Jump to content


Can I make the game windowed 1920x1080?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

OMG_Abaddon #1 Posted 08 January 2019 - 05:24 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 13954 battles
  • 744
  • [-B-C-] -B-C-
  • Member since:
    04-19-2011

Not borderless, that mode makes the game crash very often when loading the battle and exiting. Windowed mode solved it, but it's forced to 1904x1041 and I can't make it 1080. When using borderless windowed gaming it leaves a corner of the desktop visible like this:

http://prntscr.com/m4ij4u

 

I don't know why it does this weird crap, but even forcing it through BWG doesn't help, it stays broken.



cro001 #2 Posted 08 January 2019 - 05:50 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 32771 battles
  • 2,805
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    10-21-2012
I don't know will this work, but can you find WOT config(usually saved in app data in documents). From there you can maybe force higher resolution in config file.

Edited by cro001, 08 January 2019 - 05:50 PM.


Baldrickk #3 Posted 08 January 2019 - 05:59 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32165 battles
  • 16,707
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostOMG_Abaddon, on 08 January 2019 - 05:24 PM, said:

Not borderless, that mode makes the game crash very often when loading the battle and exiting. Windowed mode solved it, but it's forced to 1904x1041 and I can't make it 1080. When using borderless windowed gaming it leaves a corner of the desktop visible like this:

http://prntscr.com/m4ij4u

 

I don't know why it does this weird crap, but even forcing it through BWG doesn't help, it stays broken.

 That's not borderless windowed though... you're in windowed mode. 

You seem to be doing something a little random to remove the border, but WOT doesn't know about that, so it renders ay the size it needs to be to fit inside the window that should be there. 



Homer_J #4 Posted 08 January 2019 - 06:21 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32362 battles
  • 35,390
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostBaldrickk, on 08 January 2019 - 04:59 PM, said:

 

You seem to be doing something a little random

 

Looks like he is using something like this to do what the game does natively.

 

OP if you can't set the resolution you want in the options then you might be able to do it in preferences.xml



NekoPuffer_PPP #5 Posted 08 January 2019 - 10:10 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 34114 battles
  • 3,985
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostOMG_Abaddon, on 08 January 2019 - 05:24 PM, said:

Not borderless, that mode makes the game crash very often when loading the battle and exiting. Windowed mode solved it, but it's forced to 1904x1041 and I can't make it 1080. When using borderless windowed gaming it leaves a corner of the desktop visible like this:

http://prntscr.com/m4ij4u

 

I don't know why it does this weird crap, but even forcing it through BWG doesn't help, it stays broken.

 

Why is Fullscreen not good?...

 

It used to crash a few months ago but they've fixed it by now, unless you've got a potato?



OMG_Abaddon #6 Posted 10 January 2019 - 10:17 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 13954 battles
  • 744
  • [-B-C-] -B-C-
  • Member since:
    04-19-2011

View PostHomer_J, on 08 January 2019 - 06:21 PM, said:

OP if you can't set the resolution you want in the options then you might be able to do it in preferences.xml

View Postcro001, on 08 January 2019 - 05:50 PM, said:

I don't know will this work, but can you find WOT config(usually saved in app data in documents). From there you can maybe force higher resolution in config file.

View PostPervyPastryPuffer, on 08 January 2019 - 10:10 PM, said:

 

Why is Fullscreen not good?...

 

It used to crash a few months ago but they've fixed it by now, unless you've got a potato?

 

I've tried the XML editing option, but it gets overwritten when I start the game. And I never use Fullscreen because that one actually was meant to help potato PCs when multi-threading wasn't a thing yet and resources were scarce, setting the game to fullscreen doesn't render anything in the background and gives priority to the foreground process to run on the CPU, but I don't have that problem and would like to browse other stuff on my other 2 screens while playing, for example I usually have 1-2 tabs on tanks.gg opened to see what are some tanks weak to.



Homer_J #7 Posted 10 January 2019 - 10:30 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32362 battles
  • 35,390
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostOMG_Abaddon, on 10 January 2019 - 09:17 AM, said:

 

I've tried the XML editing option, but it gets overwritten when I start the game.

 

That's why you make it read only when you have edited it.

