• This topic is locked This topic is locked
189 replies to this topic

jabster #41 Posted 10 August 2018 - 11:40 AM

Field Marshal

• Beta Tester
  • 12649 battles
  • [WSAT] WSAT

View Postduijm, on 10 August 2018 - 10:29 AM, said:

Correct but maybe it will be allowed now to use divisional symbols on the tanks?  

I’m no expert on German law but I believed that it was only certain divisional symbols that would be problematic? 

Geno1isme #42 Posted 10 August 2018 - 11:42 AM

Field Marshal

• Player
  • 46942 battles
  • [TRYIT] TRYIT

View PostBrowarszky, on 10 August 2018 - 12:13 PM, said:

Well, that is true, so it might never work. On the other hand, WoT does incorporate some historical factors like the 'ongoing' Battle of Kursk. But I grant you that mostly WoT is all about entertainment. I would, however, also claim that entertainment rather than history lessons is the prime reason why people play Wolfenstein. Or watch movies, for that matter, with the sole exception of documentaries.

Sure, but that's not the point. The reason why Nazi symbols are generally outlawed in Germany is so they cannot be used to promote fascism. Movies and now games showing them like Iron Sky or Inglorious Bastards are usually not favoring Nazi Germany, that's why they are allowed there. As WoT doesn't have any narrative it would be up to players to make up their own stories, which doesn't fly well with German legislation in that area.

Another aspect is the target audience: Wolfenstein has a different age rating than World of Tanks, targeting adults while WoT is also targeted at teens. Which plays a massive role for the USK, as teens are far more susceptible for subconcious manipulation. And WG certainly won't change the age rating just to include a few symbols.

Comrade_Renamon #43 Posted 10 August 2018 - 11:47 AM

Warrant Officer

• Player
  • 10314 battles

View Postduijm, on 10 August 2018 - 10:26 AM, said:

And how about Russian warcrimes, Allied warcrimes etc