in-game-chat insults

• Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

Beoger #1 Posted 20 July 2018 - 01:30 PM

Private

• Player
  • 5807 battles
  • [D_WR] D_WR

I have been playing WoT for about three months now and I am already fed up with the way some players think they can communicate with their team mates.

The best thing are armchair generals, who have already been killed and use free their time to harangue the remaining players calling them stupid, noob, bot, tomato, idiot, moron, imbecile or any other word from their repertoire of flowery language. This is about as useful as pinging the map a hundred times expecting a different outcome with each click.

Ask yourself, how likely is the following scenario:
wannaBunicum: "YOU ******* MORON!!! L2P! 
lightredTomato: "Oh, I get it! I should go hull-down at the ridge on E4 and cover the advance of the others. wilco"
wannaBunicum: "deinstall the game ************* bot!!!1!"
lightredTomato: "Phew, Glad you told me I can only pen the O-I from the side before I got myself into trouble."
wannaBunicum: "****you - N00B!"
lightredTomato: "Why, thank you! I'm giving it my best shot if you'll excuse the pun"

I do realize that there can be frustrating moments when some guys camp their premium heavy tank at base or your only light tank got himself killed within the first 20 seconds of the game or your artillery hits a bit too close for comfort, but cussing won't help anybody. On the contrary, it will only distract your remaining team mates. Also, before cussing out anyone for their lack of skill, ask yourself: why are you already dead if you're so much better than the others in your team? And: could I instead give a useful hint that will help my team win?

PS: Does reporting do anything? Are there known cases of sanctions against someone for insulting other players?

Edited by Beoger, 20 July 2018 - 01:37 PM.

the_nebuchadnezzar #2 Posted 20 July 2018 - 01:32 PM

Second Lieutenant

• Player
  • 47822 battles
:popcorn: