Jump to content


Update 1.0: Preload Option


  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

DragonH19 #41 Posted 14 March 2018 - 02:57 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18701 battles
  • 862
  • [FE_PT] FE_PT
  • Member since:
    06-05-2012

View PostNL_Chaos, on 13 March 2018 - 11:45 PM, said:

 

you have to set the language to english then close the loader and then open it then you will see the option, i had mine set to dutch(native language of me) but i didnt see it as well. then i set it to english rebooted the game launcher and i saw it that way. Preloaded it tonight so it worked.

My was english already, i did that and still no pre load. Only loaded 15 mbs from the language.


Edited by DragonH19, 14 March 2018 - 02:59 AM.


BSHDBCG #42 Posted 14 March 2018 - 08:01 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6062 battles
  • 896
  • Member since:
    04-20-2015
About 5.8 GB downloaded and ready, so that is always nice.

KLguns #43 Posted 14 March 2018 - 09:50 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 50152 battles
  • 2,012
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-07-2012

View PostTwistedDrake, on 13 March 2018 - 08:23 PM, said:

 

Depends on the load on the servers, if everyone are doing it at the same time, then it should take longer even for you.

 

ok, so it might take 15mins...how terrible...

DragonH19 #44 Posted 14 March 2018 - 09:55 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18701 battles
  • 862
  • [FE_PT] FE_PT
  • Member since:
    06-05-2012
My game is still not preloading! How do i fix this guys? Why WG is not reading this? Some people are not being able to pre load ffs :angry:

Homer_J #45 Posted 14 March 2018 - 10:09 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 31964 battles
  • 35,112
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostDragonH19, on 14 March 2018 - 08:55 AM, said:

My game is still not preloading! How do i fix this guys?

Just chill out and let it do it's thing.  Leave the launcher/game centre running while you go have your tea.  The update is a week away yet.


Edited by Homer_J, 14 March 2018 - 11:26 AM.


jack_timber #46 Posted 14 March 2018 - 10:24 AM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 39673 battles
  • 3,174
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

View PostDragonH19, on 14 March 2018 - 08:55 AM, said:

My game is still not preloading! How do i fix this guys? Why WG is not reading this? Some people are not being able to pre load ffs :angry:

Quote....

 As Update 1.0 is fairly big, the preloading will happen in multiple stages.



DragonH19 #47 Posted 14 March 2018 - 10:35 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18701 battles
  • 862
  • [FE_PT] FE_PT
  • Member since:
    06-05-2012

View Postjack_timber, on 14 March 2018 - 08:24 AM, said:

Quote....

 As Update 1.0 is fairly big, the preloading will happen in multiple stages.

Oh okay....thanks



BSHDBCG #48 Posted 14 March 2018 - 10:37 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6062 battles
  • 896
  • Member since:
    04-20-2015

View PostDragonH19, on 14 March 2018 - 09:55 AM, said:

My game is still not preloading! How do i fix this guys? Why WG is not reading this? Some people are not being able to pre load ffs :angry:

 

It most likely depends on how many people are currently downloading it, such that they only accept a certain number to avoid too much stress on their servers.

NekoPuffer_PPP #49 Posted 14 March 2018 - 12:07 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33755 battles
  • 3,888
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View Postjack_timber, on 14 March 2018 - 10:24 AM, said:

Quote....

 As Update 1.0 is fairly big, the preloading will happen in multiple stages.

 

:facepalm: So what you're saying is, the preload is not gonna come in multiple updates for everyone, but in a single update for the first few people who open the launcher and let it update? That's bloody stupid I have to say. Gotta wait for the next stage then... It's so stupid...

 

Edit: How do I remove imported games from the Game Center? :trollface: It's poorly optimized and I have to close it manually after clicking on play... plus it opens very slowly, just really inconvenient.

 

Edit 2: Ok... tried removing manually from files, error, none of the games will start and Game Center won't start either. Then uninstalled Game Center and now each game's launcher app says it needs Game Center to work!

 

EDIT, SERIOUSLY, I HAD TO UNINSTALL EVERYTHING AND NOW I'M FORCED TO REDOWNLOAD EVERY GAME! :angry::deer:

ALL THAT JUST TO GET RID OF THE POINTLESS AND SLOW GAME CENTER! :izmena:LEARN TO CODE!

 

/rant


Edited by Kampa1987, 20 March 2018 - 01:32 PM.
Insults


Deadoks #50 Posted 14 March 2018 - 12:17 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19691 battles
  • 425
  • [DODU] DODU
  • Member since:
    08-15-2011

Oh, I checked the option "Optimization for a better game experience"

Then it deleted the game.

 

I'm freeeee!



Kr4zy #51 Posted 14 March 2018 - 12:46 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Veteran
  • 38374 battles
  • 76
  • [-RDF-] -RDF-
  • Member since:
    06-24-2011

View PostTankyouverymuch2, on 14 March 2018 - 11:07 AM, said:

 

...

