Jump to content


Heavy loading times since 1.0

ssd hdd loading time 30

  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

NewForces2142 #1 Posted 07 April 2018 - 06:29 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 12644 battles
  • 18
  • [TDARO] TDARO
  • Member since:
    02-07-2011

I just make it in the battle when the timer drops to 0 and even then not all the textures are loaded.

What is the problem? Everyone I see loads the game in 5-10 seconds and I am pretty sure not everyone is playing this game on an SSD.

A few weeks back I could load instantly on window mode (borderless), but now it is the same heavy loading time in both fullscreen/window mode.

My HDD is 100% healthy and has 7200 RPM.

 

My PC: SAPPHIRE RADEON NITRO+ RX 480 8GB, i5 6600K (not overclocked), 16GB RAM DDR4, Windows 10 latest version.

I play the game on Ultra settings and 1920x1080 screen.

 

Anyone with the same problem? Thanks!



Tipperty #2 Posted 07 April 2018 - 06:49 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 20156 battles
  • 515
  • Member since:
    12-27-2013

New engine new problems, I load into battle mostly before the timer starts and get the message waiting for players. Then every once in a while I get into a battle after the timer or 2-3 secs left.

 

best thing to do is include your dxdiag log to help the developers tweak or make their engine be more efficent!



thiextar #3 Posted 07 April 2018 - 07:48 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 15471 battles
  • 532
  • Member since:
    06-21-2012

hdds are just really outdated at this point.

 

Ssd:s took over years ago, and hdds are only useful for bulk storage of movies and stuff.



anonym_kL7qtn3e52MB #4 Posted 07 April 2018 - 07:53 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 6,815
  • Member since:
    07-10-2018

Lower Ultra textures....

Fixes it promptly...



jack_timber #5 Posted 07 April 2018 - 08:59 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 34462 battles
  • 2,232
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Seems to be a common complaint for those with slow HDD, found an old 10k SCSI thought about installing on mine to see what difference it made then apathy kicked in...

Anyway have a look at this thread....

http://forum.worldof...o-load/#topmost



NewForces2142 #6 Posted 07 April 2018 - 09:36 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 12644 battles
  • 18
  • [TDARO] TDARO
  • Member since:
    02-07-2011

I don't think buying an SSD should be the answer.

1.They are expensive.At least in Romania, they charge more money than they are actually worth.

2.The game was running fine last week on my HDD loading the game before the counting even start.

3.Why would I lower my graphics settings? I am running at 100+ FPS.There are more demanding games out there that don't require an SSD to load the online part.For example Battlefield 1.



Christoph_XXL #7 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:04 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 11789 battles
  • 4
  • [R-B-B] R-B-B
  • Member since:
    11-28-2012

View Postthiextar, on 07 April 2018 - 06:48 AM, said:

hdds are just really outdated at this point.

 

Ssd:s took over years ago, and hdds are only useful for bulk storage of movies and stuff.

 

Ignorant [edited] :P

 

The new engine is using the HDD in a very bad manner by alternately reading very small chunks of multiple files and so make the HDD busy by changing the reader position most of the loading time.

 

Consider reading this for deeper explanation!



Baldrickk #8 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:18 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 30507 battles
  • 14,638
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013
A few weeks back you hadn't installed more updates.
Defrag. Don't use the windows tool, use defraggler or a similar alternative.

ShinLei #9 Posted 04 August 2018 - 10:41 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 10808 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    12-17-2012

Same Loading Problem. I have this problem, my friend doesnt.

 

Same HDD!

 

My PC - His PC

 

Ryzen 1700x - Ryzen 1600

GTX980Ti - GTX1060

16GB3000 - 8GB 2400

 

I dont get why my loading time takes about 20 to 30 sec more than him.



PervyPastryPuffer #10 Posted 04 August 2018 - 10:55 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 31569 battles
  • 2,381
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostShinLei, on 04 August 2018 - 10:41 PM, said:

Same Loading Problem. I have this problem, my friend doesnt.

 

Same HDD!

 

My PC - His PC

 

Ryzen 1700x - Ryzen 1600

GTX980Ti - GTX1060

16GB3000 - 8GB 2400

 

I dont get why my loading time takes about 20 to 30 sec more than him.

