Jump to content


Stupid ads popups in game


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

Rittmeister39 #1 Posted 11 July 2018 - 06:49 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 9133 battles
  • 105
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    06-27-2017

My game client constantly switches to Desktop and shows a little  popup ad for half a second and then removes it immidiately.

It usually happens when coming to the garage.

Is that garbage from WoT client or Aslain modpack?

It really pisses me off. Also the chat in game often doesn't work, probably because of this crap.

I think it is some chrome plugin in the game...

 



DuncaN_101 #2 Posted 11 July 2018 - 06:51 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 52945 battles
  • 1,820
  • [-B-C-] -B-C-
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011
Don't you just love installing mods and all the crap that comes with it?

Kooallu #3 Posted 11 July 2018 - 06:52 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 41740 battles
  • 301
  • Member since:
    12-09-2013
more mods will fix the problem

Isharial #4 Posted 11 July 2018 - 07:02 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 19637 battles
  • 2,335
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-19-2015

has mods, but doesn't list which - check

blames game for faults - check

hasn't bothered to ask own self whether it could be mods and using safemode - check

 

is this guy for real? :facepalm:

don't you just love these mod users? they don't even read or do anything, just install and go.. I wonder what kind of shady stuff this OP has...

 

@ OP, try safe mode.. that stops the mods running, if you bothered to read at all...

 

those popups aren't from the game, the client has its own in-game "browser", the one that crashed on your end and windows wanted to report, however that links to WG's side and is there to show events and whatnot, I believe it also shows clan stuff, though not 100% sure.

the fact its redirecting to "safechat777.club" indicates you have more than "Just aslains" and something very shady that's hijacked the in-game browser... 

 

delete your mods and scan your system, and change any passwords you've used on that PC.. 



Bordhaw #5 Posted 11 July 2018 - 07:03 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 11280 battles
  • 2,289
  • Member since:
    01-29-2017

View PostRittmeister39, on 11 July 2018 - 05:49 PM, said:

My game client constantly switches to Desktop and shows a little  popup ad for half a second and then removes it immidiately.

It usually happens when coming to the garage.

Is that garbage from WoT client or Aslain modpack?

It really pisses me off. Also the chat in game often doesn't work, probably because of this crap.

I think it is some chrome plugin in the game...

 

 

 

 



Nishi_Kinuyo #6 Posted 11 July 2018 - 07:03 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 7633 battles
  • 4,018
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

Remove your mods and it should be fixed...

 

Also, go install and run Spybot Search&Destroy (free version).

https://www.safer-networking.org/dl/


Edited by Nishi_Kinuyo, 11 July 2018 - 07:04 PM.


OreH75 #7 Posted 11 July 2018 - 07:08 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 47361 battles
  • 2,084
  • [RANGR] RANGR
  • Member since:
    05-29-2013
People installing mods without knowing what they actually are installing :P

Homer_J #8 Posted 11 July 2018 - 07:47 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28249 battles
  • 29,474
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
Where did you get that Aslains modpack?  I think he might be interested since it appears to have been infected by certain mods he has been warning about.

lgfrbcsgo #9 Posted 11 July 2018 - 07:54 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 30209 battles
  • 1,006
  • [MOTIV] MOTIV
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostOreH75, on 11 July 2018 - 07:08 PM, said:

People installing mods without knowing what they actually are installing :P

 

Well, these days you can never know what exactly you are installing. 

 

Most modders wrap their mods in multiple layers of code obfuscation which can hide a lot shady things from the public. To understand what these mods are really doing you have to treat them as malware and analyse their network traffic and file system access...

Some mods also start out behaving nicely, but might later add all kinds of nasty stuff through updates once they've gained popularity. You have to literally check every mod update for malware, spyware and adware...

 

I don't understand why not more modders keep their code open to the public. Not only would it be easier to check mods, but would also benefit the modding community as a whole as more open code means more examples to learn from (especially for novice modders and programmers). Code obfuscation for the sake of copyright seems really odd to me as no one is actually making money by selling their mods. 

 

Also, all these mod installers have to die, I don't trust them at all. WG should have introduced their very own mod installer when they've made wgmods.net available.


Edited by lgfrbcsgo, 11 July 2018 - 08:01 PM.


OreH75 #10 Posted 11 July 2018 - 08:38 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 47361 battles
  • 2,084
  • [RANGR] RANGR
  • Member since:
    05-29-2013

View Postlgfrbcsgo, on 11 July 2018 - 07:54 PM, said

 

Also, all these mod installers have to die, I don't trust them at all. WG should have introduced their very own mod installer when they've made wgmods.net available.

 

Installers are for pc-bots anyway...if you cant unzip something to a folder and if it's not working can't find out and/or undo your actions you should stay away from mods...

