, a bit better than before and on full screen mode? Is this game even that demanding Vs other graphics munching monsters of games? It's only a relatively slow paced 15vs15 small map game so? 

 

Not sure if I said it before but, I do like and want to play it BUT while I can buy a good gaming pc I really can't justify it for just one time killing pew pew game AND while there's a bazillion amazing pc games I could also play, for me, gaming is mostly a winter time thing and come the stretch in the evening, I'm more into cycling and hiking and traveling to the coast etc and really do NOT want to commit large portions of my free time to gaming so purposefully won't be taking on any more games tbh. So to that end I think I'll just pick up an entry lv or used gaming pc. Can you guys tell me if something like this pc and it's specs are adequate for WoT on low settings? Like I said, just something to play on full screen with acceptable levels of fps with all the fancy graphics turned to minimum?

 

https://touch.adverts.ie/desktops/amd-quad-core-gaming-pc-amd-3-5ghz-cpu-8gb-ram-250gb-hdd-evga-gpu/14571942

 

Thanks guys



TsundereWaffle #2 Posted 17 January 2018 - 10:30 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 25832 battles
  • 10,738
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013
I would not buy that, not even for that price

Balc0ra #3 Posted 17 January 2018 - 10:33 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 62806 battles
  • 14,408
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

Did spot you in your T71 earlier today on Stalingrad. So I guess it did not last much longer after that?

 

But as for min specs? My GPU died here before Xmas. I got a Geforce 1030 OC that are dirt cheap now until I got something better. Now it is on my 2nd ring on an old 6 core AMD FX 6350 cpu. & it runs WOT at 60 fps with high details at 1080 with no AA with 12 gs of ram, but an ssd. So you don't need to toss all the money in the world to make the game work. It even got gold on med details with no AA for the encore test on that rig.

 

As for the rig you linked? That's a really old AMD. I had a 955 when I started playing WOT. And did not work to well at some point. So I suspect that will struggle to. As when the new engine comes. It will be CPU heavy. That 560 GPU might do well. But not with that cpu backing it up. You might get 60 fps on low details now tho. But how that will work with Encore in March is a different matter. As I had a 560 ti before when I started this game. And like the cpu, it did struggle after a few years.


Edited by Balc0ra, 17 January 2018 - 10:42 PM.


apaleytos #4 Posted 17 January 2018 - 10:41 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 15127 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    06-26-2012

Check for cheap used Dells,HPs with i52400,i5 2500.Add a 1030 gt and you play just fine and not only wot .

Or 40euro for a low end 1155 mobo(used or chinese) and 45-55 euro for i52400/i52500(used),DDR3 ram is cheap get 8 gigs.



TungstenHitman #5 Posted 17 January 2018 - 10:52 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 18619 battles
  • 3,457
  • [TKSV] TKSV
  • Member since:
    08-28-2016

View PostBalc0ra, on 17 January 2018 - 09:33 PM, said:

Did spot you in your T71 earlier today on Stalingrad. So I guess it did not last much longer after that?

 

But as for min specs? My GPU died here before Xmas. I got a Geforce 1030 OC that are dirt cheap now until I got something better. Now it is on my 2nd ring on an old 6 core AMD FX 6350 cpu. & it runs WOT at 60 fps with high details at 1080 with no AA with 12 gs of ram, but an ssd. So you don't need to toss all the money in the world to make the game work. It even got gold on med details with no AA for the encore test on that rig.

 

As for the rig you linked? That's a really old AMD. I had a 955 when I started playing WOT. And did not work to well at some point. So I suspect that will struggle to. As when the new engine comes. It will be CPU heavy. That 560 GPU might do well. But not with that cpu backing it up. You might get 60 fps on low details now tho. But how that will work with Encore in March is a different matter. As I had a 560 ti before when I started this game. And like the cpu, it did struggle after a few years.

 

Ya was the next battle I think, I got to see the map screen with players, was Lakeville which would have been nice, heard the countdown timer, nothing changed then all fell silent, mouse cursor unresponsive, keys unresponsive, it had died. The signs were there for a few days actually but I thought with the old garage restored and Christmas thingy all gone maybe was going to be fine but it never was, first warm up battle in my repurchased Type T-34 was fine but whatever came after just stalling and appearing driving into walls from freeze moments was dying at that stage... twas a fun WoT experience for the year or more the potato pc lasted.

