Jump to content


Heavy loading times since 1.0

ssd hdd loading time 30

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

NewForces2142 #1 Posted 07 April 2018 - 06:29 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 11213 battles
  • 13
  • [TDARO] TDARO
  • Member since:
    02-07-2011

I just make it in the battle when the timer drops to 0 and even then not all the textures are loaded.

What is the problem? Everyone I see loads the game in 5-10 seconds and I am pretty sure not everyone is playing this game on an SSD.

A few weeks back I could load instantly on window mode (borderless), but now it is the same heavy loading time in both fullscreen/window mode.

My HDD is 100% healthy and has 7200 RPM.

 

My PC: SAPPHIRE RADEON NITRO+ RX 480 8GB, i5 6600K (not overclocked), 16GB RAM DDR4, Windows 10 latest version.

I play the game on Ultra settings and 1920x1080 screen.

 

Anyone with the same problem? Thanks!



Tipperty #2 Posted 07 April 2018 - 06:49 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19027 battles
  • 450
  • Member since:
    12-27-2013

New engine new problems, I load into battle mostly before the timer starts and get the message waiting for players. Then every once in a while I get into a battle after the timer or 2-3 secs left.

 

best thing to do is include your dxdiag log to help the developers tweak or make their engine be more efficent!



thiextar #3 Posted 07 April 2018 - 07:48 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 15353 battles
  • 519
  • Member since:
    06-21-2012

hdds are just really outdated at this point.

 

Ssd:s took over years ago, and hdds are only useful for bulk storage of movies and stuff.



Spek_en_Bonen #4 Posted 07 April 2018 - 07:53 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Beta Tester
  • 31494 battles
  • 6,809
  • Member since:
    07-27-2010

Lower Ultra textures....

Fixes it promptly...



jack_timber #5 Posted 07 April 2018 - 08:59 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 31194 battles
  • 1,604
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Seems to be a common complaint for those with slow HDD, found an old 10k SCSI thought about installing on mine to see what difference it made then apathy kicked in...

Anyway have a look at this thread....

http://forum.worldof...o-load/#topmost



NewForces2142 #6 Posted 07 April 2018 - 09:36 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 11213 battles
  • 13
  • [TDARO] TDARO
  • Member since:
    02-07-2011

I don't think buying an SSD should be the answer.

1.They are expensive.At least in Romania, they charge more money than they are actually worth.

2.The game was running fine last week on my HDD loading the game before the counting even start.

3.Why would I lower my graphics settings? I am running at 100+ FPS.There are more demanding games out there that don't require an SSD to load the online part.For example Battlefield 1.



Christoph_XXL #7 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:04 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 11722 battles
  • 4
  • [R-B-B] R-B-B
  • Member since:
    11-28-2012

View Postthiextar, on 07 April 2018 - 06:48 AM, said:

hdds are just really outdated at this point.

 

Ssd:s took over years ago, and hdds are only useful for bulk storage of movies and stuff.

 

Ignorant [edited] :P

 

The new engine is using the HDD in a very bad manner by alternately reading very small chunks of multiple files and so make the HDD busy by changing the reader position most of the loading time.

 

Consider reading this for deeper explanation!



Baldrickk #8 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:18 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29047 battles
  • 12,883
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013
A few weeks back you hadn't installed more updates.
Defrag. Don't use the windows tool, use defraggler or a similar alternative.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users