 

And mentioning you have a 3 screen setup might just have been relevant when you started the thread.



cro001 #8 Posted 10 January 2019 - 02:06 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 32771 battles
  • 2,805
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    10-21-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 10 January 2019 - 10:30 AM, said:

And mentioning you have a 3 screen setup might just have been relevant when you started the thread.

 

Yeah LOL.



HundeWurst #9 Posted 10 January 2019 - 02:08 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 75365 battles
  • 4,625
  • [FAME] FAME
  • Member since:
    02-06-2012
There is a borderless window option for any size.

TheDrownedApe #10 Posted 10 January 2019 - 03:01 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 49553 battles
  • 6,378
  • [IDEAL] IDEAL
  • Member since:
    03-27-2013
weirdly I've played bordered ever since I started playing this game. There can be a lot of waiting around so I like to have my browser open 1/2 the screen so I can do stuff whilst waiting for tanks

Homer_J #11 Posted 10 January 2019 - 04:39 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32362 battles
  • 35,390
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010
Personally I would live with the border rather than have the desktop poking through.  But personally I have one monitor because I am a man and I men can't multitask.

Baldrickk #12 Posted 10 January 2019 - 04:40 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32165 battles
  • 16,707
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostTheDrownedApe, on 10 January 2019 - 03:01 PM, said:

weirdly I've played bordered ever since I started playing this game. There can be a lot of waiting around so I like to have my browser open 1/2 the screen so I can do stuff whilst waiting for tanks

Like the OP, I also have multiple monitors (only two though, I can't fit my third one on my desk)

I always play in windowed borderless and unlike the OP I don't have problems with it.

 

It's also useful for downsizing to 1080p for recording videos.



OMG_Abaddon #13 Posted 10 January 2019 - 11:18 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 13954 battles
  • 744
  • [-B-C-] -B-C-
  • Member since:
    04-19-2011

I'm aware there's a borderless mode, that's the very first 2 words of my post.

 

I use Aslain with a lot of mods, I like having all sorts of extra info like projectile flight time (I don't play arty much, just 1-2 games per day to do the daily bonus) or hangar sorting as I want. There's probably a mod or two that make the game load indefinitely under certain circumstances, although I don't know which ones are doing that or if there's even a log. Windowed mode has been saving the day after borderless crashed rather often.

 

Anyway, windowed mode just adds the veeeeery small top bar, but stays at 1920 width, I can live without 60 pixel height.

 

PS: I'm sorry I obviated the multiscreen setup, I didn't think it would matter for games that weren't designed for Windows 98 compatibility.


Edited by OMG_Abaddon, 10 January 2019 - 11:19 PM.


Baldrickk #14 Posted 11 January 2019 - 03:13 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32165 battles
  • 16,707
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013
The whole thing about using multiple monitors is that is why just using fullscreen mode isn't an option.

m1x_angelico #15 Posted 11 January 2019 - 05:52 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 24731 battles
  • 1,255
  • [-VETO] -VETO
  • Member since:
    01-04-2015
Is there a FPS increase playing windowed borderless compared to fullscreen?

Baldrickk #16 Posted 11 January 2019 - 06:50 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32165 battles
  • 16,707
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View Postm1x_angelico, on 11 January 2019 - 05:52 PM, said:

Is there a FPS increase playing windowed borderless compared to fullscreen?

No.

If anything, it's the other way round.

 

Historically, games would use fullscreen rendering mode, which would therefore stop the rendering of anything else to get the best possible performance. (Because rendering things takes up memory and cpu/gpu cycles)

 

Optimizations and increases in hardware performance and limits have basically rendered (*cough*) that unneccesary.

 

 



Pansenmann #17 Posted 11 January 2019 - 08:25 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 36218 battles
  • 13,831
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

How to play with border?

1. set game to fullscreen

2. [ALT]+[ENTER] to change to windowed mode

3. maximize window



Baldrickk #18 Posted 12 January 2019 - 02:48 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32165 battles
  • 16,707
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostPansenmann, on 11 January 2019 - 08:25 PM, said:

How to play with border?

1. set game to fullscreen

2. [ALT]+[ENTER] to change to windowed mode

3. maximize window

note - if you have most recently played with windowed borderless instead of windowed, alt+enter switches into windowed borderless instead of windowed.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users