Jump to content


CPU and GPU usage in garage


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

Zer0RNG #1 Posted 24 January 2019 - 12:38 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6161 battles
  • 48
  • [JDUN] JDUN
  • Member since:
    08-29-2018
CPU and GPU usage in garage is huge. My laptop coolers spin at maxim while I'm in the garage, but in a random battle they are at 70%-80%... for sure there is a problem with implementation. I have a good laptop with steady 60 fps fullhd in game, so for me this seems crazy.

Edited by Zer0RNG, 24 January 2019 - 12:42 PM.


SuedKAT #2 Posted 24 January 2019 - 12:44 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 7,223
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014
Can't say I've noticed the same, the only time I hear my fans are when I load into a map, do you perhaps run some mod pack that alters your garage in any way? 

wsatnutter #3 Posted 24 January 2019 - 12:53 PM

    General

  • Beta Tester
  • 25844 battles
  • 8,726
  • [WSAT] WSAT
  • Member since:
    08-25-2010
when was the last time you cleaned out the dust

HassenderZerhacker #4 Posted 24 January 2019 - 01:01 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 29085 battles
  • 2,798
  • [1DPG] 1DPG
  • Member since:
    09-09-2015

View PostZer0RNG, on 24 January 2019 - 12:38 PM, said:

CPU and GPU usage in garage is huge. My laptop coolers spin at maxim while I'm in the garage, but in a random battle they are at 70%-80%... for sure there is a problem with implementation. I have a good laptop with steady 60 fps fullhd in game, so for me this seems crazy.

 

I noticed the same.
actually the garage is rendered using the same graphics settings as in the game, especially the ground tesselation stuff, there is smoke, etc. which causes a relatively high load even when in the garage.

if you want to reduce load in the garage, you could install one of the garage mods.



Discontinued #5 Posted 24 January 2019 - 01:12 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 3644 battles
  • 794
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

View PostZer0RNG, on 24 January 2019 - 11:38 AM, said:

CPU and GPU usage in garage is huge. My laptop coolers spin at maxim while I'm in the garage, but in a random battle they are at 70%-80%... for sure there is a problem with implementation. I have a good laptop with steady 60 fps fullhd in game, so for me this seems crazy.

 

I noticed this during the xmas event my graphics card was getting very hot indeed, I'm running an I7 with nvida 10 series 4gb GPU and 12 gb of ram.Also my Toon buddy Zarfarious noticed the same thing and his rig is way better than mine?

 

After that, I started to run minimal garage mod. As the normal garage is annoying anyway, that sleeping dude needs to go see a specialist, I think he has narcolepsy.



Gkirmathal #6 Posted 24 January 2019 - 01:21 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 8130 battles
  • 1,576
  • [2VTD] 2VTD
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013

There have been 'rendering issues' with the garage, dating back to 2012 (a quick google will show). WoT client seems to force (some) GPU's to 100% load without any apparent logical reason.

How the garage rendered, and how the GPU is utilized in garage, seems to be different than a normal game environment. The how and why...I have no clue.


 


Edited by Gkirmathal, 24 January 2019 - 01:32 PM.


Balc0ra #7 Posted 24 January 2019 - 01:27 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 68698 battles
  • 18,101
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostSuedKAT, on 24 January 2019 - 12:44 PM, said:

Can't say I've noticed the same, the only time I hear my fans are when I load into a map, do you perhaps run some mod pack that alters your garage in any way? 

 

Oh it's an old issue on some GPU's. My old card's fan went from silent during battles, to loud in the garage. As it had 45 to 55 in battle. And it went to over 65 in the garage. Still does it on my new card, but it doesn't kick up the fan or the temps the same way.  

 

 



Zer0RNG #8 Posted 24 January 2019 - 01:56 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6161 battles
  • 48
  • [JDUN] JDUN
  • Member since:
    08-29-2018

View PostSuedKAT, on 24 January 2019 - 12:44 PM, said:

Can't say I've noticed the same, the only time I hear my fans are when I load into a map, do you perhaps run some mod pack that alters your garage in any way? 

 

only xvm and YasenKrasen but is same behavior in vanilla client

View Postwsatnutter, on 24 January 2019 - 12:53 PM, said:

when was the last time you cleaned out the dust

 

it's new, 1 month old... but again is using more resources in garage that in a random battle when I have 5-10 tanks around me...is just stupid

 

 



Gkirmathal #9 Posted 24 January 2019 - 02:03 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 8130 battles
  • 1,576
  • [2VTD] 2VTD
  • Member since:
    01-14-2013

View PostZer0RNG, on 24 January 2019 - 12:56 PM, said:

 

only xvm and YasenKrasen but is same behavior in vanilla client

 

it's new, 1 month old... but again is using more resources in garage that in a random battle when I have 5-10 tanks around me...is just stupid

 

 

 

It has nothing to do with your computer, it being old, or dusty, or your drivers/etc being out of date (unless you run 5+ year old drivers perhaps).

 

It has to do with the way the WoT engine renders the garage space and that determines how the GPU is utilized (high loads or lower loads). If that makes sense.

There is just nothing you do to change that fact.



ThinGun #10 Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:22 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 36815 battles
  • 1,690
  • Member since:
    12-08-2014
I never stay in the garage long enough to notice extra load on my machine ...

kubawt112 #11 Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:36 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3378 battles
  • 406
  • [-UM] -UM
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

Limiting the FPS in the garage (separate of the in-game value) might help, as does using a mod for switching to a 'minimal' one.