 

Nice resurrection you made me like a months-old post... :facepalm:

 

This:

 

View Postthiextar, on 07 April 2018 - 07:48 AM, said:

hdds are just really outdated at this point.

 

Ssd:s took over years ago, and hdds are only useful for bulk storage of movies and stuff.

 

Install WoT on an SSD, problem solved. Preferably (if you want) get one with really high read/write speeds so you load even faster than fast.

 

View Postanonym_kL7qtn3e52MB, on 07 April 2018 - 07:53 AM, said:

Lower Ultra textures....

Fixes it promptly...

 

Or try this^^^



Baldrickk #11 Posted 04 August 2018 - 11:17 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 30507 battles
  • 14,638
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013
Or defrag.

PervyPastryPuffer #12 Posted 05 August 2018 - 01:11 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 31569 battles
  • 2,381
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostBaldrickk, on 04 August 2018 - 11:17 PM, said:

Or defrag.

 

I'd done that, made no difference. HDD's simply can't load a WoT map within 30 seconds. That's funny because for example, I have Project Cars 2 installed on my HDD (through Steam), and it loads the laser-scanned 21km-long Nürburgring Nördschleife circuit in 10-15 seconds, ready to race.

 

WoT loads normally on my SSD though.

 

It would seem the issue lies with WoT itself, according to this:

 

View Postjack_timber, on 07 April 2018 - 08:59 AM, said:

Seems to be a common complaint for those with slow HDD, found an old 10k SCSI thought about installing on mine to see what difference it made then apathy kicked in...

Anyway have a look at this thread....

http://forum.worldof...o-load/#topmost

 



Homer_J #13 Posted 05 August 2018 - 08:42 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 29674 battles
  • 31,358
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

I have resorted to an external SSD for my laptop, connected by USB 3.  Maps load in with a good 20 seconds left on the clock instead of several seconds after.  Apart from the map formerly known as Arctic Region, which stalls part way through and drops me in a good 30 seconds after the battle has started.

 

I would switch to an internal SSD but then I would not be able to afford this month's Fort Knox.



Baldrickk #14 Posted 05 August 2018 - 09:43 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 30507 battles
  • 14,638
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostTankyouverymuch2, on 05 August 2018 - 01:11 AM, said:

 

I'd done that, made no difference. HDD's simply can't load a WoT map within 30 seconds. That's funny because for example, I have Project Cars 2 installed on my HDD (through Steam), and it loads the laser-scanned 21km-long Nürburgring Nördschleife circuit in 10-15 seconds, ready to race.

 

WoT loads normally on my SSD though.

 

It would seem the issue lies with WoT itself, according to this:

What were you using to run the defrag?

If it was the built in Windows defragger - well there's your problem. 

And yes,  WOT could be better optimised during loading. 

 

View PostHomer_J, on 05 August 2018 - 08:42 AM, said:

I have resorted to an external SSD for my laptop, connected by USB 3.  Maps load in with a good 20 seconds left on the clock instead of several seconds after.  Apart from the map formerly known as Arctic Region, which stalls part way through and drops me in a good 30 seconds after the battle has started.

 

I would switch to an internal SSD but then I would not be able to afford this month's Fort Knox.

I'm typically in before the 20s countdown mark (countdown starts once a quorum of players have loaded,  so it varies depending on who's in the match) and I'm on a HDD.

 

No judgement, just observation.

 

In my case, once 1.0 went live I was loading in after the countdown, until I defragged that is.

 

Kinda wish I'd splashed the cash to have enough memory to install WOT on a ram drive... for the lols.

 

Edit:

View Postanonym_kL7qtn3e52MB, on 07 April 2018 - 07:53 AM, said:

Lower Ultra textures....

Fixes it promptly...

worth noting that in another thread, it appears to be the sound system that is most at fault, so turning your sound off supposedly helps a lot.

but then you have no sound so...

 

and yes, losing 75% of the data you need to load does indeed make it load faster ;)


Edited by Baldrickk, 05 August 2018 - 09:46 AM.


wsatnutter #15 Posted 05 August 2018 - 09:45 AM

    General

  • Beta Tester
  • 25375 battles
  • 8,032
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    08-25-2010
I put a 1tb ssd in put wot on it im in 10 seconds at least before the count

jabster #16 Posted 05 August 2018 - 09:50 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 12598 battles
  • 24,051
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    12-30-2010

View PostHomer_J, on 05 August 2018 - 07:42 AM, said:

I have resorted to an external SSD for my laptop, connected by USB 3.  Maps load in with a good 20 seconds left on the clock instead of several seconds after.  Apart from the map formerly known as Arctic Region, which stalls part way through and drops me in a good 30 seconds after the battle has started.

