Jump to content


WG's multi-threading and my 2-core 4-thread i3...a question:

Performance

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

NekoPuffer_PPP #1 Posted 29 December 2018 - 02:02 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 34114 battles
  • 3,985
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

I have this exact CPU: https://pcpartpicker.com/product/hYrcCJ/intel-cpu-bx80646i34170

 

So, it can use Hyper-threading as you can see...that's the same thing as multi-threading, ain't it?

 

It says it's got 2 cores and 4 threads, so that would mean it will be able to use both cores, each with 2 threads for a total of 4, and it will increase performance, right?

 

 

WG, hurry up with the implementation of this feature! I get frame drops and high CPU usage on the new maps (Minsk, Studzianki, Province), they seem to be poorly optimized for CPU usage compared to the HD'd maps from 1.0.



Laatikkomafia #2 Posted 29 December 2018 - 02:26 PM

    Major General

  • Beta Tester
  • 23265 battles
  • 5,091
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    12-27-2010

Optimizing game doesn't bring money.

 

New premium tanks does.

 

Guess what is more important to WG?



Crashzi #3 Posted 29 December 2018 - 07:05 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 6778 battles
  • 172
  • Member since:
    12-09-2016
lol WG carring about players experience that's why they force us to use premium

CrazyLovex #4 Posted 29 December 2018 - 09:41 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21714 battles
  • 364
  • Member since:
    07-20-2013

i3 bro..

I'm not doing the elitest thing at all, I'm just saying 2018/19 and i3..??

 

.. Meet Games Devs half way ..

Even a Sandybrige i5 will help ya .. Alot, that's what I use and a 6Gb gpu, but a 2Gb or 3Gb gpu would probably be fine...

 


Edited by CrazyLovex, 29 December 2018 - 09:50 PM.


NekoPuffer_PPP #5 Posted 29 December 2018 - 10:21 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 34114 battles
  • 3,985
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostCrazyLovex, on 29 December 2018 - 09:41 PM, said:

i3 bro..

I'm not doing the elitest thing at all, I'm just saying 2018/19 and i3..??

 

.. Meet Games Devs half way ..

Even a Sandybrige i5 will help ya .. Alot, that's what I use and a 6Gb gpu, but a 2Gb or 3Gb gpu would probably be fine...

 

It's 4th gen, far from new, but I got no complaints about it. :)



Bulanskovich #6 Posted 29 December 2018 - 10:59 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 20949 battles
  • 176
  • [RO-SE] RO-SE
  • Member since:
    10-02-2011

Hyperthreading basically means it will have 2 addition "virtual" cores to call it that. But they are not as efficient as a regular core.

 

It will help, not as much as a true quad core but better than just two cores.



DeadLecter #7 Posted 29 December 2018 - 11:44 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 32223 battles
  • 1,752
  • Member since:
    05-28-2016
I have the same CPU with 750 ti 2 GB and 8 GB ram. It runs fine most of the time except some of the new maps. I mean I can't complain, my PC belongs to stone age era. And atm no budget for an upgrade either. I gotta buy a whole new PC this thing is so old 

FatigueGalaxy #8 Posted 30 December 2018 - 01:57 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 21678 battles
  • 2,313
  • [SPIKE] SPIKE
  • Member since:
    02-09-2011

View PostCrazyLovex, on 29 December 2018 - 09:41 PM, said:

i3 bro..

I'm not doing the elitest thing at all, I'm just saying 2018/19 and i3..??

 

.. Meet Games Devs half way ..

Even a Sandybrige i5 will help ya .. Alot, that's what I use and a 6Gb gpu, but a 2Gb or 3Gb gpu would probably be fine...

 

 

I run WoT on Pentium 4600 with super-solid 60 fps, no drops or stutters, even on new maps and in battles with hordes of Pz IC (lots of low tier autocannons - probably the best way to test your performance). HD client, graphics set at max, except a few performance-hungry options that barely make visual difference (motion blur, etc.).

Of course, nothing except internet browser, steam and music player runs in the background. So i3 is more than enough for WoT, unless you are aiming at higher frame rate than 60 fps and/or higher resolution than 1080p.



DeadLecter #9 Posted 30 December 2018 - 08:47 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 32223 battles
  • 1,752
  • Member since:
    05-28-2016

View PostFatigueGalaxy, on 30 December 2018 - 04:27 AM, said:

 

I run WoT on Pentium 4600 with super-solid 60 fps, no drops or stutters, even on new maps and in battles with hordes of Pz IC (lots of low tier autocannons - probably the best way to test your performance). HD client, graphics set at max, except a few performance-hungry options that barely make visual difference (motion blur, etc.).

Of course, nothing except internet browser, steam and music player runs in the background. So i3 is more than enough for WoT, unless you are aiming at higher frame rate than 60 fps and/or higher resolution than 1080p.

 

I don't think WoT relies that much on CPU. It's your GPU that makes the difference. What graphics card do you use?

SpartA_1ah1 #10 Posted 30 December 2018 - 08:58 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 23144 battles
  • 181
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014

I think it will increase your pc performance

 

Side note what about my cpu (18 Cores/36 Threads) i hope at least 8 cores will work,



Sharp1903 #11 Posted 30 December 2018 - 09:05 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 40012 battles
  • 2,434
  • Member since:
    01-10-2014

View PostSpartA_1ah1, on 30 December 2018 - 10:58 AM, said:

I think it will increase your pc performance

 

Side note what about my cpu (18 Cores/36 Threads) i hope at least 8 cores will work,

 

You should rent other cores :trollface:

ZeroFortyOne #12 Posted 30 December 2018 - 10:16 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 0 battles
  • 28
  • Member since:
    10-31-2018

Hello Commanders,

 

Your topic was moved from Gameplay to Tech Corner. This way the topic can get more attention and someone could have similar issue, which can lead to solving the unfortunate problem.

 

Keep on grinding and have fun while playing.



Joggaman #13 Posted 30 December 2018 - 11:18 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 25230 battles
  • 6,923
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-23-2011

View PostZeroFortyOne, on 30 December 2018 - 10:16 AM, said:

Hello Commanders,

 

Your topic was moved from Gameplay to Tech Corner. This way the topic can get more attention and someone could have similar issue, which can lead to solving the unfortunate problem.

 

Keep on grinding and have fun while playing.

 

...more attention... I don't think so. 

...solving the unfortunate problem... There wasn't any. 

 

Please read before jumping into action, good Sir. 

 

Happy new year!







Also tagged with Performance

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users