Jump to content


Getting low FPS after upgrading GPU and Monitor ? A little help plz

FPS low

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

Wayneable #1 Posted 06 April 2018 - 07:51 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41963 battles
  • 1,918
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011

I upgraded my GPU from a 1050ti 4gb to an ASUS Radeon RX 580 STRIX OC - 8GBAnd my monitor from a Asus Vs24hr to a LG 29UM59 ultra wide screen.

 

And now world of tanks is recommending that i play at medium setting???? Before I played at max or high setting with 75-90 fps, now if it goes over 30, I am lucky

 

All drivers are up to date, no mods, and have tried play with different resolution. Any ideas out there?

 



Pansenmann #2 Posted 06 April 2018 - 11:15 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 33502 battles
  • 12,262
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

yes.

 

first - did you remove all nvidia traces with the proper uninstaller before?

second - what are your system specs overall? I don't know your monitor but is it 4k?

third - don't trust the automatic system.

 

it seems to me at first guess you are a bit low on CPU, but there are many variables that affect things.

PN me please so we can do something on teamspeak.



Wayneable #3 Posted 07 April 2018 - 04:28 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41963 battles
  • 1,918
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i5 6500 @ 3.20GHz 28 °C
Skylake 14nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1065MHz (14-14-14-35)
Motherboard
MSI B150M MORTAR (MS-7972) (U3E1) 29 °C
Graphics
LG ULTRAWIDE (2560x1080@75Hz)
8192MB ATI Radeon RX 580 Series (ASUStek Computer Inc) 23 °C
Storage
232GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB (SSD) 30 °C
1863GB Seagate ST2000DX001-1NS164 (SATA) 24 °C
Optical Drives
No optical disk drives detected
Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio
 
That is my system. I did check on bottlenet.com first, and it said the CPU and GPU should work well together.
 


SiliconSidewinder #4 Posted 07 April 2018 - 06:54 AM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 27177 battles
  • 3,910
  • Member since:
    09-16-2012

first question from me would be to test wether this is a general propblem or just WoT?

 

 

 



Wayneable #5 Posted 07 April 2018 - 03:56 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41963 battles
  • 1,918
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011

It is a general problem, one that i cant fine an answer too.

 



Wayneable #6 Posted 07 April 2018 - 05:30 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41963 battles
  • 1,918
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011

After googleing alot i have solved my problom.

 

I used a program called DDU to total remove the AMD driver, and made a fresh install, problem solved.

 

Now geting 70+ fps in ultra settings.

 

So colour me happy.



Pansenmann #7 Posted 08 April 2018 - 07:10 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 33502 battles
  • 12,262
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

Thanks for letting us know :)

 

DDU is the best tool for such troubleshooting things

to complelety blast every last trace of non-microsoft drivers off a system.

 

PS: you also might want to disable windows 10 installing it's own drivers,

that has caused trouble on my rig in the past, when there was suddenly not the intel ethernet driver in place,

and I lost my VLAN settings. :)


Edited by Pansenmann, 08 April 2018 - 07:10 PM.


Wayneable #8 Posted 09 April 2018 - 07:53 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 41963 battles
  • 1,918
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011

Ja i did that with the DDU program, wanted to be sure just to get the "clean" AMD driver.

 



TsundereWaffle #9 Posted 09 April 2018 - 01:39 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 26273 battles
  • 10,860
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013
when you uninstall drivers you always want to use DDU yeah, I guess there was still some nvidia stuff left behind which was hindering your performance with the amd gpu.

250swb #10 Posted 11 April 2018 - 09:30 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 21399 battles
  • 4,758
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015

View PostWayneable, on 07 April 2018 - 04:30 PM, said:

After googleing alot i have solved my problom.

 

I used a program called DDU to total remove the AMD driver, and made a fresh install, problem solved.

 

Now geting 70+ fps in ultra settings.

 

So colour me happy.

 

I suspect you actually fell foul of the Win 10 quirk that means it continues to search for generic drivers for half an hour after a GPU swap, but it doesn't tell you it's doing it and it overrides any correct drivers you install during that time. 







Also tagged with FPS, low

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users