 

 

How about something like this? 

 

https://touch.adverts.ie/desktops/christmas-gaming-pc-great-gift-brand-new/14422010

 

 

 

View Postapaleytos, on 17 January 2018 - 09:41 PM, said:

Check for cheap used Dells,HPs with i52400,i5 2500.Add a 1030 gt and you play just fine and not only wot .

Or 40euro for a low end 1155 mobo(used or chinese) and 45-55 euro for i52400/i52500(used),DDR3 ram is cheap get 8 gigs.

 

Ya maybe I might try my hand at building my own from reasonably strong components. Was hoping to avoid that incase when I put it all together it doesn't work or some annoying compatibility issues or need disks with drivers and windows or god knows what... When it comes to pcs I'm like Oddball with tanks you know... I just use em I don't know what makes em go
 

TsundereWaffle #6 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:23 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 25832 battles
  • 10,738
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013

View PostTungstenHitman, on 17 January 2018 - 10:52 PM, said:

 

Ya was the next battle I think, I got to see the map screen with players, was Lakeville which would have been nice, heard the countdown timer, nothing changed then all fell silent, mouse cursor unresponsive, keys unresponsive, it had died. The signs were there for a few days actually but I thought with the old garage restored and Christmas thingy all gone maybe was going to be fine but it never was, first warm up battle in my repurchased Type T-34 was fine but whatever came after just stalling and appearing driving into walls from freeze moments was dying at that stage... twas a fun WoT experience for the year or more the potato pc lasted.

 

 

How about something like this? 

 

https://touch.adverts.ie/desktops/christmas-gaming-pc-great-gift-brand-new/14422010

 

 

 

too expensive for what you get and you would need to upgrade the RAM, and DDR4 is really pricy currently

Lovsan #7 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:30 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 15933 battles
  • 50
  • [FIPZD] FIPZD
  • Member since:
    05-25-2013
how about you just buy new harddrive? 

TwoPointsOfInterest #8 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:32 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 5146 battles
  • 1,999
  • Member since:
    08-07-2013
FYI I can run wot on low settings at a steady 40-50 fps on a laptop with a decent i3, integrated graphics and 2gb of ram

Aikl #9 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:32 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 25141 battles
  • 4,026
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
I tested WoT on a laptop that was quite literally the cheapest available in 2013. The integrated graphics solution is unnamed, but according to Notebookreview it's based on the HD Graphics 2500. It runs WoT on minimum graphics and ~720p on a relatively stable 30fps with a bit of texture compression. Even a HD4000 should do it; might test that later so you have something to go by.

SuedKAT #10 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:43 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,152
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

To me it sounds like your HDD crashed, I'd just replace it, you can get a 500 GB for 30-40€, personally though I'd go with an SSD since that tends to breath new life into an older system like that, but that's a bit more expensive. 

 

Edit: I got several systems I play WoT on, one is a Sony Vaio VGN-FZ31Z laptop from 2008 and even that manages 45 FPS at minimum settings.


Edited by SuedKAT, 17 January 2018 - 11:44 PM.


TsundereWaffle #11 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:44 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 25832 battles
  • 10,738
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013

View PostSuedKAT, on 17 January 2018 - 11:43 PM, said:

To me it sounds like your HDD crashed, I'd just replace it, you can get a 500 GB for 30-40€, personally though I'd go with an SSD since that tends to breath new life into an older system like that, but that's a bit more expensive. 

 

you can already get like a 1tb hdd for nearly that price :v

SuedKAT #12 Posted 17 January 2018 - 11:58 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,152
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

View PostTsundereWaffle, on 17 January 2018 - 11:44 PM, said:

 

you can already get like a 1tb hdd for nearly that price :v

 

I guess that depends on the location your at, checking a site similar to PriceRunner show me that the cheapest 1TB drive I can get would cost me about 43€, but I'd go for a more expensive (compared to others the same size) smaller drive than the cheapest 1TB drive due to quality and lifetime.

