Jump to content


Should the IS-3A receive the autoreloading mechanic?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

Poll: IS-3A with autoreloading? (37 members have cast votes)

You have to complete 250 battles in order to participate this poll.

Should the IS-3A receive the autoreloader mechanic?

  1. Yes, seems legit. (18 votes [48.65%])

    Percentage of vote: 48.65%

  2. No, it has to stay like that (16 votes [43.24%])

    Percentage of vote: 43.24%

  3. I don't know/care/It's irrelevant (3 votes [8.11%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.11%

Vote Hide poll

The_DarkAnathema #1 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:13 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8140 battles
  • 21
  • [CB-FR] CB-FR
  • Member since:
    08-27-2015

"In 1956–1957, the Military Armored Forces Academy developed a speculative design for a new loading system on the IS-3 and T-10 heavy tanks. The IS-3 variant featured a double-row ammo rack with an automatic loading system. The crew was reduced to three members: commander, gunner, and driver. The turret was redesigned in order to accommodate the loading mechanism. The vehicle existed only in blueprints" From wargaming wikia's IS-3A "historical" description.

 

Hello everyone :)  I've been asking myself a question since I learnt about the autoreloading system. Is the IS-3A fit to receive the autoreloading mechanic?

 

I personally own an IS-3A (which I despise because I'm a noob, particularly with this tank), and I was disappointed to notice that is just an IS-3 with worse gun stats and mobility. Wargaming always boasted that their premium tanks offer "unique gameplay" (see wargaming's video on h2play the T26E4 Super Pershing). And in some cases they are somewhat right: CDC, Super Pershing, FCM 50T, TOG II etc...

 

All of these tanks allow the player to experience different gameplay.

 

Now that the Italian Tanks are being worked on, and their main selling point is the autoreloading mechanic for high tier tanks, would it be possible or relevant to fit a tank of a different nation, and of a different type, the same mechanic? Gameplay-wise, would it be more fun, and add a new experience for IS-3A drivers?

 

Fellow WoT players what do you think of this? Do you own an IS-3A? Are you disappointed or satisfied with it? Do you want (or hope) autoreloading to be implemented on this tank? If no/yes why?



hasnainrakha57 #2 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:20 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 13778 battles
  • 583
  • [WFTTE] WFTTE
  • Member since:
    08-01-2013
Should obj 268 v4 and type 5 receive autoloading system?

Edited by hasnainrakha57, 22 April 2018 - 01:21 PM.


The_DarkAnathema #3 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:22 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8140 battles
  • 21
  • [CB-FR] CB-FR
  • Member since:
    08-27-2015
No, because they don't have the A at the end of their name. The A for IS-3A stand for Auto

Balc0ra #4 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:23 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64344 battles
  • 15,409
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

IS-3A just loads the shell 1 by 1 with no need for a loader. It don't have a "clip" or a tray to ready up more shots in rapid succession like the Italian have.

 

Then again a 390 alpha clip gun on a HT? Yeah I can see that working well. The DPM would need to drop to below 820 if he used the burst damage to balance that.


Edited by Balc0ra, 22 April 2018 - 01:24 PM.


The_DarkAnathema #5 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:25 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8140 battles
  • 21
  • [CB-FR] CB-FR
  • Member since:
    08-27-2015

View PostBalc0ra, on 22 April 2018 - 01:23 PM, said:

IS-3A just loads the shell 1 by 1 with no need for a loader. It don't have a "clip" or a tray to ready up more shots in rapid succession like the Italian have.

 

I see. So for you its irrelevant?

Kurat666 #6 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:32 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28967 battles
  • 271
  • [BB4] BB4
  • Member since:
    12-27-2011
No, it does not need a clip. What it needs is a 4th seat - that would actually give a purpose for this tank to exist....:sceptic:

Balc0ra #7 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:41 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64344 battles
  • 15,409
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostThe_DarkAnathema, on 22 April 2018 - 01:25 PM, said:

 

I see. So for you its irrelevant?

 

Let me ask you this. Does he need a clip gun or more bust damage to be effective? It needs buffs. But not to the gun tbh.  From a balance standpoint, on a HT I don't see it working to well with a 122mm on tier 8. That and if you use the burst damage, the reload will be longer vs if you go 1 by 1. As the meds get 1200 dpm if they do that. So would the IS-3A be more fun if you had 800 dpm on the HT line all the time?. So it's still more effective going 1 by 1. Like it is now considering how the new mechanic is. So why change it?

