Jump to content


New battle countdown


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

GreatSuprendo #1 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:03 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 21506 battles
  • 31
  • Member since:
    09-13-2014

First the positive:

Being able to press 'N' to see my active missions is great - something I've wanted for ages so big thumbs up there.

 

But then the negative:

I don't need a huge pop up reminder each battle that tells me to press N.  Please tell me this will go away after a certain number of battles?

And the new countdown timer makes me feel physically ill for some reason.  Can we please have an option to revert to the old simple timer without the enormous mission banner?  I don't run with any mods, but I'd actually install one to get rid of this.



Balc0ra #2 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:05 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 65764 battles
  • 16,016
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

"N" remark goes away after a bit. 

 

And if you press "V"... the countdown goes away. 



Homer_J #3 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:07 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28206 battles
  • 29,458
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

I don't have a problem with the timer and I hope the press N nannying popup will stop soon, but why did they tint the top third of the screen and add that massive graphic in the middle.

 

I like to have a look around at where my team mates are, and with the new maps it would be nice to see how the land lies but with most of the screen obscured or dimmed it's virtually impossible.

 

Somebody come in and tell me there's an option to turn it all off (without mods) please.



MaxxyNL #4 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:15 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 11345 battles
  • 970
  • Member since:
    04-05-2013
1st World problems. :P

Balc0ra #5 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:19 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 65764 battles
  • 16,016
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 29 August 2018 - 08:07 PM, said:

Somebody come in and tell me there's an option to turn it all off (without mods) please.

 

Press "V". You lose the tank symbols above the tanks. But you get the lay of the land then at least.  

Homer_J #6 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:26 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28206 battles
  • 29,458
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostBalc0ra, on 29 August 2018 - 08:19 PM, said:

 

Press "V". You lose the tank symbols above the tanks. But you get the lay of the land then at least.  

 

So the answer is to turn off the whole HUD.  I was hoping for something more straight forward and permanent.

Balc0ra #7 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:41 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 65764 battles
  • 16,016
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 29 August 2018 - 08:26 PM, said:

 

So the answer is to turn off the whole HUD.  I was hoping for something more straight forward and permanent.

 

I can't see any setting for it etc. So I suspect it is for now. As the 2nd solution would be to find the file the shadow is in and simply replace it with a mod tool. 

zerosumgame #8 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:42 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 46277 battles
  • 960
  • [-PJ-] -PJ-
  • Member since:
    10-11-2011
I don't like the new battle timer either, my OCD kicks in when it sometimes skips numbers.

Homer_J #9 Posted 29 August 2018 - 08:42 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28206 battles
  • 29,458
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
I'd rather not use a mod, mainly because I'm lazy.
19:43 Added after 0 minutes

View Postzerosumgame, on 29 August 2018 - 08:42 PM, said:

I don't like the new battle timer either, my OCD kicks in when it sometimes skips numbers.

 

The old one did that on my potato laptop.

lgfrbcsgo #10 Posted 29 August 2018 - 09:09 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 30209 battles
  • 1,006
  • [MOTIV] MOTIV
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

I managed to remove the gradient at the top of the screen. It's a huge improvement IMO. I am, however, not skilled enough to replicate the old countdown.

 

https://wgmods.net/2006 (has to be approved first)

 

  



wsatnutter #11 Posted 29 August 2018 - 09:13 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Beta Tester
  • 24724 battles
  • 7,440
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    08-25-2010
I like the countdown  so there  cos I'm myopic :D

Homer_J #12 Posted 29 August 2018 - 09:14 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28206 battles
  • 29,458
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postlgfrbcsgo, on 29 August 2018 - 09:09 PM, said:

I managed to remove the gradient at the top of the screen. It's a huge improvement IMO.   

It is.

 

View Postwsatnutter, on 29 August 2018 - 09:13 PM, said:

I like the countdown  so there  cos I'm myopic :D

The countdown is fine, although I don;t understand why they make the numbers so big then half cover them up.  It's the rest of the clutter that I have a problem with.

 

Though I notice the screenshot above doesn't have as much gumph as mine did today.


Edited by Homer_J, 29 August 2018 - 09:16 PM.


lgfrbcsgo #13 Posted 29 August 2018 - 09:17 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 30209 battles
  • 1,006
  • [MOTIV] MOTIV
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012

View Postlgfrbcsgo, on 29 August 2018 - 09:09 PM, said:

https://wgmods.net/2006 (has to be approved first)

 

Since it can take a while until WG approves the mod: https://drive.google...YkwWLZOPtaETsdE



Homer_J #14 Posted 29 August 2018 - 10:33 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 28206 battles
  • 29,458
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

I found a solution.

 

Play on my laptop running the game from HDD instead of USB SSD and the countdown timer is no longer an issue.



PervyPastryPuffer #15 Posted 29 August 2018 - 11:19 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 30401 battles
  • 1,583
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

They also shove the alternative aiming mode for arty key "G" in your face every time you take aim for the first few battles.

 

Bet they did the same with the siege mode swedes and their "X" key but I haven't played them today...



Kommandant_Mia #16 Posted 30 August 2018 - 04:28 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 902 battles
  • 125
  • Member since:
    08-27-2011
N goes away,  the rest you need to live with. It's a countdown,  why care.

Jigabachi #17 Posted 30 August 2018 - 10:05 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 17923 battles
  • 18,885
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-12-2011

View Postlgfrbcsgo, on 29 August 2018 - 09:09 PM, said:

I managed to remove the gradient at the top of the screen. It's a huge improvement IMO. I am, however, not skilled enough to replicate the old countdown.

 

https://wgmods.net/2006 (has to be approved first)

Spoiler

 

According to the previous posts, I expected a completely clogged screen with a huge graphic with tanks and female crewmembers. If that's how it looks now, I don'T get why anyone would make such a huge fuss about it...

 

btw: Never advise players to press "V". Never.

Remember that all kinds of players can read this forum, including those that would only press that button once...


Edited by Jigabachi, 30 August 2018 - 10:06 AM.


Dr_Blackshark #18 Posted 30 August 2018 - 10:07 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 10410 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    08-29-2015

Also, did you know that you can CONFIGURE THE IMAGE BRIGHTNESS AND CONTRAST IN THE GRAPHICS SETTINGS? :D

 


Edited by Dr_Blackshark, 30 August 2018 - 10:28 AM.


Tiddy #19 Posted 30 August 2018 - 11:37 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 22612 battles
  • 58
  • Member since:
    03-21-2011

I guess it's part of their new UI Elements. Big fat numbers, buttons that induce claustrophobia. :D

I know it's really not that big of a deal but it's part of a chain of really bad design choices recently and the pile is getting bigger and bigger.



CmdRatScabies #20 Posted 30 August 2018 - 11:42 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 36895 battles
  • 4,059
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    10-12-2015

View PostTiddy, on 30 August 2018 - 11:37 AM, said:

I guess it's part of their new UI Elements. Big fat numbers, buttons that induce claustrophobia. :D

I know it's really not that big of a deal but it's part of a chain of really bad design choices recently and the pile is getting bigger and bigger.

 

I think they said the Tech Tree is next for "improvement".




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users