Jump to content


Do you use x16 and x25 zoom?


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

chillsnotskills #1 Posted 21 June 2018 - 03:51 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 17266 battles
  • 156
  • Member since:
    05-10-2014

Why not? Why yes?

I tried and i just cant get the hang of it, and when i use x25 i cant shoot tanks in motion like going full speed. I feel im hitting less when zooming that much.



ThinGun #2 Posted 21 June 2018 - 03:55 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 35891 battles
  • 1,470
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014

Can't speak for everyone, but in a TD, both settings are well useful.  x25 when scanning for enemy tanks, x16 for accurate shots.    It's pretty easy to scroll out of max magnification if you want to track a fast moving tank - it takes three scroll wheel clicks on my mouse.

 



Spurtung #3 Posted 21 June 2018 - 03:56 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 65991 battles
  • 5,900
  • [GW-UP] GW-UP
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013
You use x25 for that guy just standing there that you only see parts of and that would be harder to even aim at any other way.

Enforcer1975 #4 Posted 21 June 2018 - 03:56 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 20973 battles
  • 10,935
  • [D0NG] D0NG
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014
x25 zoom fools the brain, you are not more accurate even if you can aim better at that distance because the target seems bigger. I deactivated x25 via mod since i don't :bush:

_b_ #5 Posted 21 June 2018 - 03:57 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 55426 battles
  • 4,077
  • Member since:
    04-06-2011
Tried but switched back to 8x, find that is plenty enough.  The higher are just pixleshots and with RNG being what it is overkill ...and like you said if zoomed and trying to shoot moving targets not ok.  Those I usually do in 3d view anyhow...seems best way to assess how much lead you need to use.

Cannes76 #6 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:00 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 68723 battles
  • 1,768
  • [TAKE] TAKE
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
I do. You just have to get used to always scroll to the appropriate setting given the situation.

Negativvv #7 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:00 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 9608 battles
  • 1,134
  • [KEKE] KEKE
  • Member since:
    08-08-2015

I play in 2560 res and I default to x8, but I use x16 and even x25 for longer range shots.

 

Higher zoom lets you aim for specific parts of the enemy tank easier...



Gremlin182 #8 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:01 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 49662 battles
  • 8,362
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

I do use it or rather a mod version of it.

 

Having spent most of my time in WOT using the keyboard to enter sniper mode and then the mouse wheel to adjust the zoom setting I find I cannot change to mouse only.

So I have to install a mod that offers me a default X2 zoom when I enter using the keyboard and resets it each time I reenter.

 

I would never use zoom in for fast moving vehicles but I do when sniping slower targets.

Its fine once you adjust to the gun you are using and know how fast the shells are moving so you can lead the target.



ValkyrionX #9 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:03 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 46411 battles
  • 1,182
  • [5FPS] 5FPS
  • Member since:
    02-07-2015
my zoom mod is from x0.8  to  x60

tank276 #10 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:05 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 50668 battles
  • 595
  • [KEKE] KEKE
  • Member since:
    08-30-2012
I find x25 just too much, as mentioned above a median tank doesnt have the acc/dispersion to use it effectively.

Sfinski #11 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:10 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 32283 battles
  • 2,754
  • [-PJ-] -PJ-
  • Member since:
    09-26-2013

View PostEnforcer1975, on 21 June 2018 - 04:56 PM, said:

x25 zoom fools the brain, you are not more accurate even if you can aim better at that distance because the target seems bigger. I deactivated x25 via mod since i don't :bush:

 

If I can aim better, I am indeed more accurate. 

8126Jakobsson #12 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:17 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 68908 battles
  • 3,655
  • Member since:
    12-20-2014
No, I don't see the need for that. I can point and click on tanks within render range just fine with x4 so why limit your vision by zooming in on cracks in the paint. 

chillsnotskills #13 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:18 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 17266 battles
  • 156
  • Member since:
    05-10-2014

View PostSfinski, on 21 June 2018 - 03:10 PM, said:

 

If I can aim better, I am indeed more accurate. 

 

You know whats my problem, when your circle is so big i cant get the feeling if i could shoot a little bit more sooner or no. Like when im using x8 i know how my reticle "feels" if you know what i mean?



Enforcer1975 #14 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:34 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 20973 battles
  • 10,935
  • [D0NG] D0NG
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014

View PostSfinski, on 21 June 2018 - 04:10 PM, said:

 

If I can aim better, I am indeed more accurate. 

 

I was referring to RNG. You can aim at any pixel of a tank at any range and RNG still decides if it goes there or not. 

Nishi_Kinuyo #15 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:39 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 7880 battles
  • 4,572
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

View PostNegativvv, on 21 June 2018 - 04:00 PM, said:

I play in 2560 res and I default to x8, but I use x16 and even x25 for longer range shots.

 

Higher zoom lets you aim for specific parts of the enemy tank easier...

^

This.



Headless_Rooster #16 Posted 21 June 2018 - 04:39 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 10868 battles
  • 626
  • [WUN-2] WUN-2
  • Member since:
    01-04-2017
I use the mouse scroll wheel, tho watching skilled streamers I can see how setting the prefered zoom on/off to a mapped button is an advantage when there's alot going on around you. I think shift would be a good one to map, but our clan likes everyone to be on PTT and I've got used to using shift for that, no thumb on my left hand so anything else would be hard, I can't use the handbrake/spacebar either, maybe I should invest in a decent mouse with more buttons :playing:

Edited by Headless_Rooster, 21 June 2018 - 04:40 PM.


HassenderZerhacker #17 Posted 21 June 2018 - 05:03 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 27838 battles
  • 2,476
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostNegativvv, on 21 June 2018 - 04:00 PM, said:

I play in 2560 res and I default to x8, but I use x16 and even x25 for longer range shots.

 

Higher zoom lets you aim for specific parts of the enemy tank easier...

 

correct, although you can hope to hit the spot you are aiming at only if you use rashan or murrican guns with dispersion of 0.38 or more.

absolutely no chance if fully aiming in a 0.27 dispersion german gun.

you can improve the odds of hitting with the rashan or murrican gun if you aim while moving the tank and turning the turret at the same time.



FluffyRedFox #18 Posted 21 June 2018 - 05:08 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 23968 battles
  • 8,716
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012

I've had x25 zoom on ever since it came out, although I still need to get out of the habit of tunnel visioning while using that zoom.

 



Sfinski #19 Posted 21 June 2018 - 05:14 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 32283 battles
  • 2,754
  • [-PJ-] -PJ-
  • Member since:
    09-26-2013

View PostEnforcer1975, on 21 June 2018 - 05:34 PM, said:

 

I was referring to RNG. You can aim at any pixel of a tank at any range and RNG still decides if it goes there or not. 

 

But you can aim at those specific pixels better, thus being more accurate. 

vasilinhorulezz #20 Posted 21 June 2018 - 05:27 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22813 battles
  • 1,109
  • Member since:
    09-26-2014

I don't, can't really get used to it,

I tried when it became available,

but I don't feel like it's actually that useful,

plus I rarely snipe from long distances,

I mostly play heavies and meds, so I spend more time mid to close range.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users