Jump to content


Anyone noticed a change in Frontline FPS?

frontline fps

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

Strappster #1 Posted 15 May 2018 - 11:21 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

My computer isn't the most up-to-date but it'll play normal battles at a steady 60-70fps at 1080 with most settings on high or maximum. When FL launched I'd have to drop everything to low/medium settings to get 30-40fps. Today I didn't think to change the settings before clicking into battle and I was still getting 30-40fps.

 

I thought from the start that WG would be working during ceasefires to update things at the server end and we've another micropatch being issued tomorrow (yes, it's a mod-breaker, be ready for that) so it's possible that the mode is being optimised as we play it and as they get more feedback and data to work with.

 

Has anyone else noticed an improvement or am I suffering from wishful thinking? :unsure:



Baldrickk #2 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:36 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29530 battles
  • 13,762
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

The server end won't affect your fps.
Is it just another area of the map That suffers?
Was it just always like that but you didn't realise (Have you actually profiled or just random sampling)
Are there any background processes running that might affect it? For example with acceleration turned on, some people have reported that chrome will eat gpu cycles while in the background.

 

Edit: still asleep. Please read above post in reverse as you are having better fps rather than worse


Edited by Baldrickk, 16 May 2018 - 07:38 AM.


Strappster #3 Posted 16 May 2018 - 12:38 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 06:36 AM, said:

The server end won't affect your fps.

 

I was thinking better optimisation of the data being sent could improve overall performance.

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 06:36 AM, said:

Was it just always like that but you didn't realise (Have you actually profiled or just random sampling)

 

Random sampling and a general feeling that it's running better, hence my asking if anyone else had noticed it. I've noticed it when I don't have many tanks on screen and when it's busy, it's a general improvement. As said, I'm prepared to concede that it's wishful thinking on my part. 

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 06:36 AM, said:

Are there any background processes running that might affect it? For example with acceleration turned on, some people have reported that chrome will eat gpu cycles while in the background.

 

None that aren't usually running when I'm playing. I keep a Chrome window open with a tab on tanks.gg and I'm usually playing music, sometimes from a YouTube playlist. I've heard that Chrome can be a resource hog but haven't tried closing it to see whether I can see the difference. One to try when FL opens today, thanks. :honoring:

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 06:36 AM, said:

Edit: still asleep. Please read above post in reverse as you are having better fps rather than worse

 

Tried that but got confused after "background the in while cycles gpu eat ..." and read it forwards instead. :unsure:



Dorander #4 Posted 16 May 2018 - 12:43 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 17854 battles
  • 2,297
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012
The funny thing for me is that yesterday I was having FPS drops in FL, whereas the previous days I had no issues at all.

Strappster #5 Posted 16 May 2018 - 12:45 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostDorander, on 16 May 2018 - 11:43 AM, said:

The funny thing for me is that yesterday I was having FPS drops in FL, whereas the previous days I had no issues at all.

 

Aha! I must have been getting your dropped FPS! :great:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That's how computers work, right? :confused:



Dorander #6 Posted 16 May 2018 - 12:51 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 17854 battles
  • 2,297
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

View PostStrappster, on 16 May 2018 - 11:45 AM, said:

 

Aha! I must have been getting your dropped FPS! :great:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That's how computers work, right? :confused:

 

More like you stole it with leet hacking skillz!

_Horned_ #7 Posted 16 May 2018 - 12:58 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 14953 battles
  • 37
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-16-2011
I've experienced fps spikes in FL lately aswell

Strappster #8 Posted 16 May 2018 - 12:58 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostDorander, on 16 May 2018 - 11:51 AM, said:

More like you stole it with leet hacking skillz!

 



Long_Range_Sniper #9 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:03 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 30640 battles
  • 8,275
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-04-2011

I've noticed that FL tanks seem to move a lot slower than other tanks, and seem to sit still in the open quite a bit.

 

Is this FPS related I wonder........:B?



Baldrickk #10 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:18 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29530 battles
  • 13,762
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostLong_Range_Sniper, on 16 May 2018 - 01:03 PM, said:

I've noticed that FL tanks seem to move a lot slower than other tanks, and seem to sit still in the open quite a bit.

 

Is this FPS related I wonder........:B?

