Jump to content


Tank not responding to movement keys...


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

drasko111 #1 Posted 11 March 2018 - 03:55 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 28226 battles
  • 62
  • Member since:
    06-17-2012

So, i just started to have this problem where my tanks just move, stop, move, stop when holding any of the movement keys W A S D....

It's like your pressing the button every second but I'm holding it... i don't think it's my keyboard keys because i just try'd it in other games and wrote stuff in word.

FPS 60 always and ping around 20.

 

Uninstalled all mods, cleared wot folder and cache still same crap after 5 battles...almost non responding to my movement keys...

Anyone knows something? :S


Edited by drasko111, 11 March 2018 - 03:55 PM.


MrRaykes #2 Posted 11 March 2018 - 03:58 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6053 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    08-17-2015
Happened to me twice and had to reboot both times. Vanilla client, only TS in the background.

clanmcwood #3 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:05 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22107 battles
  • 1,295
  • [-VIC-] -VIC-
  • Member since:
    02-29-2012
I've had it once where my tank just kept driving after i released W no rise in ping or no problem with my internet,  put it down to packet loss to the server. still super annoying and got me killed

XxKuzkina_MatxX #4 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:09 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 47800 battles
  • 1,384
  • [RU18] RU18
  • Member since:
    04-02-2016
Happened to me as well. My best guess is packet loss, not a keyboard problem.

drasko111 #5 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:10 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 28226 battles
  • 62
  • Member since:
    06-17-2012

View PostMrRaykes, on 11 March 2018 - 03:58 PM, said:

Happened to me twice and had to reboot both times. Vanilla client, only TS in the background.

 

I just restarted and still got the same problem :S

Can only drive when i use autodrive R....keys are barely responding....



XxKuzkina_MatxX #6 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:12 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 47800 battles
  • 1,384
  • [RU18] RU18
  • Member since:
    04-02-2016

View Postdrasko111, on 11 March 2018 - 05:10 PM, said:

 

I just restarted and still got the same problem :S

Can only drive when i use autodrive R....keys are barely responding....

 

Try to restart your router.

250swb #7 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:16 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 21699 battles
  • 4,864
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015
I had that on Prok about an hour ago, the tank just kept driving for five or six seconds (right into the enemy lines, honest I had no control). Didn't feel like classic lag symptoms or my internet, but it cleared and didn't happen again.

Edited by 250swb, 11 March 2018 - 04:17 PM.


kaneloon #8 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:28 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 27362 battles
  • 1,267
  • [OBLIC] OBLIC
  • Member since:
    11-18-2011
Wireless keyboard with exhausted batteries ?

drasko111 #9 Posted 11 March 2018 - 04:37 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 28226 battles
  • 62
  • Member since:
    06-17-2012

View Postkaneloon, on 11 March 2018 - 04:28 PM, said:

Wireless keyboard with exhausted batteries ?

 

Nah, just a normal keyboard which i try'd already in 4 different games and have no problems.

_Anarchistic_ #10 Posted 11 March 2018 - 10:19 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 36530 battles
  • 1,081
  • Member since:
    01-07-2015

check you are playing full screen not windowed mode, if you right click mouse and your game responds you have windows programs interrupting or windows notifications

 

 


Edited by _Anarchistic_, 11 March 2018 - 10:28 PM.


Steve8066 #11 Posted 11 March 2018 - 10:31 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 11180 battles
  • 728
  • Member since:
    10-06-2015

View Postdrasko111, on 11 March 2018 - 03:55 PM, said:

So, i just started to have this problem where my tanks just move, stop, move, stop when holding any of the movement keys W A S D....

It's like your pressing the button every second but I'm holding it... i don't think it's my keyboard keys because i just try'd it in other games and wrote stuff in word.

FPS 60 always and ping around 20.

 

Uninstalled all mods, cleared wot folder and cache still same crap after 5 battles...almost non responding to my movement keys...

Anyone knows something? :S

 

happening a lot today, either lag or server, not your PC imo

Jimbodiah #12 Posted 07 August 2018 - 08:08 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 9787 battles
  • 2,179
  • [HOFF] HOFF
  • Member since:
    04-28-2015
Every update the game has more and more issues, and the stuff that was already broken never gets fixed.  WOT, where we don't care about your problems.

SuedKAT #13 Posted 07 August 2018 - 08:22 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 6,284
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

This is due to packet loss, I used to experience it from time to time as well in the past before I switched to a new router. Lets say you press W, that info is sent to the server and your tank goes forward, now you press D to turn right, at best your tank continue to drive forward and to the right, at worst it just keep going forward, due to packet loss you pressing D have not reached the server, so it still think you want to go forward. I recall an hilarious match in which I was stuck going around in a circle and couldn't fire my gun at anything, all due to packet loss.

 

Often if you press the key that corresponds to the direction you're heading in it can fix it self, in other words if your stuck driving forward press and let go of W and the server might update, however the more permanente fix is to look at your connection and setup, plenty of people for example forget to update their router, at least the ones that use routers not provided by an ISP that push updates to them automatically.



Bigtime_Alarm #14 Posted 07 August 2018 - 08:36 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 17713 battles
  • 339
  • Member since:
    05-14-2013
Since pressing the keys makes very little difference to the outcome of the battle I wouldn't worry about it.

Gootti_Kustaa #15 Posted 08 August 2018 - 01:42 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 30174 battles
  • 689
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-16-2012
I have had the same happen a few times. Good FPS, but I suppose it could be packet loss. I do have a  hardwired keyboard.

Balc0ra #16 Posted 08 August 2018 - 02:00 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64364 battles
  • 15,427
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

You don't happen to run discord in overlay mode do you? It was a known issue connected to this a few months ago. Not sure if they have fixed it. Something to check out if you have zero packet loss etc. 

 

If you have discord running. Close it and try again. 


Edited by Balc0ra, 08 August 2018 - 02:00 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users