Szatanshow #8 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:44 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23170 battles
  • 280
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013

If you want it on IS3A i want it on:

KV2 
PZIVH 



Poerhis #9 Posted 22 April 2018 - 01:45 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 16939 battles
  • 212
  • [SIKA] SIKA
  • Member since:
    01-14-2011
I think that's actually a good idea. You could give the IS-3A an alternative autoloader gun. Of course, the autoloader gun option would need to have some severe gun control and reload nerfs to remain in line with other tier 8 heavy tanks.

The_DarkAnathema #10 Posted 22 April 2018 - 04:12 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 8140 battles
  • 21
  • [CB-FR] CB-FR
  • Member since:
    08-27-2015

View PostBalc0ra, on 22 April 2018 - 01:41 PM, said:

 

Let me ask you this. Does he need a clip gun or more bust damage to be effective? It needs buffs. But not to the gun tbh.  From a balance standpoint, on a HT I don't see it working to well with a 122mm on tier 8. That and if you use the burst damage, the reload will be longer vs if you go 1 by 1. As the meds get 1200 dpm if they do that. So would the IS-3A be more fun if you had 800 dpm on the HT line all the time?. So it's still more effective going 1 by 1. Like it is now considering how the new mechanic is. So why change it?

 

It might have worse DPM, but I tend to believe that a tank with an autoreloader is an unpredictable opponent: with an autoloader you can count the number of shots your enemy fires, and when their clip is empty you know they will be reloading for ages. With an autoreloader unless you are constantly monitoring the shots of your opponent you have no way to know if that progetto over there has 1,2 or 3 shells left in the loader. So unless you want to take 480 to 720 damage in less than 5 secs, you better play carefully with this tank around.

 

Having the same mechanism for the IS-3A would compel opponents to play carefully around them unless they want a direct trip to their garage. So yes, the DPM would be trash, in order to balance the tank, but it would generate a high fear factor. As I said before, it has worse mobility than an IS-3, making it an easy prey when cornered, and a damage scavenger as it can't arrive on the battlefield so quickly. Moreover, I believe that tanks with high fear factors or with unpredictable behavior are more fun to play, as you get less yoloed and even better players dot not see you as a free dmg punching ball, but as a threat to at least watch for. It would help to improve the IS-3A's overall survivability as players would be careful fighting them, without touching to the mobility or the armor.

 

And ofc it would finally give a reason to IS-3 drivers to get their hands on one, as it would not be a downgraded copy-paste 40$ of an IS-3 but an interesting tank to try to master. Well this is my opinion.



Thejagdpanther #11 Posted 22 April 2018 - 06:01 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 34058 battles
  • 4,338
  • [TKBS] TKBS
  • Member since:
    07-16-2012
It's already full of moronic autoloaders... we don't need more.

Palora #12 Posted 22 April 2018 - 08:45 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 24013 battles
  • 426
  • [ROCOM] ROCOM
  • Member since:
    03-17-2010

View PostThejagdpanther, on 22 April 2018 - 06:01 PM, said:

It's already full of moronic autoloaders... we don't need more.

 

^ he's right, you know. 

(and yes I'm too damned lazy to insert the proper meme, any suggestion of including more [edited]revolvers isn't worth the effort)


Edited by Palora, 22 April 2018 - 08:46 PM.


Erwin_Von_Braun #13 Posted 22 April 2018 - 09:14 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 37336 battles
  • 4,530
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    01-25-2014

:facepalm:

Edit:

Turns out I'm a bit thick.


Edited by Erwin_Von_Braun, 22 April 2018 - 09:26 PM.


NoobySkooby #14 Posted 22 April 2018 - 09:17 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 10778 battles
  • 1,749
  • [TFMB] TFMB
  • Member since:
    09-23-2011

View PostErwin_Von_Braun, on 22 April 2018 - 09:14 PM, said:

Just about to unlock it so,,, yes please :)

 

You can unlock the IS3a?

Desyatnik_Pansy #15 Posted 22 April 2018 - 09:18 PM

    Bartender

  • Player
  • 15522 battles
  • 25,657
  • [-GLO-] -GLO-
  • Member since:
    04-19-2013

View PostErwin_Von_Braun, on 22 April 2018 - 09:14 PM, said:

Just about to unlock it so,,, yes please :)

 

Unlock it? I think you're mistaking the IS-3 and the IS-3A, since the latter (which the thread is about) is a Premium.

Erwin_Von_Braun #16 Posted 22 April 2018 - 09:25 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 37336 battles
  • 4,530
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    01-25-2014

View Postkaptainkrunch, on 22 April 2018 - 08:17 PM, said:

 

You can unlock the IS3a?

 

View PostDesyatnik_Pansy, on 22 April 2018 - 08:18 PM, said:

 

Unlock it? I think you're mistaking the IS-3 and the IS-3A, since the latter (which the thread is about) is a Premium.

 

:facepalm:

:hiding:






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users