 

I would switch to an internal SSD but then I would not be able to afford this month's Fort Knox.

 

I’ve ended up getting an SSD just because my primary drive is on its last legs. As for slow loading times in WoT, that’s what I had when v1.0 was released but I solved it by reinstalling WoT of my higher performance second drive so yes it is possible to have the game running from an HDD. The problem is that although I’ve not been playing much in the last couple of months it just got worse until I was only just entering the game within the countdown timer.

Homer_J #17 Posted 05 August 2018 - 10:10 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 29674 battles
  • 31,358
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postjabster, on 05 August 2018 - 09:50 AM, said:

 

I’ve ended up getting an SSD just because my primary drive is on its last legs. As for slow loading times in WoT, that’s what I had when v1.0 was released but I solved it by reinstalling WoT of my higher performance second drive

 

On my desktop I just chuck it on the games SSD, no problem.  But with the laptop having just the one drive bay it would mean swapping it out, which means getting one big enough to replace it, which means spending money on something which was never intended to run WoT at all anyway.

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 05 August 2018 - 09:43 AM, said:

 

In my case, once 1.0 went live I was loading in after the countdown, until I defragged that is.

 

Shouldn't really be needing to resort to using a 3rd party defragger when WG can fix it by packaging their files properly.  And even defragging properly doesn't work for everyone.  The only sure fix is to use an SSD.  Turning the sound off or messing around putting some files on RAMdisk is not acceptable.



PervyPastryPuffer #18 Posted 05 August 2018 - 11:33 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 31569 battles
  • 2,381
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostBaldrickk, on 05 August 2018 - 09:43 AM, said:

What were you using to run the defrag?

If it was the built in Windows defragger - well there's your problem. 

And yes,  WOT could be better optimised during loading.

 

AVG PC TuneUp.

 

Optimizes most stuff and gets rid of useless files, and defrags the HDD too.

 

My Windows OS is on my SSD though so defragging the HDD doesn't affect boot speeds.

 

Like we both said, WoT's map loading is poorly optimized. If my HDD can load a 21km-long laser scanned racetrack in 15 seconds, there's no obvious reason why WoT couldn't load a 1kmx1km map in double that time, at least to me.

 

Then again, Project Cars 2 did get a lot of praise for having really fast loading times...



Baldrickk #19 Posted 05 August 2018 - 03:58 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 30507 battles
  • 14,638
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 05 August 2018 - 10:10 AM, said:

Shouldn't really be needing to resort to using a 3rd party defragger when WG can fix it by packaging their files properly.  And even defragging properly doesn't work for everyone.  The only sure fix is to use an SSD.  Turning the sound off or messing around putting some files on RAMdisk is not acceptable.

Yeah... Ramdisk would have been a bit of fun and not a serious suggestion.

Agreed that turning off sound isn't a viable solution either,  despite being a doable one.

 

Requiring a third party defragger isn't a fault of WOT.

Packaging their files differently won't help. 

Sequential access would potentially help. 

 

One reason for this only being a potential is that Windows caches files in spare RAM. Which is one possible reason why the game loads sufficiently fast for me with my HDD. I have 32GB RAM where files can be cached, which while I don't have enough to install WOT to a Ramdisk,  a lot of the common files can be cached.



Strappster #20 Posted 05 August 2018 - 04:14 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 25538 battles
  • 9,950
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

Throwing hardware at a software problem is not a solution, it's merely masking the issue. For whatever reason, the game is loading unreasonably slowly. Compare to Warships - that drops frames and stutters all the time because the engine is struggling but I still load into every battle 30-40s before it starts. Tanks is the only game on my machine that suffers from this long load-time issue so it's clear that there's still plenty of work to be done to resolve it.

 

And I'm not rushing to buy another SSD after spending two days rebuilding my PC when the last one crapped itself without warning. HDDs can fail too, of course, but at least they give you some grinding noises and bad sectors before they pop off this mortal coil, climb the curtains and join the choir invisibule.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users