Jump to content


Bought new laptop = frame rates all over the place!

FPS drops constantly

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Vela_ZG #1 Posted 28 July 2018 - 02:48 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23572 battles
  • 507
  • [CBS87] CBS87
  • Member since:
    10-09-2013

I did my homework before I decided to post here, so please read and help! Yesterday I bought an ASUS Scar2 laptop... I have installed WOT on M.2 SSD read 2.5 Gb/s, write 1.2 Gb/s, game starts very quickly, no problems entering the battle, always before the counter. Processor is I7 8750h, yesterday I did a CPU-Z bench test and it's fith overall 12 thread processor on their list! So the CPU is more than great. Graphics card is GTX 1060 6Gb, no problems there. I repasted the CPU and GPU with Thermal Grizzly Kryonaught without breaking the waranty seal and temperatures are between 64-70°C on full load. This laptop is amazing! Really amazing! CPU clock hovers around 3.9 GHz and spikes to 4.1 GHz, GPU clock spikes to 1.85 GHz. The reason I repasted it was I thought it was throttling at 81°C on GPU, but it turns out it wasn't! I closed the intake ports for it's cooling fans and got the GPU to 86°C an it still wasn't throttling. So please tell me what could be the reason for this huge FPS fluctuation? It runs at around 110-130 FPS on Ultra setings, and regulary drops to low 20's and then spykes up back again to 110-ish! It does this almost constantly. And this happens at two different IP addresses with good connection this one is 100 Mbps down 15Mbps up, 7ms ping, connected via LAN in both cases, and I'm the only one connected. Ping in game is around 30-40ms How can I have differences of around 100FPS every second? What could be causing this? Thanks!

EDIT: I tried disabling the sound - no difference.

When I connect the laptop to an older 60Hz 1080p IPS monitor, frames never exceed 60, never. But they still drop to low 20's. For example: When frames drop to 30-35 the game is unplayable, and before, when I played on an older laptop, I would be happy with 35 FPS and the game would run smooth in that framerate. Could all this be server related? Ping light regulary turns red.


Edited by Vela_ZG, 28 July 2018 - 03:16 PM.


Trostani #2 Posted 28 July 2018 - 03:26 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 45130 battles
  • 983
  • [TDSTX] TDSTX
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

1) Which router model are you using? Is it based on Intel Puma 6/7 chipset?

2) Any mods installed?



Vela_ZG #3 Posted 28 July 2018 - 05:37 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23572 battles
  • 507
  • [CBS87] CBS87
  • Member since:
    10-09-2013

This router here is this one: https://wikidevi.com...TC7200_(Thomson) Broadcom

I have no mods installed. I've been reading about similar problems here and there's a possibility that my CPU is bottlenecking because WOT runs on one core... What do you think?



Vela_ZG #4 Posted 28 July 2018 - 07:25 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23572 battles
  • 507
  • [CBS87] CBS87
  • Member since:
    10-09-2013
Look at the resources monitor CPU graph... you can see exactly when it starts happening. Any ideas?

Attached Files

  • Attached File   2018-07-28 (3).png   90.05K
  • Attached File   Raised 10mm.gif   19.85K

Edited by Vela_ZG, 28 July 2018 - 11:35 PM.


_Patrol #5 Posted 29 July 2018 - 12:18 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Community Contributor
  • 38216 battles
  • 30,219
  • [_COM] _COM
  • Member since:
    03-07-2011

How to set a default graphics card.

Setting "Power management mode" from Adaptive to Maximum Performance

 



Vela_ZG #6 Posted 29 July 2018 - 08:39 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23572 battles
  • 507
  • [CBS87] CBS87
  • Member since:
    10-09-2013
I did all of those basic things. Thanks tho! After much headbanging I'm pretty sure that the problem is in a faulty/underpowered PSU! Everything works perfectly for a short while, and then it starts "switching" as you can see on this gpu-z graph. Its not the thermals, at least it shouldn't be at those temps.So it turns out it's not the game after all. Faith restored. ;)

_Patrol #7 Posted 29 July 2018 - 02:29 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Community Contributor
  • 38216 battles
  • 30,219
  • [_COM] _COM
  • Member since:
    03-07-2011
How to enable ultimate performance powerplan ->https://www.thewindowsclub.com/ultimate-performance-power-plan




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users