Jump to content


Prem crew issue when swapping between tanks


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Sunshinetrooper #1 Posted 09 June 2018 - 06:37 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6595 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    05-15-2014

Most likely a simple explanation but I'm a filthy casual:

 

I unlocked the stug prem from campaign, using it as a crew trainer, everything is going fine then I swap crew into normal stug. I train them to 80% via silver, play a game then swap back into prem but now prem saying the crew is untrained, so I have to get to 100% to start leveling skills again.

 

What have I done wrong ere?



Dava_117 #2 Posted 09 June 2018 - 06:42 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 17823 battles
  • 2,424
  • [B-BAS] B-BAS
  • Member since:
    12-17-2014

The premium tank don't bring the crew to 100% automatically.

They just can use crew from other tanks of the same kind with no penality (so your stug3 crew still at 80%) and crew from different class with 25% penality instead of 50%.


Edited by Dava_117, 09 June 2018 - 06:42 PM.


ApocalypseSquad #3 Posted 09 June 2018 - 06:42 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 26230 battles
  • 2,008
  • Member since:
    07-31-2011

Normal behaviour I think.  You can't level skills until you have the crew back to 100% on their primary.



Renesco #4 Posted 09 June 2018 - 06:43 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 20815 battles
  • 423
  • [SOBAD] SOBAD
  • Member since:
    10-08-2010

Maybe it's because the StuG is considered a reward tank and not a premium tank per-se. I haven't used mine to train crew with but that's my guess as to the problem. Although I have another reward tank (M4A2E4 Sherman) that trains crews just fine.

 

Are you sure the crew is trained for the StuG III? the StuG IV should take them so long as they're trained for the StuG III afaik



Sunshinetrooper #5 Posted 09 June 2018 - 06:54 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6595 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    05-15-2014

View PostDava_117, on 09 June 2018 - 05:42 PM, said:

The premium tank don't bring the crew to 100% automatically.

They just can use crew from other tanks of the same kind with no penality (so your stug3 crew still at 80%) and crew from different class with 25% penality instead of 50%.

My stug iv has 100% crew originally, heck I was at 98% for my first set of skills. 

View PostApocalypseSquad, on 09 June 2018 - 05:42 PM, said:

Normal behaviour I think.  You can't level skills until you have the crew back to 100% on their primary.

What I don't understand is why I lost the 100% on my stug iv, was it because I retrained (but not to 100%) on the stug iii?

View PostRenesco, on 09 June 2018 - 05:43 PM, said:

Maybe it's because the StuG is considered a reward tank and not a premium tank per-se. I haven't used mine to train crew with but that's my guess as to the problem. Although I have another reward tank (M4A2E4 Sherman) that trains crews just fine.

 

Are you sure the crew is trained for the StuG III? the StuG IV should take them so long as they're trained for the StuG III afaik

 

I went from 100% trained stug IV crew, to 80% in Stug III. Think I may of answered my own question. 



Dorander #6 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:00 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 17854 battles
  • 1,892
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

Premium tanks are premium tanks when it comes to crew training, there's a difference though between "reward premium" tanks and "purchased premium" tanks, and that is in the credit earning multiplier. The reward tanks don't have that credit multiplier (barring some exceptions I might not be aware of) but they do have the crew multiplier.

 

Your premium tanks do not require their own crew. They can be driven by any crew that is trained to drive the same tank type (light, medium, heavy, TD or artillery). You do NOT retrain your crew when you slot them into the premium tank. The tank name for the crewmembers may turn red to indicate they're not in the right tank (or is that a mod feature I have, not even sure), but their skill percentage should not drop, indicating that they operate at their displayed skill level anyway.

 

This does NOT work the other way around, if you use a crew trained for a premium tank in a tank that isn't a premium tank, their skill levels will drop to the relative "untrained" value (by 10% if they are the same tank type, 20% if they aren't). So there is never any reason to have a crew trained to a premium tank, unless you have no other tank that uses these crewmembers. Put the crew from a non-premium tank into your premium tank and drive it, do NOT retrain your crew via their personnel files.