 

1. https://worldoftanks...or/files/888532

2. Open C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\engine_config.xml (show all files to find it, obviously make a backup first just in case)

3. Change the value in line 30 to e.g. 29 (or 20, so you'll notice it working). If you have overheating issues in-game, you can limit that one too.

4. Click the good ol' diskette icon to save. Save as .visual and overwrite.



jack_timber #12 Posted 24 January 2019 - 04:43 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 35907 battles
  • 2,551
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

Garage always has had a high GPU/CPU load...

If I leave mine I always alt/tab back to desktop otherwise fans are a tad noisy.

Don't know why though...


Edited by jack_timber, 24 January 2019 - 04:44 PM.


1ucky #13 Posted 24 January 2019 - 05:00 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 77958 battles
  • 1,136
  • [-RLD-] -RLD-
  • Member since:
    11-05-2013

View Postjack_timber, on 24 January 2019 - 04:43 PM, said:

Garage always has had a high GPU/CPU load...

If I leave mine I always alt/tab back to desktop otherwise fans are a tad noisy.

Don't know why though...

 

Cause detailed graphics.

jack_timber #14 Posted 24 January 2019 - 06:34 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 35907 battles
  • 2,551
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

View Post1ucky, on 24 January 2019 - 04:00 PM, said:

 

Cause detailed graphics.

 

Yes but this was happening before 1.0 and has continued through the various incarnations...

 



Zer0RNG #15 Posted 24 January 2019 - 06:37 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6161 battles
  • 48
  • [JDUN] JDUN
  • Member since:
    08-29-2018

View Postkubawt112, on 24 January 2019 - 03:36 PM, said:

Limiting the FPS in the garage (separate of the in-game value) might help, as does using a mod for switching to a 'minimal' one.

 

1. https://worldoftanks...or/files/888532

2. Open C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\engine_config.xml (show all files to find it, obviously make a backup first just in case)

3. Change the value in line 30 to e.g. 29 (or 20, so you'll notice it working). If you have overheating issues in-game, you can limit that one too.

4. Click the good ol' diskette icon to save. Save as .visual and overwrite.

 

what tool are u using to edit it? because it's not the standard xml syntax 

Edited by Zer0RNG, 24 January 2019 - 06:38 PM.


SuedKAT #16 Posted 24 January 2019 - 07:02 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 12154 battles
  • 7,223
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-21-2014

View PostBalc0ra, on 24 January 2019 - 01:27 PM, said:

 

Oh it's an old issue on some GPU's. My old card's fan went from silent during battles, to loud in the garage. As it had 45 to 55 in battle. And it went to over 65 in the garage. Still does it on my new card, but it doesn't kick up the fan or the temps the same way.  

 

 

 

Haven't checked the workload on any of my GPU's while in the garage on the rigs I run WoT on, but that's more down to the fact that I never really had any reason to. Will have to do so next time I run WoT but what GPU's in-particular in your experience have this issue? For reference, I got rigs with 1060, 1070, 1080ti and GTX Titan, neither get hot enough for me to notice anything.

Baldrickk #17 Posted 24 January 2019 - 07:03 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 31450 battles
  • 15,572
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostZer0RNG, on 24 January 2019 - 06:37 PM, said:

 

what tool are u using to edit it? because it's not the standard xml syntax 

 It is. 

 

I use np++ myself

18:04 Added after 0 minutes

View Postkubawt112, on 24 January 2019 - 03:36 PM, said:

Limiting the FPS in the garage (separate of the in-game value) might help, as does using a mod for switching to a 'minimal' one.

 

1. https://worldoftanks...or/files/888532

2. Open C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\engine_config.xml (show all files to find it, obviously make a backup first just in case)

3. Change the value in line 30 to e.g. 29 (or 20, so you'll notice it working). If you have overheating issues in-game, you can limit that one too.

4. Click the good ol' diskette icon to save. Save as .visual and overwrite.

Out of +1s



Asklepi0s #18 Posted 24 January 2019 - 07:21 PM

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 8799 battles
  • 882
  • Member since:
    01-23-2017
This thread has been moved to tech corner.

kubawt112 #19 Posted 24 January 2019 - 08:38 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3378 battles
  • 406
  • [-UM] -UM
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostZer0RNG, on 24 January 2019 - 06:37 PM, said:

 

what tool are u using to edit it? because it's not the standard xml syntax 

 

The dedicated software linked to in step one. I guess I could've made it into clickable text, but the forum requires you to type in the 'codes' manually if you want that, and I couldn't be bothered.

 

It's dead simple. Bonus tip: Setting the FPS limit to slightly more than your screen refresh rate might prevent tearing - and you probably want to disable vertical sync in the options.


Edited by kubawt112, 24 January 2019 - 08:40 PM.


Zer0RNG #20 Posted 29 January 2019 - 10:23 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6161 battles
  • 48
  • [JDUN] JDUN
  • Member since:
    08-29-2018

View Postkubawt112, on 24 January 2019 - 03:36 PM, said:

Limiting the FPS in the garage (separate of the in-game value) might help, as does using a mod for switching to a 'minimal' one.

 

1. https://worldoftanks...or/files/888532

2. Open C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\engine_config.xml (show all files to find it, obviously make a backup first just in case)

3. Change the value in line 30 to e.g. 29 (or 20, so you'll notice it working). If you have overheating issues in-game, you can limit that one too.

4. Click the good ol' diskette icon to save. Save as .visual and overwrite.

 

thx... it fixed my issue... they have strange naming convention and is not clear at all what you change ...

@WG fix this... nobody needs 60 fps in hangar ... or at least make some configs available... this is a real issue for the ppl that are playing on laptops ...






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users