Jump to content


Tanks with ongoing research should not be able to convert XP


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

MrKane #1 Posted 26 July 2018 - 04:34 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 42440 battles
  • 25
  • [FA-1] FA-1
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011

I learned the expensive way that a Object 430 Version II that had 130k+ XP on it was taken into the pool of XP to convert.

 

This should not be possible in my opinion. Only tanks that have research the next level should be possible to convert their XP to free XP.

 

What do you others think?



Sfinski #2 Posted 26 July 2018 - 04:36 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 31704 battles
  • 2,615
  • [-PJ-] -PJ-
  • Member since:
    09-26-2013
No.

WoT_RU_Doing #3 Posted 26 July 2018 - 04:58 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 46134 battles
  • 1,040
  • [-GY-] -GY-
  • Member since:
    07-20-2013

First, contact Customer Services to see if they can convert it back for you.

 

As for what do I think....

It is necessary. Recently there have been 3 tanks I have seen like this...the Ru251, Obj 430 II and the T-10. In all cases it had to be done because the tech tree re-shuffles meant that tanks which were already elite for some players were moved and now had an additional tank after them. Some players would want to convert the XP and ignore the new tank, others would want to grind. So, what is wrong?....

For the Ru251, by default the convert XP for gold option was not selected, so you would not convert it by accident.

For the Obj 430 II and T-10, the conversion box was selected by default, so you COULD convert it by accident....THAT is what they need to correct now/in future.

shot_052.jpg

Edit - note that in this screenshot, I had manually unselected the Obj and T-10, but not the Ru251, which by default was never selected


 


Edited by WoT_RU_Doing, 26 July 2018 - 04:59 PM.


VerticalBird_ #4 Posted 26 July 2018 - 04:59 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 24615 battles
  • 124
  • [RSOP] RSOP
  • Member since:
    03-12-2013

View PostMrKane, on 26 July 2018 - 03:34 PM, said:

I learned the expensive way that a Object 430 Version II that had 130k+ XP on it was taken into the pool of XP to convert.

 

This should not be possible in my opinion. Only tanks that have research the next level should be possible to convert their XP to free XP.

 

What do you others think?

 

Well, usually it is not possible since only tanks that are elite (have all the modules and next vehicles researched) are able to convert xp to free xp. But I guess you already had 430v2 back in the day and had it elited back then so it won't be removed. Think about the players that just wanted to keep the 430v2 and not get the K-91 at all when it was introduced, they would have still needed to research K-91 without getting accelerated crew training on 430v2.

Dorander #5 Posted 26 July 2018 - 05:06 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 18185 battles
  • 2,731
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012

I think you are correct and as far as I know this is how it works.

 

VertiBird is probably right that the reason is the addition of the tier 10 caused it to still count as elite even though it wouldn't have been otherwise.



Nethraniel #6 Posted 26 July 2018 - 05:10 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 13222 battles
  • 2,011
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

View PostWoT_RU_Doing, on 26 July 2018 - 04:58 PM, said:

First, contact Customer Services to see if they can convert it back for you.

 

As for what do I think....

It is necessary. Recently there have been 3 tanks I have seen like this...the Ru251, Obj 430 II and the T-10. In all cases it had to be done because the tech tree re-shuffles meant that tanks which were already elite for some players were moved and now had an additional tank after them. Some players would want to convert the XP and ignore the new tank, others would want to grind. So, what is wrong?....

For the Ru251, by default the convert XP for gold option was not selected, so you would not convert it by accident.

For the Obj 430 II and T-10, the conversion box was selected by default, so you COULD convert it by accident....THAT is what they need to correct now/in future.

shot_052.jpg

Edit - note that in this screenshot, I had manually unselected the Obj and T-10, but not the Ru251, which by default was never selected


 

 

Exactly. By default, 'elite' tanks, that got a new tank to research in the tree, and thus can gather new xp for the new tank, are deselected in the conversion window. So, you have to mark them actively for converting.

Cobra6 #7 Posted 27 July 2018 - 08:54 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 16332 battles
  • 15,768
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    09-17-2010

They should indeed not, this however is a remnant of these tanks being in a different tree or tier before.

 

Once a tank moves tier/tree and is no longer top of the branch, XP conversion should be locked off until the tank is fully elited again.

 

Cobra 6



Cannes76 #8 Posted 27 July 2018 - 11:40 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 66514 battles
  • 1,725
  • [ORIGN] ORIGN
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
Look closely before you click the button, next time.

Aimless #9 Posted 27 July 2018 - 11:48 AM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 23443 battles
  • 2,576
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-19-2010
Those tanks can be easily detected. Why block others' needs who actually check and think before they press the OK button just because others don't want to?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users