It wasn't a problem with them sat sideways in front of my borsig last night.

 

View PostStrappster, on 16 May 2018 - 12:38 PM, said:

 

I was thinking better optimisation of the data being sent could improve overall performance.

 

 

Random sampling and a general feeling that it's running better, hence my asking if anyone else had noticed it. I've noticed it when I don't have many tanks on screen and when it's busy, it's a general improvement. As said, I'm prepared to concede that it's wishful thinking on my part. 

 

 

None that aren't usually running when I'm playing. I keep a Chrome window open with a tab on tanks.gg and I'm usually playing music, sometimes from a YouTube playlist. I've heard that Chrome can be a resource hog but haven't tried closing it to see whether I can see the difference. One to try when FL opens today, thanks. :honoring:

 

 

Tried that but got confused after "background the in while cycles gpu eat ..." and read it forwards instead. :unsure:

It could reduce latency e.g. less packets needed, or maybe how long it takes to process the game state from the packet or more efficient calculations on the server (like with the spitying algorithm changes letting it do more spot checks)

But none of that would affect fps.

 

Also heh.


 

Long_Range_Sniper #11 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:22 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 30640 battles
  • 8,275
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-04-2011

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 12:18 PM, said:

It wasn't a problem with them sat sideways in front of my borsig last night.

 

That's my most second hated tank in FL mode, after the O-Ho. I'm playing the Pantera, Blackdog and Scorp G mostly, and the O-Ho is really getting on my wick!



Strappster #12 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:33 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23695 battles
  • 8,926
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 12:21 PM, said:

It could reduce latency e.g. less packets needed, or maybe how long it takes to process the game state from the packet or more efficient calculations on the server (like with the spitying algorithm changes letting it do more spot checks)

But none of that would affect fps.

 

You're not thinking holistically. The virtual goodwill generated by server-side improvements results in a happier graphics card and a happier graphics card produces more FPS because water has a memory or something.

 

 

View PostLong_Range_Sniper, on 16 May 2018 - 12:22 PM, said:

That's my most second hated tank in FL mode, after the O-Ho. I'm playing the Pantera, Blackdog and Scorp G mostly, and the O-Ho is really getting on my wick!

 

Had my best results so far last night playing the T-44 (current grind), T-54mod1 and T-44-100 in rotation. It's got to be Rusha bias and not that I'm Captain Thicky who gets confused when playing different tanks.



steview162 #13 Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:54 PM

    Brigadier

  • Clan Diplomat
  • 33067 battles
  • 4,095
  • [-T-O-] -T-O-
  • Member since:
    05-06-2011

Yes. Was getting 1 or 2 FPS in the zone with the bunkers over the weekend. But now, decent FPS everywhere. I did run the game in safe mode to drop the mods and it also seemed to work. But have started the game normally, and all is good. So I have no idea.

 



Bordhaw #14 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:00 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 10854 battles
  • 1,999
  • Member since:
    01-29-2017
No.  

Baldrickk #15 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:23 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29530 battles
  • 13,762
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostStrappster, on 16 May 2018 - 01:33 PM, said:

 

You're not thinking holistically. The virtual goodwill generated by server-side improvements results in a happier graphics card and a happier graphics card produces more FPS because water has a memory or something.

 

 

 

Had my best results so far last night playing the T-44 (current grind), T-54mod1 and T-44-100 in rotation. It's got to be Rusha bias and not that I'm Captain Thicky who gets confused when playing different tanks.


Edited by Baldrickk, 16 May 2018 - 07:49 PM.


Tankyouverymuch2 #16 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:38 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 29707 battles
  • 1,267
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013
I noticed that whatever settings I use, my FPS always drops to 30-45-ish, so something is either poorly optimized in the north part of the map, or there's a memory leak somewhere. ...if there is one, it resets after the battle ends (if that's even possible with memory leaks).

Chris723 #17 Posted 23 May 2018 - 05:59 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 26164 battles
  • 27
  • Member since:
    06-01-2013
Such crapoptimisation. I get 100 fps on high settings and in frontline 40 maybe 50 fps and drops like crazy. How can they release it so unplayable. I tried setting all to low max 60 fps. 





Also tagged with frontline, fps

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users