Jump to content


How do I find out how you can configure a tank without owning it?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

akaitora #1 Posted 12 May 2018 - 01:59 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 11649 battles
  • 157
  • [BD_SQ] BD_SQ
  • Member since:
    03-25-2014
I'm currently playing towards the Tier IX M46 Patton and am trying to figure out on what i would want to spend my Free-XP on; (Can i equip the Top-Gun without upgraded Turret/Engine? etc. ...)

So, rather than asking on a forum each time for each tank specifically; How do i find out whether or not I can do such thing as stated above ^ or not?
Also, my experience has shown that on some tanks you are be able to skip researching the Suspensions by using "Enhanced Torsion Bars" (<- also do increase load capacity) while on others you can't. How do I figure that out beforehand as well?

To clarify the above, on the Achilles (Tier VI Brit. Tank Destroyer) you can fully upgrade the tank (leaving full equipment slots out of the equation) just with the Torsion Bars without having to grind the Suspension first, sparing you that juicy, hard-earned Free-Experience.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by akaitora, 12 May 2018 - 02:15 AM.


Balc0ra #2 Posted 12 May 2018 - 02:05 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 64316 battles
  • 15,399
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

Right click on the tank in the tech tree. And use "add to comparison". Use the comparison tool and configure the tank. If you select any upgrade, and the tracks are still stock. You're fine. If he suddenly auto mounts the top tracks. It means it's too heavy. If you mount the top gun with the stock turret and he auto mounts the top turret, you have to upgrade first.

 

Tho if you click on the turret in tech tree, it will list the guns it can use on it. Weight limit and current stock weight is listed if you read the tank profile. So it will tell you how much weight you have left, vs what the current gun weights vs the upgraded one etc.

 

Tho you can also select "preview vehicle" and mount modules as you see fit there. And you will get a warning if any part is incompatible or the tank is to heavy. Tho preview only works before you buy the tank. Not when you own it.


Edited by Balc0ra, 12 May 2018 - 02:09 AM.


akaitora #3 Posted 12 May 2018 - 02:29 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 11649 battles
  • 157
  • [BD_SQ] BD_SQ
  • Member since:
    03-25-2014
Thanks very much dude

Suurpolskija #4 Posted 12 May 2018 - 08:47 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18692 battles
  • 1,642
  • [URHO] URHO
  • Member since:
    01-26-2016
The preview that you can use in the tech tree also works. 

ederfe #5 Posted 12 May 2018 - 09:49 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 14489 battles
  • 225
  • Member since:
    01-13-2015

Good tips. I have used tanks.gg for the same. Apply stock tracks and keeping an eye on the weight vs max weight.

 

Also the wot wiki sometimes has useful "early research" tips. Might not always be up to date though.


Edited by ederfe, 12 May 2018 - 09:52 AM.


Suurpolskija #6 Posted 12 May 2018 - 01:22 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 18692 battles
  • 1,642
  • [URHO] URHO
  • Member since:
    01-26-2016
Just remember that the equipment you put on the tank also increases weight. 

BodyGuardOfLies #7 Posted 12 May 2018 - 01:45 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 79585 battles
  • 1,132
  • Member since:
    06-07-2011

It's always worth consulting the wiki too.        

 

http://wiki.wargamin.../World_of_Tanks

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users