New to API Manipulation - HALP!

new API WoT Help

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

iAmEbola #1 Posted 14 November 2018 - 01:46 PM

Private

• Player
  • 186 battles

As the title says, I am new to API access and manipulation.  I honestly have no idea on how to get started or where to go to learn.  The "Getting Started" guide is not written for someone that has zero clue as what they are doing.  So I need someone with the patience to give me a step by step procedure on how to get started.

Do I need a server domain if I am planning to pull data and then apply formulas for different aspects like the WN8 team does over at WotLabs.net?

I literally have no idea on how to get started, but it is something I want to learn.  I am familiar with several different computer languages, but it has been years since I've used any of them.  Any help would be wonderful.

Thank you.

Geno1isme #2 Posted 14 November 2018 - 02:06 PM

General

• Player
  • 44028 battles
  • [TRYIT] TRYIT

To start: What is your goal?

First thing you need is to register an API key (a license basically) in the WG dev room, for starters of the "mobile" variant (so you're not bound to a specific IP)

The API itself is using HTTP and JSON, so you should be somewhat familiar how to make HTTP requests in whatever programming language you want to use and how to process JSON data (many languages have specific modules or third-party libraries for that). If you want to use python for example there is even a package specifically for the WG API: https://github.com/s...ython-wargaming (don't know how complete or up-to-date it is)

Possibly similar modules exist for other languages.

Then it's mostly a matter to identify what data you actually want/need from the API. In the WG dev room you have the API explorer to experiment with the different endpoints and parameters.