Jump to content


Arty aim under obstacle impossible?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

smor #1 Posted 04 January 2019 - 03:03 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 32631 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-30-2011

Earlier this was possible, to aim and shoot enemy that is under some obstacle (eg. hangar roofs in Pilsen) using that alternative aiming by pressing "G" ,

but now (noticed that few weeks ago) it is impossible to do that. Aim snaps to surface directly above desired aiming spot. At angle of 90 deg. Arty shells don't fall at that angle..

Is this a bug?



gpalsson #2 Posted 04 January 2019 - 03:08 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 24508 battles
  • 8,965
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    04-13-2013
my heart bleeds for you.

wEight_Tanker #3 Posted 04 January 2019 - 03:14 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 10707 battles
  • 1,156
  • [VI90M] VI90M
  • Member since:
    11-13-2016
Aiming in "G" or normal makes no difference in where you aim at.

OreH75 #4 Posted 04 January 2019 - 03:16 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 52795 battles
  • 2,864
  • [-NARF] -NARF
  • Member since:
    05-29-2013
Justice, RNG prevents normal tanks to hit each other point blank range so why should arty be able to lob a shell through a small window/door or any other gap in a building?

BlackBloodBandit #5 Posted 04 January 2019 - 03:52 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6246 battles
  • 756
  • Member since:
    12-23-2018

View PostwEight_Tanker, on 04 January 2019 - 03:14 PM, said:

Aiming in "G" or normal makes no difference in where you aim at.

it does.. OP is right. I noticed it on the hangars as well and on the east side of Glacier. it is complete utter nonsense that you can't hit over there, while it was possible in the past. especially on Pilsen, arty is about useless to help their allies, except for fighting absolute dumb players.



Sirebellus #6 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:08 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 22991 battles
  • 1,051
  • Member since:
    02-04-2016
The 'Battle Assistant' mod (from wotinspector.com) is a much better arty aim than the WG one, and does not suffer this new restriction - you can still shoot into the hangars on Pilsen and under the overhang on Glacier

BlackBloodBandit #7 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:11 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6246 battles
  • 756
  • Member since:
    12-23-2018

View PostOreH75, on 04 January 2019 - 03:16 PM, said:

Justice, RNG prevents normal tanks to hit each other point blank range so why should arty be able to lob a shell through a small window/door or any other gap in a building?

This is nonsense, because there are more then enough obstacles you can shoot through in cities etc. The fact that you don't know about them, tells more about your inexperience.. even after 49k battles



Love_Thy_Arty #8 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:12 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 88848 battles
  • 190
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostOreH75, on 04 January 2019 - 03:16 PM, said:

Justice, RNG prevents normal tanks to hit each other point blank range so why should arty be able to lob a shell through a small window/door or any other gap in a building?

 

Justice? Err... how about no? Not sure what RNG has to do with anything, but why shoot trough holes or gaps? Why indeed? Well, there is this thing called trajectory. Maybe you have heard of it?

This is just another fook up in a long line of fook ups from WG. Don't really believe they will fix it either.

WoT_RU_Doing #9 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:14 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 57768 battles
  • 3,342
  • [-GY-] -GY-
  • Member since:
    07-20-2013

View Postsmor, on 04 January 2019 - 02:03 PM, said:

Earlier this was possible, to aim and shoot enemy that is under some obstacle (eg. hangar roofs in Pilsen) using that alternative aiming by pressing "G" ,

but now (noticed that few weeks ago) it is impossible to do that. Aim snaps to surface directly above desired aiming spot. At angle of 90 deg. Arty shells don't fall at that angle..

Is this a bug?

 

Actually it's been broken and reported repeatedly in the bug reports section since 1.3. If you managed to aim at some of the few places that it still worked and not noitice til last week, lucky you. I know in the meantime it's cost a few games where my shot just cannot be aimed at the enemy tank in the final engagement.
15:16 Added after 2 minutes

View PostBlackBloodBandit, on 04 January 2019 - 03:11 PM, said:

This is nonsense, because there are more then enough obstacles you can shoot through in cities etc. The fact that you don't know about them, tells more about your inexperience.. even after 49k battles

 

We're not talking about small gaps here. but even massive objects like the Zeppelin on Redshire, and the fort on El Hallouf

OreH75 #10 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:17 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 52795 battles
  • 2,864
  • [-NARF] -NARF
  • Member since:
    05-29-2013

View PostBlackBloodBandit, on 04 January 2019 - 04:11 PM, said:

This is nonsense, because there are more then enough obstacles you can shoot through in cities etc. The fact that you don't know about them, tells more about your inexperience.. even after 49k battles

 

If you mean inexperience with arty that is completely true. I only play that despicable class for to the personal missions.

jack_timber #11 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:41 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 40279 battles
  • 3,237
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Yes 1.3 update is the culprit, it was also 'introduced' on CT.

Hopefully it will be sorted soon.



BlackBloodBandit #12 Posted 04 January 2019 - 04:51 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 6246 battles
  • 756
  • Member since:
    12-23-2018

View PostWoT_RU_Doing, on 04 January 2019 - 04:14 PM, said:

We're not talking about small gaps here. but even massive objects like the Zeppelin on Redshire, and the fort on El Hallouf

I can shoot under the Zeppelin on Redshire at some positions.

ApocalypseSquad #13 Posted 04 January 2019 - 05:01 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 27189 battles
  • 2,213
  • Member since:
    07-31-2011

View PostSirebellus, on 04 January 2019 - 04:08 PM, said:

The 'Battle Assistant' mod (from wotinspector.com) is a much better arty aim than the WG one, and does not suffer this new restriction - you can still shoot into the hangars on Pilsen and under the overhang on Glacier

 

Ah, that explains why I don't have this issue, thanks.

Bordhaw #14 Posted 04 January 2019 - 09:12 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 14893 battles
  • 4,839
  • Member since:
    01-29-2017

View Postsmor, on 04 January 2019 - 02:03 PM, said:

Is this a bug?

 

Yes

HassenderZerhacker #15 Posted 04 January 2019 - 09:40 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 30880 battles
  • 3,240
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostSirebellus, on 04 January 2019 - 04:08 PM, said:

The 'Battle Assistant' mod (from wotinspector.com) is a much better arty aim than the WG one, and does not suffer this new restriction - you can still shoot into the hangars on Pilsen and under the overhang on Glacier

 

battle assistant it is then

Homer_J #16 Posted 04 January 2019 - 10:04 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32218 battles
  • 35,295
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostwEight_Tanker, on 04 January 2019 - 02:14 PM, said:

Aiming in "G" or normal makes no difference in where you aim at.

 

That's the bug.

 

It should make a difference.

 

It's known about but there is no ETA on a fix.



smor #17 Posted 05 January 2019 - 02:30 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 32631 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-30-2011

So we wait..

Thanks everyone!



mjs_89 #18 Posted 05 January 2019 - 04:34 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 8477 battles
  • 849
  • [95137] 95137
  • Member since:
    08-16-2017

View Postsmor, on 05 January 2019 - 02:30 AM, said:

So we wait..

Thanks everyone!

 

Nope, we install battle assistant (it's in aslain's too btw) bc WG takes ages to fix things.



wEight_Tanker #19 Posted 05 January 2019 - 05:58 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 10707 battles
  • 1,156
  • [VI90M] VI90M
  • Member since:
    11-13-2016

View PostHomer_J, on 04 January 2019 - 10:04 PM, said:

 

That's the bug.

 

It should make a difference.

 

It's known about but there is no ETA on a fix.

 

But. I still aim at a rooftop and not under it. It's only about how far you move your mouse (Where you point your crosshair).

Homer_J #20 Posted 05 January 2019 - 08:08 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32218 battles
  • 35,295
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostwEight_Tanker, on 05 January 2019 - 04:58 PM, said:

 

But. I still aim at a rooftop and not under it. It's only about how far you move your mouse (Where you point your crosshair).

 

Clearly you don't understand the issue.

 

Take the tunnels on Minsk.

 

Using the trajectory view you could aim at the floor inside the tunnel.  Now you can't, as soon as you move your aim to the tunnel mouth it snaps to the ground above.  Unless you are using a mod.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users