Sunshinetrooper #7 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:07 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6595 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    05-15-2014

View PostDorander, on 09 June 2018 - 06:00 PM, said:

Premium tanks are premium tanks when it comes to crew training, there's a difference though between "reward premium" tanks and "purchased premium" tanks, and that is in the credit earning multiplier. The reward tanks don't have that credit multiplier (barring some exceptions I might not be aware of) but they do have the crew multiplier.

 

Your premium tanks do not require their own crew. They can be driven by any crew that is trained to drive the same tank type (light, medium, heavy, TD or artillery). You do NOT retrain your crew when you slot them into the premium tank. The tank name for the crewmembers may turn red to indicate they're not in the right tank (or is that a mod feature I have, not even sure), but their skill percentage should not drop, indicating that they operate at their displayed skill level anyway.

 

This does NOT work the other way around, if you use a crew trained for a premium tank in a tank that isn't a premium tank, their skill levels will drop to the relative "untrained" value (by 10% if they are the same tank type, 20% if they aren't). So there is never any reason to have a crew trained to a premium tank, unless you have no other tank that uses these crewmembers. Put the crew from a non-premium tank into your premium tank and drive it, do NOT retrain your crew via their personnel files.

 

I had no other TDs and only some random crews, so I put em in the prem and I've been crew training since, it has only stopped since I bought and re-trained for the stug III. I'm now having to get the crew to 100% on the stug iv to increase crew skill again. 

Dorander #8 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:11 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 17854 battles
  • 1,892
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

View PostSunshinetrooper, on 09 June 2018 - 06:07 PM, said:

 

I had no other TDs and only some random crews, so I put em in the prem and I've been crew training since, it has only stopped since I bought and re-trained for the stug III. I'm now having to get the crew to 100% on the stug iv to increase crew skill again. 

 

Yeah, your crew is only trained to drive one tank at a time, it's just that that training also happens to work for premiums of the same type. So since you retrained them for the non-premium, you have to regrind that crew xp, which you can do in either tank. It just goes a lot faster in the premium.

Sunshinetrooper #9 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:16 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6595 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    05-15-2014

View PostDorander, on 09 June 2018 - 06:11 PM, said:

 

Yeah, your crew is only trained to drive one tank at a time, it's just that that training also happens to work for premiums of the same type. So since you retrained them for the non-premium, you have to regrind that crew xp, which you can do in either tank. It just goes a lot faster in the premium.

 

Ok, so it was just unfortunate I didn't have the crew at 100% on the Stug III first - then I wouldn't of had any issue? Once the crew are back to 100% on the stug iv (they show trained for stug III), i'll be able to crew train and swap crews between stug IV and Stug III to benefit from 2* bonus, without penalties?

AliceUnchained #10 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:20 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 37845 battles
  • 8,592
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostSunshinetrooper, on 09 June 2018 - 06:37 PM, said:

What have I done wrong ere?

 

You failed to understand a very basic game element even after almost 6.500 games... One which you could have grasped by investing a few minutes into searching for the answer, rather than creating this thread.

 

Anyway, you can even retrain the crew for the same non-premium vehicle now to get the primary skill level back to 100% at the cost of losing some XP on the secondary skill.



Sunshinetrooper #11 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:33 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6595 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    05-15-2014

View PostAliceUnchained, on 09 June 2018 - 06:20 PM, said:

 

You failed to understand a very basic game element even after almost 6.500 games... One which you could have grasped by investing a few minutes into searching for the answer, rather than creating this thread.

 

Anyway, you can even retrain the crew for the same non-premium vehicle now to get the primary skill level back to 100% at the cost of losing some XP on the secondary skill.

 

My most humble apology for not knowing something despite my mighty 6500 games completed over 4 years...I've used prem vehicles and swapped crew about with no issues before in my 6, 500 games and I couldn't find a suitable answer for this issue on the forums, so I posted a question. 


Edited by Sunshinetrooper, 09 June 2018 - 07:35 PM.


