Jump to content


Let us increase terrain quality in sd too.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

MyArmorIsGolden #1 Posted 07 February 2018 - 02:45 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 6596 battles
  • 216
  • Member since:
    09-06-2015
shooting invisible rocks isnt fun.

Enforcer1975 #2 Posted 07 February 2018 - 02:54 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 18345 battles
  • 9,836
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014
Or get a pc that wasn't state of the art 20 years ago.

Balc0ra #3 Posted 07 February 2018 - 02:57 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 62749 battles
  • 14,369
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostMyArmorIsGolden, on 07 February 2018 - 02:45 PM, said:

shooting invisible rocks isnt fun.

 

Depends on what you mean. Do you play on low quality? As in the hitbox on the rock remains the same as it's server side. And on low details, it uses less polygons on some objects. So some rocks or bumps are smaller, wider or more straight lined vs on high. Making the hitbox go outside the lines vs your screen, or under it. 

 

Even so it won't make much of a difference as the "SD" client won't work when the HD maps come. As no big world engine elements will work then related to maps. And on the new engine, the lines are less... blurry vs low and high details vs hitboxes.



MyArmorIsGolden #4 Posted 07 February 2018 - 03:14 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 6596 battles
  • 216
  • Member since:
    09-06-2015

View PostEnforcer1975, on 07 February 2018 - 02:54 PM, said:

Or get a pc that wasn't state of the art 20 years ago.

 

i expected comment like that. people like you needs to be eradicated.

DuncaN_101 #5 Posted 07 February 2018 - 03:16 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 51829 battles
  • 1,495
  • [-B-C-] -B-C-
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011
Someone is making friends.

Yes mate people like him are what is wrong with the game. And in other news pork has wings now

Darky1029 #6 Posted 07 February 2018 - 03:23 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 13220 battles
  • 893
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010
1.0 is to be released with redone maps, so this topic is irrelevant

Aikl #7 Posted 07 February 2018 - 03:29 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 25141 battles
  • 3,991
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011

From what I can tell, there won't be a 'standard' and 'improved' rendering mode post-1.0, so increasing the terrain quality should be fine even with all else set to crap low.

 

Personally, I prefer standard rendering. Prevents me from remembering that this game actually has seen development over the past five-ish years. :P



PowJay #8 Posted 07 February 2018 - 04:34 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33752 battles
  • 3,947
  • Member since:
    09-07-2012

Do you even stop to think about what you are asking for?

 

OK, so I don't play in "SD" but what happens if you increase the quality to max? Or, for that matter: what happens if you download the HD client and set everything to minimum?

 

WG are striving to make WoT a fantastic looking game- for all its perceived other faults- and it is a fantastic looking game. Do you expect them to dumb it down because you are playing on a Pentium system?


 

Admittedly, I can only presume that there are limitations to what can be achieved on your potato of a PC, but if you cannot improve on whatever settings that you already have, then I think that it is time to accept one simple premise- Just because you can play this game for nothing, it does not mean that the developers should continue to run the game at a level suitable for ancient computers- to the detriment of other players. i.e. Level the playing field so that someone playing on a 286 sees the same as someone playing on a new i5 or i7 system (other CPUs are available).


 

Footnote. I am conscious of comments made on the forums over the years concerning the game engine and its limitations/requirements, but that still doesn't mean that just because players continue to play on Colossus machines, that they should be WG's primary concern.



Enforcer1975 #9 Posted 07 February 2018 - 05:13 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 18345 battles
  • 9,836
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014

View PostMyArmorIsGolden, on 07 February 2018 - 03:14 PM, said:

 

i expected comment like that. people like you needs to be eradicated.

The rig I am playing is 8yo to except the gpu. I max out fps on a GTX 970. 

My other rig which is twice the age runs it on medium settings with over 60 fps and high settings with 40 fps ( core 2 duo with a GTX 260 )

So how old is your rig?



DuncaN_101 #10 Posted 07 February 2018 - 09:14 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 51829 battles
  • 1,495
  • [-B-C-] -B-C-
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011
He spent all his money on golden armour... He can't afford a better rig




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users