Jump to content


the pleasures of vanila client >:|


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

azakow #1 Posted 16 May 2018 - 06:48 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 73859 battles
  • 4,577
  • Member since:
    05-23-2011

7 years WoT

7 years prem vehicles

7 years of manually switching crews between vehicles

 

... but hey recently we got improvemnts and bugfixes on "dynamic vehicle dirtying" (whatever this is)

 

Simple things, for simple people!

 



Jigabachi #2 Posted 16 May 2018 - 06:59 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 17753 battles
  • 17,651
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-12-2011
Constant crew switching most definitely isn't regarded as a feature.

Strappster #3 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:36 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23609 battles
  • 8,785
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015
I don't understand - why is it a struggle to make two clicks to return the previous crew to a vehicle? :confused:

divsmo #4 Posted 16 May 2018 - 07:57 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 30593 battles
  • 203
  • [BEXF] BEXF
  • Member since:
    07-08-2012

View PostStrappster, on 16 May 2018 - 06:36 PM, said:

I don't understand - why is it a struggle to make two clicks to return the previous crew to a vehicle? :confused:

This ^^, OP you know there's a button in the vanilla client to return crews right? 



Enforcer1975 #5 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:03 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 18475 battles
  • 9,853
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014

7 years and never even had the idea of using tools provided by the community.... complains...

 



Erwin_Von_Braun #6 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:03 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 36128 battles
  • 3,933
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    01-25-2014

Been vanilla since day 1.

Best way to play the game - everything else is just a distraction :)



Tankyouverymuch2 #7 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:14 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 28440 battles
  • 594
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

I play without mods because I am capable of doing everything myself, I don't need help from outside-game software.



Baldrickk #8 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:14 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29061 battles
  • 12,900
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostStrappster, on 16 May 2018 - 07:36 PM, said:

I don't understand - why is it a struggle to make two clicks to return the previous crew to a vehicle? :confused:

 

Two clicks?  fine.

Two clicks x1000?  a pain.

Don't forget the binocs, camo net and / or toolbox if you use them.

Don't forget having to hunt them down to take them off your other tanks to then go into the equipment menu and remove them from there, then go back to the tank you want to play and put them on there

 

Oh, and having a garage that shows approx 10 tanks - on my 50" 4k TV that I'm using, rather than one that shows about 80, that's fun too.

 

 

That said, I don't really know what the fuss is about, move last patch's mods to the current folder and just use them :deer:



Baldrickk #9 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:25 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 29061 battles
  • 12,900
  • [-TAH-] -TAH-
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostEnforcer1975, on 16 May 2018 - 08:03 PM, said:

7 years and never even had the idea of using tools provided by the community.... complains...

 

You know, I think he's complaining about it not being in the game, because when there is a patch he has to rely on the community doing things the devs could have done.

Strappster #10 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:30 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23609 battles
  • 8,785
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 07:14 PM, said:

Don't forget the binocs, camo net and / or toolbox if you use them.

Don't forget having to hunt them down to take them off your other tanks to then go into the equipment menu and remove them from there, then go back to the tank you want to play and put them on there

 

Don't forget that the OP's complaint was about crew, not equipment.

Don't forget that I use Oldskool's Auto Equip for exactly that reason.

 

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 07:14 PM, said:

Oh, and having a garage that shows approx 10 tanks - on my 50" 4k TV that I'm using, rather than one that shows about 80, that's fun too.

 

I'm going to write that one down as a 'you' problem. :rolleyes:

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 07:14 PM, said:

That said, I don't really know what the fuss is about, move last patch's mods to the current folder and just use them :deer:

 

Exactly what I did once the client had updated earlier today. No problems so far, both the mods I use appear to be working as intended. :great:



azakow #11 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:46 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 73859 battles
  • 4,577
  • Member since:
    05-23-2011

Usually I am using XVM which provides an automatic crew switching feature as I select my vehicle, a single click required.

 

Sure the vanilla client provides features, such as: on your current vehicle, send crew to barraks (upper left), select new vehicle (buttom), 2 clicks and crossing the screen twice.

I am aware how enable my mods.

It is just for such occasion, that brings up these issues of perfect ergonics and UI desing.

 

But hey, it not only drains on my play time over all, but also on the availablity of my reserves. Not much in deed but it adds up.

Now it all makes sence again.

Thank you WG!


Edited by azakow, 16 May 2018 - 08:48 PM.


Strappster #12 Posted 16 May 2018 - 08:53 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23609 battles
  • 8,785
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-20-2015

View Postazakow, on 16 May 2018 - 07:46 PM, said:

Sure the vanilla client provides features, such as: on your current vehicle, send crew to barraks (upper left), select new vehicle (buttom), 2 clicks and crossing the screen twice.

