Jump to content


Zoom issues


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

Askys #1 Posted 22 July 2018 - 08:12 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 9994 battles
  • 72
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011

Greetings

 

Just wondering if anyone else got issues with the game zooming in to ridiculous levels before going in to sniper mode if using the scroll wheel?

 

My zoom goes from all the way out to what feels like over the sniper modes 24x zoom, then it snaps back to the actual sniper modes 4x to 24x zoom.

 

Its quite annoying when you sit in sniper mode ~4x get shot from somewhere so scroll the mouse back to see around you and BAM! 4 pixels of the house infront of you fill the entire screen :c

 

Anyone got a fix? or is it one of these new ''Features''?

 

-Askys



Jigabachi #2 Posted 22 July 2018 - 08:25 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 17948 battles
  • 19,607
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-12-2011
Would you share a replay? Never heard of anything like that. And I always use the zoom key, using the wheel for all the zooming feels awkward...

Homer_J #3 Posted 22 July 2018 - 08:41 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 29705 battles
  • 31,448
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

I only ever use the scroll wheel and have never had that issue.

 

Do you have any mods installed?



250swb #4 Posted 22 July 2018 - 08:46 AM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 23160 battles
  • 5,272
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015
I use the Shift key for quick zooming and the scroll for refining the view, but I've never been able to scroll in further than the standard game options so no bug in my system. Maybe it's a mod, or perhaps the 'Shift' key for instant zoom has been assigned to another key that you are pressing?

Edited by 250swb, 22 July 2018 - 08:48 AM.


al_caprioni #5 Posted 22 July 2018 - 08:48 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 20907 battles
  • 98
  • Member since:
    11-28-2011
Is it when you zoom between buildings? It's a known bug. Got it too. My teamspeak buddy got it as well. We play without mods. Its been around sometime. Lost more than a few shootouts/games due to it. It's annoying

Edited by al_caprioni, 22 July 2018 - 08:50 AM.


Tkzkzar #6 Posted 28 July 2018 - 05:01 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9501 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    04-23-2011

I hop on that topic to say that I am also impacted by the zoom issue.

If I use the wheel to completely zoom, I end with a x150ish zoom without entering sniper mode.

 

This bug has been around for weeks now... No mods, reinstalled already.



divsmo #7 Posted 28 July 2018 - 05:29 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 33418 battles
  • 247
  • [BEXF] BEXF
  • Member since:
    07-08-2012
I had an issue about a year ago where i would try to use the scroll wheel to enter sniper mode and it would go straight to fully zoomed in then back to fully zoomed out in 3rd person mode when i tried to scroll out.
Turned out it was the logitech program that i had installed for my wireless mouse. I uninstalled it and haven't had any issues since.

PervyPastryPuffer #8 Posted 28 July 2018 - 07:49 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 31635 battles
  • 2,407
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostJigabachi, on 22 July 2018 - 08:25 AM, said:

I always use the zoom key, using the wheel for all the zooming feels awkward...

 

Using two seperate buttons for changing zoom feels awkwarder to me, kinda confuses my fingers. :amazed:

 

Scrolling feels more natural as the camera flows into the zoom you choose, and it's only one button, if you can even call the scrollwheel that.



Askys #9 Posted 29 July 2018 - 07:36 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 9994 battles
  • 72
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011
Looked at the Replays but it doesn't show there,

View PostTkzkzar, on 28 July 2018 - 04:01 PM, said:

I hop on that topic to say that I am also impacted by the zoom issue.

If I use the wheel to completely zoom, I end with a x150ish zoom without entering sniper mode.

 

This bug has been around for weeks now... No mods, reinstalled already.

 

Yea this :c

Mixmasta666 #10 Posted 14 September 2018 - 08:05 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 24698 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    06-16-2012

Has anyone found a solution to this? I got exactly the same problem, arcade zoom does not stop at 1x when scrolling in but goes in way further than even my sniper zoom in what feels like x25, x50 and x100 clicks. Yes, I can use shift to switch but accidentially scrolling in too far in arcade just lets me see the lice on the trees or stare at some random bit of ground in high magnification. Extremely disorientating.

Just came back to the game after not playing for a while and never had this before. Already tried playing with/without mods, repairing the installation, fullscreen or windowed, disabling Razer mouse software. None of those helped fix the issue.

 

UPDATE / SOLUTION: Delete the contents of '%appdata%\wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks'  in your user profile folder. I did never expect these settings to affect the game client in that way, but it fixed the problem for me when all other steps (including completely deleting the game folder and reinstalling) did not.

 


Edited by Mixmasta666, 16 September 2018 - 09:46 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users