Fixing the Matchmaker

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

cheapbooks_USA #1 Posted 29 December 2018 - 11:10 AM

Private

• Player
  • 250 battles

I am a computer programmer so I came up with an algorithm to fix the matchmaker. My algorithm creates a matchmaker based on a scoring system of the technical specifications of each tank, and I think is the most fair matchmaking system as compared to the current tier based system.

BravelyRanAway #2 Posted 29 December 2018 - 11:45 AM

Field Marshal

• Beta Tester
  • 23167 battles
  • [H_I_T] H_I_T

I understand what you're trying to do, which is make a fair MM.

You mention that two versions of the same tank can be different because of stock guns, engines etc, so therefore your system would take this into account and reduce that weaker tanks value and place it in an easier MM.

It sounds great......but......WoT is a business and a F2P one at that. In F2P games if a company wants to open wallets(usually they do), they build in something that will make the player (who may have little patience) open their wallet to skip a module or tank.......that is the reason for stock modules and intermediate ones.

Do you not think that your system would take away the incentive for players to open their wallets? I'm not against your system, but looking at it from a business point of view it would reduce income and when a company like WG has many overheads with staff and offices around the world they may not like your idea.....and I could understand why.

You're coming at it from a strictly players point of view to make a fair MM and not a business one. So, how do you square that circle? 

Homer_J #3 Posted 29 December 2018 - 11:45 AM

Field Marshal

• Beta Tester
  • 30191 battles
  • [WJDE] WJDE

View Postcheapbooks_USA, on 29 December 2018 - 10:10 AM, said: