Jump to content


Last to enter game most of the time


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

CremeFraiche #1 Posted 24 July 2018 - 07:21 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 24041 battles
  • 1,456
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

I just had a game on Cliff and when the load screen finally disappear I see that all of my team is well progressed in the middle (at the pier) and at other key positions.

I find this to happen quite a lot as of late, not this extreme as I described above but close.

 

I have no connectivity issues so that one can be ruled out.

Is it simply my computer getting "a bit" old and having problems keeping up?

 

Intel Core i5 2500K at 3.5Ghz

Memory 8 GBytes

Hard drives all mechanical

 

Would it be wise to buy a SSD and run the game from it?

Maybe play the SD client instead of HD?

 

Cheers

 



RamRaid90 #2 Posted 24 July 2018 - 07:29 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 21507 battles
  • 6,487
  • [D0NG] D0NG
  • Member since:
    12-14-2014

It is 100% your harddrive at fault.

 

When was the last time you defragged it?

 

I would look into investing in an SSD. They're cheap enough (or even a hybrid drive would offer a massive performance boost for a fraction of the cost) and you'llinstantly see loadtime inprovements. Playing SD could help, but all th esame loading is required so it wont make an enormous difference.



CremeFraiche #3 Posted 24 July 2018 - 07:33 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 24041 battles
  • 1,456
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

View PostRamRaid90, on 24 July 2018 - 06:29 PM, said:

It is 100% your harddrive at fault.

 

When was the last time you defragged it?

 

I would look into investing in an SSD. They're cheap enough (or even a hybrid drive would offer a massive performance boost for a fraction of the cost) and you'llinstantly see loadtime inprovements. Playing SD could help, but all th esame loading is required so it wont make an enormous difference.

 

Defragging is automated since Windows 7 (which I am running) I think, not too sure though.

Not sure if my old-school motherboard even supports SSD, need to check into it.

Thanks for the reply mate.

 



Dorander #4 Posted 24 July 2018 - 07:35 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 18196 battles
  • 2,765
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

After the 1.0 patch loading times significantly increased for me. It's far worse if you also use mods.

 

Moving WoT to an SSD drive helped immensely so if you can, do it.



RamRaid90 #5 Posted 24 July 2018 - 07:41 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 21507 battles
  • 6,487
  • [D0NG] D0NG
  • Member since:
    12-14-2014

View PostCremeFraiche, on 24 July 2018 - 06:33 PM, said:

 

Defragging is automated since Windows 7 (which I am running) I think, not too sure though.

Not sure if my old-school motherboard even supports SSD, need to check into it.

Thanks for the reply mate.

 

 

You connct an SSD using the same SATA connections as the hard drive for data transfer, there should be absolutely no problem. The power connections are also the same.

Edited by RamRaid90, 24 July 2018 - 07:42 PM.


nakkipeppu #6 Posted 24 July 2018 - 07:52 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31200 battles
  • 223
  • [LGGF] LGGF
  • Member since:
    04-10-2012

Purchasing a SSD drive is one of those things that makes you wonder how you managed before, and why you didn't do it earlier.

 

 



jack_timber #7 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:02 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 33432 battles
  • 2,076
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014
You only need a small SSD, 120 gig, is quite sufficient for WoT. If you decide to buy, say a 200+, you can install OS as well, this will speed up boot times.

Enforcer1975 #8 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:07 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 20760 battles
  • 10,863
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014
Get a SSD, they are affordable nowadays. Get at least 256GB but better 512GB for some future proofing if your budget allows it and look at the access times. 

Hellraiser0201 #9 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:14 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 23411 battles
  • 259
  • Member since:
    02-21-2013
I am not using SSD but my loading times are very fast, the same as before 1.0 so maybe you need to free up some space, run defrag or maybe check your CPU processes, high CPU usage can slow down loading significantly.

Balc0ra #10 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:25 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 66296 battles
  • 16,313
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

You said all drives. As in you have more than one? 

 

You moved it to a different one to see if it helps? It could be that the drive the game is on might be on its last legs. Tho HDD issue have plauged some for since patch 1.0. But if you got it just now, it could be the drive. That and I suspect you run with no mods? Just to rule that out too. 