 

If you're using the return crew feature in vanilla you don't have to send the crew to the barracks from their previous tank. It's two clicks more than selecting a new tank with XVM and a lot less messing about if you want to change the crew for a particular tank.



AXIS_OF_RESISTANCE #13 Posted 16 May 2018 - 10:29 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6257 battles
  • 40
  • Member since:
    12-21-2017
HE is zero skill + OP hull down tank with 3k+ dpm is zero skill :child:.

Homer_J #14 Posted 16 May 2018 - 10:38 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 27094 battles
  • 27,749
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 08:14 PM, said:

 

Two clicks?  fine.

Two clicks x1000?  a pain.

Don't forget the binocs, camo net and / or toolbox if you use them.

Don't forget having to hunt them down to take them off your other tanks to then go into the equipment menu and remove them from there, then go back to the tank you want to play and put them on there

It's not every battle that you need to move crew though, it's something you might do a couple of times a day.

 

As for equipment, just don't have any spare equipment slots that way you don't have anything to worry about.  And unless you have too many camo net and binoculars it tells you which tanks they are on, hardly a great effort.



Spurtung #15 Posted 17 May 2018 - 12:33 AM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 60146 battles
  • 5,528
  • [GW-UP] GW-UP
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013

View Postazakow, on 16 May 2018 - 09:46 PM, said:

Sure the vanilla client provides features, such as: on your current vehicle, send crew to barraks (upper left), select new vehicle (buttom), 2 clicks and crossing the screen twice.

I am aware how enable my mods.

That's not how it should be done.

 

You pick the vehicle you want to play with, go to the exact same menu and choose "Return Crew to Vehicle", the middle option. Whoever played the last battle in that tank will be back in it. 2 clicks, total.



TankkiPoju #16 Posted 17 May 2018 - 10:10 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 19670 battles
  • 6,090
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011
I bet if WG added automatic crew returning, the forum would be flooded with angry people saying they accidentally trained the wrong crew.

Geno1isme #17 Posted 17 May 2018 - 10:28 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 40064 battles
  • 6,629
  • [TRYIT] TRYIT
  • Member since:
    09-03-2013

View PostTankkiPoju, on 17 May 2018 - 11:10 AM, said:

I bet if WG added automatic crew returning, the forum would be flooded with angry people saying they accidentally trained the wrong crew.

 

I actually found automatic crew returns highly annoying when I used that mod for a while. First it added a noticable delay when switching between affected tanks. And more importantly it made it very cumbersome to actually change what crew is used on a tank.

 

View PostBaldrickk, on 16 May 2018 - 09:14 PM, said:

Two clicks?  fine.

Two clicks x1000?  a pain.

Don't forget the binocs, camo net and / or toolbox if you use them.

Don't forget having to hunt them down to take them off your other tanks to then go into the equipment menu and remove them from there, then go back to the tank you want to play and put them on there

 

That's the price you have to pay for using that legal exploit. I highly doubt WG ever intended people to share modules between many tanks at the same time.



ederfe #18 Posted 17 May 2018 - 11:09 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 14151 battles
  • 203
  • Member since:
    01-13-2015

View PostGeno1isme, on 17 May 2018 - 12:28 PM, said:

That's the price you have to pay for using that legal exploit. I highly doubt WG ever intended people to share modules between many tanks at the same time.

 

Been exploiting that for years. Sry WG, I didn't know... :ohmy:


Edited by ederfe, 17 May 2018 - 11:11 AM.


Dorander #19 Posted 17 May 2018 - 12:26 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 17687 battles
  • 1,571
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

View PostGeno1isme, on 17 May 2018 - 09:28 AM, said:

 

 

That's the price you have to pay for using that legal exploit. I highly doubt WG ever intended people to share modules between many tanks at the same time.

Yeah, if they'd intended for that, they'd have let us dismount some types of equipment for free instead of having to pay 10 gold each time.

 

OH WAIT :bush:



pecopad #20 Posted 17 May 2018 - 12:35 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 21406 battles
  • 726
  • [UGN] UGN
  • Member since:
    09-04-2015

View Postazakow, on 16 May 2018 - 06:48 PM, said:

7 years WoT

7 years prem vehicles

7 years of manually switching crews between vehicles

 

... but hey recently we got improvemnts and bugfixes on "dynamic vehicle dirtying" (whatever this is)

 

Simple things, for simple people!

 

 

Ability to sort tanks the way you want by dragging the card to the position you want, would be nice also

Edited by pecopad, 17 May 2018 - 12:35 PM.





19 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 19 guests, 0 anonymous users