Jump to content


Graphics Problem!


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

j0kker_2014 #1 Posted 12 July 2018 - 04:33 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1534 battles
  • 18
  • [RIDF] RIDF
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014
OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4510U CPU @ 2.00GHz, 2001 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Mode UEFI
BaseBoard Manufacturer Dell Inc.
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8,00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7,91 GB
Available Physical Memory 6,08 GB
Total Virtual Memory 9,16 GB
Available Virtual Memory 7,18 GB
 
 
Name Intel® HD Graphics Family
Adapter Type Intel® HD Graphics Family, Intel Corporation compatible
Adapter Description Intel® HD Graphics Family
Adapter RAM 1,00 GB (1.073.741.824 bytes)
 
Name NVIDIA GeForce 840M
Adapter Description NVIDIA GeForce 840M
Adapter RAM (2.147.483.648) bytes
 
Im runing on low graphics settings and still dooing poor 30 fps sometimes les depending on the map ? what seeems to be the problem here can anyone help ? ty in advance :D 


Venom7000 #2 Posted 12 July 2018 - 04:59 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 2128 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    03-10-2018

The machine is perfectly strong for gaming. Most likely that the laptop is not switching the discrete GPU (Intel HD) to dedicated GPU (the NVIDIA GeForce 840M).

 

Make sure that the computer runs the appropriate GPU (graphics card) when starting the game. Go to your Nvidia control panel.
There you can select the 3D Settings---> Individual Program settings. Look for the WOT program. (if you cant find it on the list use add function to add the icon from the desktop). Then set that the Nvdia GPU is used instead of power saving one.

 



j0kker_2014 #3 Posted 12 July 2018 - 05:23 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1534 battles
  • 18
  • [RIDF] RIDF
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014
I had it preset to use nvidia only, for both 3D settings and PsycX! Something isnt good. And i dont have a clue. Thinking to switch back to win7.

jack_timber #4 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:12 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33432 battles
  • 2,073
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Used to have an 840m in old laptop TBH it's not to good at playing WoT.

Try it with SD client and tweaking graphic settings.

Another thing to try is using Nvidia experience to adjust and launch WoT.

GL



j0kker_2014 #5 Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:17 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1534 battles
  • 18
  • [RIDF] RIDF
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014
Cant quite understanc since i used to play gta V and it was quite smooth. But wot is a disaster really! I love the game but i cant play it this way. Will try one more time tonight.

jack_timber #6 Posted 12 July 2018 - 08:49 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33432 battles
  • 2,073
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Yes it's a sod really....

Used to use Intel HD way back used to run WoT moderately good but as new updates came along had to upgrade.

When 1.0 came out 840m really struggled to maintain 30fps at absolutely min settings so upgraded again.

Now got a 1060, yes it's the price you have to pay WoT, never mind Pay 2 Win it's more of a case of Pay 2 Play.....



j0kker_2014 #7 Posted 12 July 2018 - 09:56 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1534 battles
  • 18
  • [RIDF] RIDF
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014
I have a laptop? Is that upgradble too?

Shuddnobetta #8 Posted 12 July 2018 - 10:42 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 8757 battles
  • 308
  • Member since:
    11-22-2012

View Postj0kker_2014, on 12 July 2018 - 08:56 PM, said:

I have a laptop? Is that upgradble too?

 

Other than ram or H/D.....probably not. Mebbes the processor if there's one a little quicker....Google the model of you lappy with "upgrades"....That'll tell you.

TsundereWaffle #9 Posted 12 July 2018 - 11:18 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 27169 battles
  • 11,016
  • [LEWD] LEWD
  • Member since:
    03-31-2013
Are your drivers up to date?

jack_timber #10 Posted 13 July 2018 - 06:31 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33432 battles
  • 2,073
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

View Postj0kker_2014, on 12 July 2018 - 08:56 PM, said:

I have a laptop? Is that upgradble too?

Did look at external GPU for my laptop but it was going to be expensive and no guarantees it would work.

So ditched in favour of desktop.

 



Venom7000 #11 Posted 13 July 2018 - 09:27 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 2128 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    03-10-2018

View Postjack_timber, on 12 July 2018 - 08:49 PM, said:

Yes it's a sod really....

Used to use Intel HD way back used to run WoT moderately good but as new updates came along had to upgrade.

When 1.0 came out 840m really struggled to maintain 30fps at absolutely min settings so upgraded again.

Now got a 1060, yes it's the price you have to pay WoT, never mind Pay 2 Win it's more of a case of Pay 2 Play.....

 

GPU regardless how weak it is should not cause the problems that OP is describing. I play on my Mac that has Intel 6300HD (which is much weaker than 840m). I maintain 60fps almost always (some dips are given)

j0kker_2014 #12 Posted 13 July 2018 - 12:39 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1534 battles
  • 18
  • [RIDF] RIDF
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014
Yeah, i think ill try the driver versions, as i read some versions cause dramatic fps drop. Cuz the graphics mhz are bouncing. And it couses fps drop. Working on that will replay how it goes :)

Ok, the thing is, with the lastest driver i low fps max 30. Now i went to nvidia's site and downloaded the first driver, so the oldest one on the list. Instaled, ran the game. And imidetly went to graphic settings and bum. The recomended graphics went to medium. And the game runs on medium with 50-60 fps wich is playable. And that is without tweaking the settings, will tweak some graphic seting and report again. So i think the problem is solved! Somebody can pin this for the other nvidia 840m users. Hope that helps. The driver version i installed is 388.71.

So the lastest driver doesnt alwways solve the problem. Not in my case at least.
 

mpf1959 #13 Posted 14 July 2018 - 10:12 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 15699 battles
  • 780
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-29-2017
Strange, my HP laptop is a core i5, on win 10, has 8 gig of ram, and only the intel graphics, it does have an ssd though. I run regularly at up to 70 fps on low. Your system appears to be better then mine, but I can get 20 on high, but it's juddery and I would sooner have better gameplay.

j0kker_2014 #14 Posted 14 July 2018 - 12:33 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 1534 battles
  • 18
  • [RIDF] RIDF
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014
Yeah, dunno. Its fine for now, lowered the resolution a bit. Runs on medium 40-50-60. So ill just leave it alone. Its all smooth :)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users