Dorander #12 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:35 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 17854 battles
  • 1,892
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

View PostSunshinetrooper, on 09 June 2018 - 06:16 PM, said:

 

Ok, so it was just unfortunate I didn't have the crew at 100% on the Stug III first - then I wouldn't of had any issue? Once the crew are back to 100% on the stug iv (they show trained for stug III), i'll be able to crew train and swap crews between stug IV and Stug III to benefit from 2* bonus, without penalties?

 

Your crew retains the skill percentage they have when you put them in a premium tank as the same tank type they are trained for, without needing to retrain, whatever that percentage is.

HassenderZerhacker #13 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:41 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 23863 battles
  • 2,051
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostSunshinetrooper, on 09 June 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

What I don't understand is why I lost the 100% on my stug iv, was it because I retrained (but not to 100%) on the stug iii?

 

 

it's because in WoT, crews magically forget everything they know as soon as you retrain them on another tank.

 



Sunshinetrooper #14 Posted 09 June 2018 - 07:46 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6595 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    05-15-2014

View PostDorander, on 09 June 2018 - 06:35 PM, said:

 

Your crew retains the skill percentage they have when you put them in a premium tank as the same tank type they are trained for, without needing to retrain, whatever that percentage is.

 

That explains it, I usually have my crews at 100%. A silly oversight, glad to have it resolved. 

Babbet_1 #15 Posted 09 June 2018 - 08:20 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10003 battles
  • 451
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-13-2015

View PostAliceUnchained, on 09 June 2018 - 07:20 PM, said:

 

You failed to understand a very basic game element even after almost 6.500 games... One which you could have grasped by investing a few minutes into searching for the answer, rather than creating this thread.

 

Anyway, you can even retrain the crew for the same non-premium vehicle now to get the primary skill level back to 100% at the cost of losing some XP on the secondary skill.

Oh dear! Alice is feeling *edit   again!  :unsure:


Edited by Jbnn, 12 June 2018 - 07:47 AM.
This post has been edited by the moderation team due to inappropriate remarks.


K_A #16 Posted 09 June 2018 - 08:29 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 13572 battles
  • 4,661
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    04-18-2013

View PostDorander, on 09 June 2018 - 06:35 PM, said:

 

Your crew retains the skill percentage they have when you put them in a premium tank as the same tank type they are trained for, without needing to retrain, whatever that percentage is.

 

View PostSunshinetrooper, on 09 June 2018 - 06:46 PM, said:

 

That explains it, I usually have my crews at 100%. A silly oversight, glad to have it resolved. 

 

Yeh, does look resolved. Premium tanks don't magically operate with 100% crews always, they just don't have any additional penalty for not having toe crew trained for them. So if you had, say, a 75% crew on your Stug III and you took it to the Stug IV, it would still operate as a 75% crew. No penalties, and they will accumulate the full crew XP for each battle no matter which of the two tanks the crew will be in, but they won't magically always be 100% in the premium tank.

AliceUnchained #17 Posted 10 June 2018 - 09:56 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 37845 battles
  • 8,592
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View PostSunshinetrooper, on 09 June 2018 - 07:33 PM, said:

My most humble apology for not knowing something despite my mighty 6500 games completed over 4 years...I've used prem vehicles and swapped crew about with no issues before in my 6, 500 games and I couldn't find a suitable answer for this issue on the forums, so I posted a question. 

 

Maybe next time mention that, rather than being a 'filthy casual' implying you could not be arsed to figure it out yourself first. Set the tone yourself with that opening sentence.



Tankyouverymuch2 #18 Posted 10 June 2018 - 10:05 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 28650 battles
  • 771
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

These things are the hardest to explain...I figured these things out myself, thankfully.

 

Looks like you've figured it out now though. :great:



Babbet_1 #19 Posted 10 June 2018 - 11:26 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 10003 battles
  • 451
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-13-2015

View PostAliceUnchained, on 10 June 2018 - 09:56 AM, said:

 

Maybe next time mention that, rather than being a 'filthy casual' implying you could not be arsed to figure it out yourself first. Set the tone yourself with that opening sentence.

 

Oh for goodness sake! Stop picking arguments you *edit , before you get sent to your room!  :girl:

Edited by Jbnn, 12 June 2018 - 07:49 AM.
This post has been edited by the moderation team due to inappropriate remarks.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users