Captain_Kremen0 #11 Posted 12 July 2018 - 01:24 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 37021 battles
  • 1,343
  • Member since:
    06-04-2011

How often OP. I get a chromium pop-up once in a while that crashes me desktop. its got f-all to do with WoT as, I suspect does yours.

I only live with it (it's easy to get rid of) because of the old addage - if it aint broke don't [edited]with it.



SaintMaddenus #12 Posted 12 July 2018 - 01:41 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34415 battles
  • 1,274
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    03-04-2011
I don't have this problem with anything over than that Virus Mcafee

ThinGun #13 Posted 12 July 2018 - 01:50 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34581 battles
  • 1,158
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014
It's not Chrome.  It's Chromium, which everyone knows is a malware-laden piece of cr@p that gets installed with hooky downloads.  

Mind you, knowing the entitled whiners that comprise the majority of the WOT user-base, I fully understand why one of them would blame WG for infecting his mum's laptop with malware.

lgfrbcsgo #14 Posted 12 July 2018 - 02:11 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 30209 battles
  • 1,006
  • [MOTIV] MOTIV
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostThinGun, on 12 July 2018 - 01:50 PM, said:

It's not Chrome.  It's Chromium, which everyone knows is a malware-laden piece of cr@p that gets installed with hooky downloads.  

 

Wut? Chrome IS Chromium. Chrome is build on top of the Chromium project. The Chromium open source project was started by Google and released in 2008 to the public.

WoT ships with an embedded Chromium browser which is used to display the latest and greatest shop offerings every time you login.

Malicious mods sometimes use the embedded browser to display ads.


Edited by lgfrbcsgo, 12 July 2018 - 02:12 PM.


ThinGun #15 Posted 12 July 2018 - 05:23 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 34581 battles
  • 1,158
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014

View Postlgfrbcsgo, on 12 July 2018 - 02:11 PM, said:

 

Wut? Chrome IS Chromium. Chrome is build on top of the Chromium project. The Chromium open source project was started by Google and released in 2008 to the public.

WoT ships with an embedded Chromium browser which is used to display the latest and greatest shop offerings every time you login.

Malicious mods sometimes use the embedded browser to display ads.

 

Yes, Chromium is ostensibly the open source version of Chrome.  However, the majority of installed versions of Chromium are NOT kosher - they are heavily modified corruptions designed to scatter malware and targeted adverts all over the host PC.  I thought everyone knew that.

 

Edit - if you're in any doubt, Google 'chromium malware' . 700,000 results

 


Edited by ThinGun, 12 July 2018 - 05:26 PM.


OreH75 #16 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:03 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 47361 battles
  • 2,084
  • [RANGR] RANGR
  • Member since:
    05-29-2013

View PostThinGun, on 12 July 2018 - 05:23 PM, said:

Edit - if you're in any doubt, Google 'chromium malware' . 700,000 results

 

Google Firefox malware: 23 Million results.

Alice_Shimada_Chan #17 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:06 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 27482 battles
  • 271
  • Member since:
    12-09-2012
Mod your WoT until it crashes !

m1x_angelico #18 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:21 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 22295 battles
  • 845
  • [-VETO] -VETO
  • Member since:
    01-04-2015

OP needs to take better care of his computer or pay someone else to do so.

 

He was however on the right path to finding the correct reason of the issue in the title of his tread (highlighted for better visibility): Stupid ads popups in game



Aslain #19 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:37 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 14600 battles
  • 11,521
  • [FX-13] FX-13
  • Member since:
    07-20-2010
The OP is installing mods that are not from my modpack, it was already sorted out by Quaksen with the OP in the PM's.

lgfrbcsgo #20 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:49 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 30209 battles
  • 1,006
  • [MOTIV] MOTIV
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View PostThinGun, on 12 July 2018 - 05:23 PM, said:

However, the majority of installed versions of Chromium are NOT kosher - they are heavily modified corruptions designed to scatter malware and targeted adverts all over the host PC.  I thought everyone knew that.

 

Embedded browsers have many legitimate use cases, Chromium being the most popular among them. Sure, some people will use it for creating adware, but that's definitely not the majority. Many applications these days include chromium to display some parts of their user interface (like WoT and many other games).

Some applications, like Discord, are rendered entirely by Chromium through the Electron framework. The thing is that all these well made applications don't show you that they are using Chromium under the hood. 

 

Edit: If you don't believe me, open Discord and press Ctrl+Shift+i and you'll see the Chromium developer tools pop up.

Edit2: Also, Skype, WhatsApp for desktop, Visual Studio Code, Slack, Atom and many more are build with Electron. https://electronjs.org/apps


Edited by lgfrbcsgo, 12 July 2018 - 07:07 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users