Edited by SuedKAT, 18 January 2018 - 12:00 AM.


Nishi_Kinuyo #13 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:02 AM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 6977 battles
  • 3,473
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

One note on a new HDD; you'll have to reinstall Windows and all the programs you typically use.

And since your old HDD is pretty much a brick by the sounds of it; recovering data from it will be tricky and expensive since you'd need to send it to some data recovery company.

 

An alternative would be looking around in your area for a company which sells refurbished office PCs and see if they're available at a decent-ish price.

 

Also, since its a borrowed PC, presumable from the company you work for; is there a chance of getting their IT staff to fix it or replace it for you?



TsundereWaffle #14 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:02 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 25832 battles
  • 10,738
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013

View PostSuedKAT, on 17 January 2018 - 11:58 PM, said:

 

I guess that depends on the location your at, checking a site similar to PriceRunner show me that the cheapest 1TB drive I can get would cost me about 43€, but I'd go for a more expensive (compared to others the same size) smaller drive than the cheapest 1TB drive due to quality and lifetime.

 

€47 for a WD Blue 7200rpm 1TB drive in Ireland

dimethylcadmium #15 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:08 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 4566 battles
  • 770
  • [WGL-A] WGL-A
  • Member since:
    11-24-2017

View PostTsundereWaffle, on 17 January 2018 - 11:23 PM, said:

 

too expensive for what you get

 

so are the tier 8 premiums you have on your account



SuedKAT #16 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:09 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,152
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

View PostTsundereWaffle, on 18 January 2018 - 12:02 AM, said:

 

€47 for a WD Blue 7200rpm 1TB drive in Ireland

 

About the same here, but I'd say that's to much and to big for a replacement HDD in an old system, a Segate 500GB is more than enough and that costs about 32€. A WD blue 1TB drive is almost a fifth of the cost of the entire system he linked in his initial post. 

 

Edit: Also as Nishi_Kinuyo mentioned above, used parts are everywhere, you can most likely get a cheap used HDD for almost nothing, local schools and business around here sell stuff like that all the time for close to nothing.


Edited by SuedKAT, 18 January 2018 - 12:11 AM.


Homer_J #17 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:14 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27072 battles
  • 27,710
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostTungstenHitman, on 17 January 2018 - 09:28 PM, said:

 

O dear what a pity never mind. I was given another hard drive from work to try but when I installed it the screen now reads something about the newly installed component needing me restart the pc with some other startup disk or something which I don't have 

It's telling you that you've got a blank hard drive with no Windows installed.

 

You need the Windows install media, DVD, CD, USB, whatever it can boot from.  Also you will need the product key unless it was Win10.

 

But since this is a borrowed work PC isn't it their responsibility, or is it "borrowed and you'll give it back when you have finished with it"?



Mimos_A #18 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:22 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 21337 battles
  • 1,766
  • [QSF-L] QSF-L
  • Member since:
    05-30-2015
Just build something from decent but cheap components. WoT runs fine on anything that's not complete junk.

SuedKAT #19 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:28 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,152
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

View PostHomer_J, on 18 January 2018 - 12:14 AM, said:

It's telling you that you've got a blank hard drive with no Windows installed.

 

You need the Windows install media, DVD, CD, USB, whatever it can boot from.  Also you will need the product key unless it was Win10.

 

But since this is a borrowed work PC isn't it their responsibility, or is it "borrowed and you'll give it back when you have finished with it"?

 

I missed that part entirely, if you already got a new HDD then as Homer said you need to install everything on it for it to work. Since you mention that you're "like Oddball with PC's" I suggest that you'll find someone that can help you format the HDD and install the operating system as well as updating and installing all the drivers and applications your need/use.

Homer_J #20 Posted 18 January 2018 - 12:37 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27072 battles
  • 27,710
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

Well if it's Windows 10 it could be as simple as sticking a DVD in the drive, rebooting and selecting the right country.  With an oldish system it will likely get the right drivers automagically.

 

But of course it won't be that simple, it never is.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users