Why are LT players obsessed with brawling?

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

PowJay #1 Posted 07 September 2018 - 01:23 PM

Brigadier

• Player
  • 35446 battles

Let me start by saying that YES, I KNOW that I am not too good in LTs. Not that I am especially good in any tank. I do at least TRY to do what I can to do as much as I can to spot, damage and kill the enemies wherever I can. I am not always successful. However, there is one thing that I always try to do in LTs (those that have at least traditionally had scout MM) and that is SCOUT.

In the past, we had to endure the Pz38na on the way to the Tiger 1 and you would suddenly find yourself facing tier VIII tanks with a tier IV LT on your second or third day of playing. I can understand that this was a bit of a shock, as it was to me. Back then, it was not at all unusual to see a new (or total noob) player sitting at the back trying to snipe tier VIII heavies from a distance.

Two great changes to LTs seem to have brought about a total change in LT gameplay. These are full light-tank lines, and the introduction of normal MM with tier X LTs. This does, however, beg the question why- if LTs now go all the way to tier X- do players buy LTs and play them like TDs or HTs?

I have over 27% of my battles in TDs. Despite trying to pimp these out with commanders with Recon and Situational Awareness, and fitting binoculars, there are still times when I am going to be significantly reliant on allies for spotting. I can't say that I am impressed when I find two or three of our LTs brawling in the north on El Halluf, sitting on the hill on Prokhorovka and generally camping behind everyone else looking for pot-shot opportunities.

First and foremost, on any (open) map, the very first thing I try to do is scout. Clearly there are maps that make this a more successful endeavour than others, and clearly I don't appear to be very good at it, but I TRY.