Jump to content


Unplayable fps on strong PC


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

sonor123 #1 Posted 29 April 2018 - 09:51 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 14350 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    07-12-2011

I have a pretty good setup (i7 7700 (running 3.6GHz), GeForce 1060 6GB videocard, 2x8GB 2133MHz DDR4 ram, game is on 250GB Samsung SSD, windows 8) yet the game is unplayable. To give you an idea: it lags in the garage on low graphics using SD client (it cannot even follow the cursor's movement, it jumps to the updated position every second or so)

CPU usage is at 20%, memory 40-50%, I'm not running out of disk space, game is freshly installed, all drivers are up to date, nothing extreme running in the background, internet connection is perfect (above 200Mbps at any point, not like that should matter in the garage).

I've ran many recent games on the highest quality 60-90 fps, I cannot see a single reason why WoT should be behaving like this.

Any ideas?



Hardass #2 Posted 29 April 2018 - 10:13 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 32515 battles
  • 1,152
  • Member since:
    08-03-2010

Why are you running it in SD with that set up you should be at the higher end of the HD graphics settings i am Running Asus X99II board Intel I7 5830k overclock to 3.8ghz 16 gig HyperX predator DDR4 ram and the same card as you and i am running near max settings with no lagging whatsoever my average ping is about 45-50ms with an average of 107fps.

 

Switch to the HD client on low settings and then just increase the setting until you get a decent result there is a tool you can use to benchmark here https://wotencore.net/3343_en1 this will give you some idea what you pc can do.

 

 



spin11 #3 Posted 29 April 2018 - 10:47 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 47254 battles
  • 4
  • [TAK_] TAK_
  • Member since:
    04-23-2012
I had a similar issue this morning.  it turned out that my water cooling radiator behind the fan was blocked with dust which was causing the cpu to overheat.  you might want to check your temperatures.

sonor123 #4 Posted 29 April 2018 - 01:16 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 14350 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    07-12-2011

I tried HD first obviously, it was the same. Then I uninstalled, reinstalled the SD version, same stuff. I know what my PC can do, hence my confusion as to why WoT is the only game I've ever encountered that showed this kind of issue.

 

I have a well-cleaned well-cooled system, 40-45 degrees atm and that's with heavy-ish use (60% usage).



spin11 #5 Posted 29 April 2018 - 06:53 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 47254 battles
  • 4
  • [TAK_] TAK_
  • Member since:
    04-23-2012
I also ran a program called UserBenchMark which highlighted problem areas with my PC.  might be worth a try if nothing is obvious.

AliceUnchained #6 Posted 07 May 2018 - 09:51 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 37820 battles
  • 8,520
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

Sounds to me your GPU isn't running at full 3D clock speed or throttling. That, or some issues with profile setting for WoT. Using Optimized Power setting in Nvidia Control Panel by any chance?

 

Funny you mention CPU usage and memory, but nothing on temperatures initially, nor anything on GPU (usage, power, clock speed, temps). However, as you haven't bothered to update this thread I take it the issue has been resolved by now?






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users