Edit 2: Ok... tried removing manually from files ...

EDIT, ....! :izmena:LEARN TO CODE!

 

 

Bad writers always blame their pen...



NekoPuffer_PPP #52 Posted 14 March 2018 - 01:53 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33755 battles
  • 3,888
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostKr4zy, on 14 March 2018 - 12:46 PM, said:

Bad writers always blame their pen...

 

Hey now, don't think I'm stupid! I restored the deleted files from the Recycle Bin and it all worked again. I just wanted to remove the games from having to be accessed through the game center only, and that is impossible without completely reinstalling them. Once you import an installed game to Game Center, it's tied to it forever, I couldn't find an option to cut the ties between the two...I wanted to reverse the import, because Game Center is laggy and slow. Ed: And it keeps wanting to run in the background, wasting CPU power.

Edited by Tankyouverymuch2, 14 March 2018 - 01:56 PM.


dex_1950 #53 Posted 14 March 2018 - 01:54 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 35088 battles
  • 527
  • [N1GER] N1GER
  • Member since:
    11-16-2014
I don't get this. Torrent file is ~3.7GB and launcher says 5.xxGB...

DragonH19 #54 Posted 14 March 2018 - 02:39 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18701 battles
  • 862
  • [FE_PT] FE_PT
  • Member since:
    06-05-2012
Guys if i IMPORTED wot to the gaming center, how do i ROLE BACK to use the STANDARD LAUNCHER again?

TheMetalBrosINC #55 Posted 14 March 2018 - 02:56 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 23379 battles
  • 131
  • [PA_RS] PA_RS
  • Member since:
    05-24-2012
can i know what is the advantage of a preloaded update? i am not convinced with what they explain because in the end of the day it will cost you the same amount of time to download and install,,,

Edited by TheMetalBrosINC, 14 March 2018 - 03:10 PM.


Homer_J #56 Posted 14 March 2018 - 04:11 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 31964 battles
  • 35,112
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostTankyouverymuch2, on 14 March 2018 - 12:53 PM, said:

 

Hey now, don't think I'm stupid! I restored the deleted files from the Recycle Bin and it all worked again. I just wanted to remove the games from having to be accessed through the game center only, and that is impossible without completely reinstalling them. Once you import an installed game to Game Center, it's tied to it forever, I couldn't find an option to cut the ties between the two...I wanted to reverse the import, because Game Center is laggy and slow. Ed: And it keeps wanting to run in the background, wasting CPU power.

Maybe get a PC instead of trying to run on a Fisher Price typewriter?

 

I'm sure WoT leaves enough CPU cycles on unused cores for an idle process to carry on running,

 

View PostDragonH19, on 14 March 2018 - 01:39 PM, said:

Guys if i IMPORTED wot to the gaming center, how do i ROLE BACK to use the STANDARD LAUNCHER again?

You used to be able to just untick automatic updates and it would revert to the luncher.  They changed it somewhere along the line.  But my guess is that the Game Centre will be forced on everyone before long anyway so learn to get along with it.



dex_1950 #57 Posted 14 March 2018 - 04:30 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 35088 battles
  • 527
  • [N1GER] N1GER
  • Member since:
    11-16-2014

Left my laptop at friends house. He is on 30Mbit connection.

 

https://s17.postimg.org/ll5y4jvmj/Capture.png



Gremlin182 #58 Posted 14 March 2018 - 04:31 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 57003 battles
  • 9,401
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

I used the game launcher and hated it so much I uninstalled it only to have the game refuse to start untill I reinstalled it.

I had to uninstall my NA and EU games then reinstall to stop the game center messages.

 

For the record when I play games I do not want anything else running taking up resources I want free for the game.

I do not play Warplanes or Warships there are simply not enough hours in the day to commit to playing more games than I do already.

So the game center is pretty much redundant so far as my game experience is concerned.

 

If you do make installing the game center a requirement then make it so it doesn't run when I start my System I don't want any background services running all the time for updating etc.

It should take up zero system resources while playing the game.



dex_1950 #59 Posted 14 March 2018 - 04:32 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 35088 battles
  • 527
  • [N1GER] N1GER
  • Member since:
    11-16-2014

View PostTheMetalBrosINC, on 14 March 2018 - 02:56 PM, said:

can i know what is the advantage of a preloaded update? i am not convinced with what they explain because in the end of the day it will cost you the same amount of time to download and install,,,

 

I can download update now and just install on that day. If i don't download now, with my shitty 4Mbit will take ages to download (and while downloading i can't use internet). So by downloading in some location with good connection, i'll just transefer the files and install when update hits servers.

SiliconSidewinder #60 Posted 14 March 2018 - 04:34 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 28990 battles
  • 7,538
  • Member since:
    09-16-2012

preloaded this morning, nice move for making it possible!

That should smooth things over at patch day by a lot.






2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users