Jump to content


MAJOR BUG in the gameplay

red line around target

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

bennybit #1 Posted 25 March 2018 - 06:59 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 26398 battles
  • 4
  • [AM-LG] AM-LG
  • Member since:
    08-25-2012

came across a MAJOR BUG

(uploaded a replay to demonstrate)

was aiming at a target, when it's rear end was behind a wall but most of it exposed. and although the target was exposed, the red line surrounding a  target would not light up.

as if the wall covering the rear end was actually covering more.

could not hit the target while the red line around it was not lit. can't explain where the shot went.

see attached replay.

has anyone encountered this in patch 1.0?

replay link - http://wotreplays.eu..._tillon_25_t_ap

 

 


Edited by bennybit, 26 March 2018 - 09:10 AM.


AliceUnchained #2 Posted 25 March 2018 - 07:02 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 38414 battles
  • 8,928
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011
No replay, and how is this a major bug exactly? 

Aikl #3 Posted 25 March 2018 - 07:05 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 25262 battles
  • 4,349
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011

Not sure if it's 1.0-specific, it's something that come and goes away again. The 'known issues' at the very bottom of the 1.0 launch article describes a similar issue: "The red (green) outline is displayed when aiming at a point beyond the vehicle silhouette."

https://worldoftanks...e-announcement/

 

Beyond that, I recommend posting in the 'bug reports' thread.



Balc0ra #4 Posted 25 March 2018 - 07:06 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 65892 battles
  • 16,061
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

I suspect this is why if you run on low details.

 

 

 



bennybit #5 Posted 25 March 2018 - 07:07 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 26398 battles
  • 4
  • [AM-LG] AM-LG
  • Member since:
    08-25-2012

wth...cant attach a replay file??

in any case, this is seriously screwing up the gameplay.

if you cant shoot at a half covered target, what else is there? most of the targets you need to shoot are half covered!!

 

link to replay - http://wotreplays.eu..._tillon_25_t_ap

 


Edited by bennybit, 26 March 2018 - 09:10 AM.


Balc0ra #6 Posted 25 March 2018 - 07:09 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 65892 battles
  • 16,061
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View Postbennybit, on 25 March 2018 - 07:07 PM, said:

wth...cant attach a replay file??

in any case, this is seriously screwing up the gameplay.

if you cant shoot at a half covered target, what else is there? most of the targets you need to shoot are half covered!!

 

Again, what details do you run on? If you run terrain on low, you might not even be aiming at the tank at all. As shown in the video above. And that issue has always been there. It's just more noticeable for more now.

AliceUnchained #7 Posted 25 March 2018 - 09:10 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 38414 battles
  • 8,928
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View Postbennybit, on 25 March 2018 - 07:07 PM, said:

wth...cant attach a replay file??

in any case, this is seriously screwing up the gameplay.

if you cant shoot at a half covered target, what else is there? most of the targets you need to shoot are half covered!!

 

Just use wotreplays.eu and share the link... It's been explained a hundred times before in various threads, but still seems to be such a challenge to many...

Roudari #8 Posted 25 March 2018 - 09:28 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 34124 battles
  • 730
  • Member since:
    01-28-2011

Its known issue and been around forever.. The ground isnt always where it looks like it is. I think the tesselatin in the update made it little worse but like i said its been since forever.

 

EDIT: I was too fast on the reply. What do you exactly mean with "wall"? Like a brick wall? or ground/cliff?


Edited by CrazyTracks, 25 March 2018 - 09:30 PM.


Sfinski #9 Posted 26 March 2018 - 06:53 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 31399 battles
  • 2,513
  • [-PJ-] -PJ-
  • Member since:
    09-26-2013

View PostBalc0ra, on 25 March 2018 - 08:06 PM, said:

I suspect this is why if you run on low details.

 

 

 

 

Happens on ultra too. Far too often may I add...

Babbet_1 #10 Posted 26 March 2018 - 08:31 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 10813 battles
  • 807
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-13-2015

View PostAliceUnchained, on 25 March 2018 - 09:10 PM, said:

 

Just use wotreplays.eu and share the link... It's been explained a hundred times before in various threads, but still seems to be such a challenge to many...

 

Oh c'mon now - it's only OP's 2nd post, or hadn't you noticed? Are you really incapable of posting anything on here without including a liberal sprinkling of sarcasm? Such a nice welcome!