 

View PostCremeFraiche, on 24 July 2018 - 07:33 PM, said:

Not sure if my old-school motherboard even supports SSD, need to check into it.

 

If it has SATA connectors. It most likely does. Even my win 95 PC with an SATA to IDE converter runs SSD on a board from 1997. 


Edited by Balc0ra, 24 July 2018 - 08:25 PM.


mystikro #11 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:27 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 30406 battles
  • 907
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    06-07-2011
You should get at least 250GB SSD. There is no point in going with less if you are upgrading anyways. Buy something good, like a Samsung 850 EVO, or an Intel.

Nishi_Kinuyo #12 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:34 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 7725 battles
  • 4,130
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

Either an SSD or an upgrade to Windows 10 I'd say.

A friend of mine runs his WoT off a 7.2k RPM HDD from 10 years ago with no problem.


Edited by Nishi_Kinuyo, 24 July 2018 - 08:34 PM.


AXIS_OF_RESISTANCE #13 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:37 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 338 battles
  • 198
  • Member since:
    12-21-2017

I got 100G SSD only for wot :facepalm:.just to stop the problem you described .

 


Edited by AXIS_OF_RESISTANCE, 24 July 2018 - 08:43 PM.


CremeFraiche #14 Posted 24 July 2018 - 08:45 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 24041 battles
  • 1,456
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

I am too lazy (incompetent it seems, I tried to delete a part of a quote and instantly I was part of the quote...) to multi quote but I have read all your posts so forgive me if  I do not answer you all individually :) 

 

So, it boils down to:

1 - Get a SSD drive.

2 - 1.0 patch / version issue.

 

I lean towards option 2 as this loading issue is fairly recent for me.

As for multiple hard drives, I have a RAID 0 setup for my OS, programs and games and some non-RAID HDD's for storage.

if one drive fails in a RAID 0 setup, all fails, so no slowly degenerating performance issue here I believe.

 

Solution, I might as well buy a SSD and use it for a future build.

 

Thanks for the help guys, much appreciated!



LCpl_Jones #15 Posted 24 July 2018 - 09:27 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9770 battles
  • 714
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    06-17-2017

View PostCremeFraiche, on 24 July 2018 - 07:33 PM, said:

 

Defragging is automated since Windows 7......

 

 

but the windows defragging is *edited*

 

try defraggler to defrag and enjoy speedy loading again

 

 


Edited by NickMustaine, 25 July 2018 - 08:59 AM.
Inappropriate remarks


Browarszky #16 Posted 24 July 2018 - 09:37 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 16096 battles
  • 3,737
  • [I-S-L] I-S-L
  • Member since:
    12-03-2013

View PostLCpl_Jones, on 24 July 2018 - 08:27 PM, said:

 

but the windows defragging is *edited*

 

try defraggler to defrag and enjoy speedy loading again

 

 

 

^ This. I second that suggestion. I'm using Smart Defrag 5 myself, free and very handy.

Private_Pearts #17 Posted 24 July 2018 - 09:39 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 22040 battles
  • 526
  • [WOPR] WOPR
  • Member since:
    02-24-2015
When I switch to an SSD I'm always waiting for the timer to start counting down.

Nishi_Kinuyo #18 Posted 24 July 2018 - 09:40 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 7725 battles
  • 4,130
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

View PostLCpl_Jones, on 24 July 2018 - 09:27 PM, said:

 

but the windows defragging is*edited*

 

try defraggler to defrag and enjoy speedy loading again

 

 

And that did absolutely nothing in my case.

Except wasting like a week of my time.



Murro_the_One #19 Posted 24 July 2018 - 09:41 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 33242 battles
  • 1,335
  • Member since:
    11-07-2013
WG spaghetti code, your computer is OK

Browarszky #20 Posted 24 July 2018 - 09:48 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 16096 battles
  • 3,737
  • [I-S-L] I-S-L
  • Member since:
    12-03-2013

View PostPrivate_Pearts, on 24 July 2018 - 08:39 PM, said:

When I switch to an SSD I'm always waiting for the timer to start counting down.

 

I seriously think with an SSD the counter slows down.. it feels like it's taking an eternity for the battle start.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users