Jump to content


Unable to raise frame rate above 18fps

frames frame graphics rate framerate FPS settings

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

HeavyWeaponsGuy #1 Posted 25 April 2018 - 12:35 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7459 battles
  • 8
  • [BDIAD] BDIAD
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

Hi folks,

 

I've been having an issue recently. So far as I can tell it started when 1.0.0.3 was released, but I'm not 100% certain as I just returned to the game after a few months off.

 

I used to get 40-50fps using the Nvidia Geforce Experience Optimization in the HD client settings but now I'm stuck at around 18fps no matter what I do. I've tried switching to the SD client, turning all of the graphics settings down to the minimum. I've double checked that my PC is in the 'Performance' power plan, as that was suggested in other threads. Additionally, GeForce Experience is no longer able to adjust the game's settings. I double checked that I have the latest driver for the graphics card.

 

I'm really at a loss here and it's thoroughly irritating as I just bought the Lowe bundle with 30 days of premium and that time keeps counting down whether the game is working properly or not.

 

My PC specs are:

Mo-Bo: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P

Processor: AMD-FX-8300-Octocore 3.3GHz

RAM: 16GB (Corsair Vengence)

G-Card: GeForce 1050 Ti (Zotac)

PSU: 1KW (Coolermaster)

OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit

 

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

 

Edit: It has now dropped to 9fps and is unplayable.


Edited by HeavyWeaponsGuy, 25 April 2018 - 01:13 PM.


jack_timber #2 Posted 25 April 2018 - 07:10 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33467 battles
  • 2,082
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Have you tried starting in safe mode & with reset graphic settings?

Used to use Nvidia control panel thingy to set graphics but let WoT set them now, always play on max settings anyways.

Have you updated gpu drivers?

Do other games etc run ok on your pc.

Run a benchmark prog to see if it's your pc, I used one at cpubencmark.

Connection issues, lag, high ping.

Your rig should be able to achieve 50+ FPS on HD with all settings set high.

 



HeavyWeaponsGuy #3 Posted 25 April 2018 - 12:56 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7459 battles
  • 8
  • [BDIAD] BDIAD
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

Thanks for the reply,

 

I have tried starting in safe mode, that's when the FPS dropped to 9 and the game became completely unplayable. I can barely navigate the garage.

I double checked before posting here that my graphics drivers were up to date.

Everything else works perfectly normal, Armored Warfare, Dreadnought, Fallout 4 etc.

I ran the performance test, screenshot below. https://www.passmark...id=101456927290

My internet connection seems fine, ran speedtest.net check. Ping is 12ms, down speed is 15MBps and up speed is 5MBps

 

 

I uninstalled and reinstalled World of Tanks overnight. It has made it worse, frame rate is now somewhere between 1 and 3, and the game is phenomenally slow to respond to clicks, if at all. The server ping according to the menu in the garage is 300 for EU1 and 650 for EU2.

 

Cheers


Edited by HeavyWeaponsGuy, 25 April 2018 - 01:11 PM.


bangash #4 Posted 25 April 2018 - 01:13 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 26854 battles
  • 136
  • [SCRPN] SCRPN
  • Member since:
    09-20-2010

Have you tried changing nvidia driver? try latest one or if it fps does not improve than try old drivers from past year (October, November or December). I had such issue back in 2015 i think. Which was solved by reverting back to old drivers.

 

 

P.S. Empty mod folder.


Edited by bangash, 25 April 2018 - 01:16 PM.


HeavyWeaponsGuy #5 Posted 25 April 2018 - 01:16 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7459 battles
  • 8
  • [BDIAD] BDIAD
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011
Interestingly enough, I just went on Nvidia's website to look for old drivers. There is a new driver that was released today. Will try that and report back.

bangash #6 Posted 25 April 2018 - 01:22 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 26854 battles
  • 136
  • [SCRPN] SCRPN
  • Member since:
    09-20-2010
And why don't you try Win10? Its more flexible and stable. Also look like something is bottle necking your PC, If GPU is 2gig than it might be the cause, or may be reduce ram to 8gig. Just try it. I used to do such thing in the past but now i am fed up of it :sceptic:. That PING is also the biggest problem it hurts more then low fps, above 250ms is not good for online games.

Edited by bangash, 25 April 2018 - 01:24 PM.


HeavyWeaponsGuy #7 Posted 25 April 2018 - 01:38 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7459 battles
  • 8
  • [BDIAD] BDIAD
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

Updating the graphics driver hasn't helped. Will try an older driver later, I need to get to work.

 

I can appreciate what you're saying Bangash, but the game was working fine three days ago and the issue only applies to WoT. I shouldn't have to start pulling parts from my rig to make it play.



jack_timber #8 Posted 25 April 2018 - 03:49 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33467 battles
  • 2,082
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

You have awful ping that's what I would think is giving you the low fps.

Try pingplotter, although not to well aquatinted with it, there are some on forum that can interpret results.

GL.



HeavyWeaponsGuy #9 Posted 25 April 2018 - 06:49 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7459 battles
  • 8
  • [BDIAD] BDIAD
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

View Postjack_timber, on 25 April 2018 - 02:49 PM, said:

You have awful ping that's what I would think is giving you the low fps.

Try pingplotter, although not to well aquatinted with it, there are some on forum that can interpret results.

GL.

 

The ping is only bad in WoT though, as I stated above, my ping outside of the client is 12ms, and the background video of the log-in screen is suffering from the same poor framerate and slow response, before I've even logged in.

I'm beginning to think that this is not simply a Graphical problem. It seems like the program as a whole is not running correctly, despite being a fresh install.

Edited by HeavyWeaponsGuy, 25 April 2018 - 06:53 PM.


jack_timber #10 Posted 25 April 2018 - 07:21 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33467 battles
  • 2,082
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

https://eu.wargaming...ot/articles/69/

Don't know if you have seen this... Might be worthwhile.

Yes can sometimes get bad ping, lag, spikes whatever with WoT but every other internet use is fine.



HeavyWeaponsGuy #11 Posted 26 April 2018 - 01:07 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 7459 battles
  • 8
  • [BDIAD] BDIAD
  • Member since:
    05-02-2011

I think I may have fixed the issue, though I'm not sure exactly where the issue lay. I ran my AVG 'PC Tune Up' software, which includes a Registry clean up, cache and logs clean up, browser data, broken shortcuts, etc.

 

Upon opening the game again, it is running as it was, around 50FPS with WoT recommended settings.

 

Thank you for your suggestions folks.







Also tagged with frames, frame, graphics, rate, framerate, FPS, settings

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users