Nyxta #11 Posted 26 March 2018 - 08:32 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 40988 battles
  • 41
  • [G-DOM] G-DOM
  • Member since:
    03-19-2011
Similar thing happened to me, enough times to make it annoying. I was fully aiming a tank, no red line, I shot and hit it, still no red line

Martijn_mk2 #12 Posted 26 March 2018 - 08:39 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 5840 battles
  • 291
  • Member since:
    03-19-2013

View PostSfinski, on 26 March 2018 - 06:53 AM, said:

 

Happens on ultra too. Far too often may I add...

Yep same here,  terrain on ultra.

Some of the hitboxes are fucked up.



bennybit #13 Posted 26 March 2018 - 09:05 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 26398 battles
  • 4
  • [AM-LG] AM-LG
  • Member since:
    08-25-2012

View PostBalc0ra, on 25 March 2018 - 06:09 PM, said:

 

Again, what details do you run on? If you run terrain on low, you might not even be aiming at the tank at all. As shown in the video above. And that issue has always been there. It's just more noticeable for more now.

 

running on ultra across the board.

bennybit #14 Posted 26 March 2018 - 09:12 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 26398 battles
  • 4
  • [AM-LG] AM-LG
  • Member since:
    08-25-2012

View PostCrazyTracks, on 25 March 2018 - 08:28 PM, said:

Its known issue and been around forever.. The ground isnt always where it looks like it is. I think the tesselatin in the update made it little worse but like i said its been since forever.

 

EDIT: I was too fast on the reply. What do you exactly mean with "wall"? Like a brick wall? or ground/cliff?

 

added the replay link above, and here: http://wotreplays.eu..._tillon_25_t_ap

 



PUNISHER989_EU #15 Posted 26 March 2018 - 09:13 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 3849 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    09-11-2013

Yea I get the same, the tank doesn't highlight, everything on maximum, 

1070, i7

 

 



Bora_BOOM #16 Posted 26 March 2018 - 09:25 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 22125 battles
  • 2,832
  • [D0NG] D0NG
  • Member since:
    08-23-2014

Yep, similar thing here. Sniped the hatch of the E75 and its turret top, which was visible about the same height as that hatch is. Not much to shoot at, but there was no contour. I zoomed out, then in again, there where some leafs in front of me and some in front of him. I was confused and thought there are some solid objects between us, so I waited for the outline but it did not appear, although i could see him going left-right since I was on his side. And he was fighting someone from my team in front of him, so he should have been spotted, if that makes any difference since i could see him moving. That was weird. I might have had another moment to wonder about, but I clearly recall this one from the last night.

Graphics settings almost all on ultra, tessellation turned off.


Edited by Bora_BOOM, 26 March 2018 - 09:28 AM.


AliceUnchained #17 Posted 26 March 2018 - 10:11 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 38414 battles
  • 8,928
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostBabbet_1, on 26 March 2018 - 08:31 AM, said:

Oh c'mon now - it's only OP's 2nd post, or hadn't you noticed? Are you really incapable of posting anything on here without including a liberal sprinkling of sarcasm? Such a nice welcome!

 

What's the relevance with number of posts? Even with ZERO posts one can use Search, and/or read threads in this forum, use Google, etc, can they not? Plus, OP has been around since 2012. Plenty of time to become aware of these basic things. I guess you hadn't noticed that, eh?

OneSock #18 Posted 26 March 2018 - 10:12 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34510 battles
  • 1,684
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    06-06-2011

Yes I have seen it in places, most notably there is a house on redshire @ E5 and if you want to shoot the cap from the sniping spot around D7 you can see them over the roof of the building, but you get no red line so gun reticule is on target, but shot goes high because no red outline. i suppose the hit box of the building does not match the visual model.

 

this is on ultra settings by the way.



Babbet_1 #19 Posted 26 March 2018 - 11:53 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 10813 battles
  • 807
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-13-2015

View PostAliceUnchained, on 26 March 2018 - 10:11 AM, said:

 

What's the relevance with number of posts? Even with ZERO posts one can use Search, and/or read threads in this forum, use Google, etc, can they not? Plus, OP has been around since 2012. Plenty of time to become aware of these basic things. I guess you hadn't noticed that, eh?

 

​I did actually, but personally I prefer to give people the benefit of the doubt. In my book there is no excuse for rudeness, but you just don't seem to be able to help it! Try taking a little less salt - I'm sure that would lower your blood pressure!    :)

ThinGun #20 Posted 26 March 2018 - 12:05 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34587 battles
  • 1,165
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014
There is definitely something queer going on with the outlining.  Can't put my finger on it, but - yeah - tanks that should be outlined, aren't.  And firing at non-outlines tanks and hitting them ... it's sort of more realistic, but also disconcerting because it's random.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users