Jump to content


Updates to the Wargaming Game Center


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

Humansland #41 Posted 29 January 2019 - 08:28 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 17350 battles
  • 175
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
This client idea seems to be very familiar... Someone has been stealing ideas from League of Legends.

Also, it will not be probably up for the player to decide which one they want to have. It will be a 'Quality of Life' changes according to the devs and shove it down the players' throats. haha :D

Edited by Humansland, 29 January 2019 - 08:29 AM.


Homer_J #42 Posted 29 January 2019 - 08:29 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 34753 battles
  • 39,951
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostChill_Bro, on 28 January 2019 - 07:19 PM, said:

 

This Forum post is really a cry for help from WG.

 

This is clearly nothing to do with WGC but I would advise you try another web browser.  Probably some security setting or software you use blocking the scripts on the support site.



Sirebellus #43 Posted 29 January 2019 - 09:35 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28288 battles
  • 1,392
  • Member since:
    02-04-2016

I have one WG account, I play one WG game - at present I launch the game and log in to my account by making one click on a screen icon.

 

Why would I need / want an additional 'Launch Centre' ?

What would it add to my game experience ?



Homer_J #44 Posted 29 January 2019 - 09:46 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 34753 battles
  • 39,951
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostSirebellus, on 29 January 2019 - 08:35 AM, said:

I have one WG account, I play one WG game - at present I launch the game and log in to my account by making one click on a screen icon.

 

Why would I need / want an additional 'Launch Centre' ?

What would it add to my game experience ?

 

Then WGC will make very little difference except you might not need to wait for the game to update.  It depends how you have it set up, you could have it work exactly as the current launcher.

 

Really being against change for the sake of being against change makes no sense.  Also WG maintaining two launchers makes no sense.  And I suspect the day that the old launcher stops working is now getting quite close.

 

Actually, rereading your post it sounds like you might already be using WGC, the old launcher requires at least 2 clicks.  More like a double click, then a click, then a click.  WGC removes the last click (if you want it to).



MikkoHell #45 Posted 29 January 2019 - 11:58 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 30565 battles
  • 18
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011
There is only about 10 accounts that you can restore in Game Center, 100 would be great...

Makojin #46 Posted 29 January 2019 - 12:18 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 31992 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    10-10-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 29 January 2019 - 07:13 AM, said:

Even if you use it you can run without it apart from the days when you need to update the client.

 

So basically it's bloatware and you can do well without it anyway. Gotcha.



Yaccay #47 Posted 29 January 2019 - 12:57 PM

    Major

  • Player
  • 39124 battles
  • 2,681
  • [4TL] 4TL
  • Member since:
    11-21-2012

When I start the game (example WoT) from the GameCenter, the GameCenter is still running in the background. Eating up memory and computer resources.

Why should I install a resource hog on my computer?

 



eekeeboo #48 Posted 29 January 2019 - 12:58 PM

    EU Video Content Manager

  • WG Staff
  • 53659 battles
  • 2,690
  • [MEME] MEME
  • Member since:
    07-25-2010

View PostMakojin, on 29 January 2019 - 11:18 AM, said:

 

So basically it's bloatware and you can do well without it anyway. Gotcha.

 

If that's what you want to read..... OR you can read optional QOL of life for some and not for others depending on how you play WG titles and how many. 
12:01 Added after 2 minutes

View PostYaccay, on 29 January 2019 - 11:57 AM, said:

When I start the game (example WoT) from the GameCenter, the GameCenter is still running in the background. Eating up memory and computer resources.

Why should I install a resource hog on my computer?

 

 

"Eating up" is a strong term for something that, as I type this is using up a total of 56mb of memory (stable) and 0% cpu. Hogging this is not when my internet browser with 3 tabs and 1 music video is open taking up 400mb and 3% cpu. 

Edited by eekeeboo, 29 January 2019 - 01:32 PM.


Gremlin182 #49 Posted 29 January 2019 - 01:29 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 71869 battles
  • 11,145
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

Ok so I could be wrong I will try it out next update and compare game performance and convenience.

If there is no impact on game performance and It provides a better experience im in.

 



Makojin #50 Posted 29 January 2019 - 02:41 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 31992 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    10-10-2013

View Posteekeeboo, on 29 January 2019 - 11:58 AM, said:

If that's what you want to read..... OR you can read optional QOL of life for some and not for others depending on how you play WG titles and how many. 

 

If you are forcing it on us, which it looks like it is already being forced to fresh installs and probably sooner or later to everyone, then yes that's exactly how I'm going to read it. I might even try it if I wasn't stuck with it forever after...

 

View Posteekeeboo, on 29 January 2019 - 11:58 AM, said:

"Eating up" is a strong term for something that, as I type this is using up a total of 56mb of memory (stable) and 0% cpu. Hogging this is not when my internet browser with 3 tabs and 1 music video is open taking up 400mb and 3% cpu. 

 

Add into that Steam, Blizzard, Epic Games, EA, Ubisoft, Bethesda etc. launchers and suddenly it's not that insignificant anymore and since the resource hogging options are turned on by default, at some point an update to one of these (even WGC) is going to screw you over while you are one-on-one fighting a JPE100 in your light tank and that small (or even more likely a big) moment of lag will get you killed.

 

Edit: Derp Bioware of course being part of EA.


Edited by Makojin, 29 January 2019 - 03:05 PM.


eekeeboo #51 Posted 29 January 2019 - 04:07 PM

    EU Video Content Manager

  • WG Staff
  • 53659 battles
  • 2,690
  • [MEME] MEME
  • Member since:
    07-25-2010

View PostMakojin, on 29 January 2019 - 01:41 PM, said:

 

If you are forcing it on us, which it looks like it is already being forced to fresh installs and probably sooner or later to everyone, then yes that's exactly how I'm going to read it. I might even try it if I wasn't stuck with it forever after...

 

 

Add into that Steam, Blizzard, Epic Games, EA, Ubisoft, Bethesda etc. launchers and suddenly it's not that insignificant anymore and since the resource hogging options are turned on by default, at some point an update to one of these (even WGC) is going to screw you over while you are one-on-one fighting a JPE100 in your light tank and that small (or even more likely a big) moment of lag will get you killed.

 

Edit: Derp Bioware of course being part of EA.

 

The resource hogging options you speak of only take place if and this is a big if you have them enabled and you're installing an update, which doesn't take place when you're playing a game. They are all disabled and you don't update. 

Jalash #52 Posted 29 January 2019 - 07:40 PM

    Corporal

  • Clan Commander
  • 58519 battles
  • 139
  • [CNTR] CNTR
  • Member since:
    10-03-2010

 

Wargaming Game Center sucks, bring us the old launcher! 

 

 

18:45 Added after 4 minutes

View PostHomer_J, on 28 January 2019 - 03:46 PM, said:

Or you could give constructive feedback on what you consider is wrong with WGC.  Mind you that would entail actually using it to find out what it does rather than taking the Luddite approach.

 

I did already, but It looks like WG force us to use another stupid program


Edited by Jalash, 29 January 2019 - 07:45 PM.


WindSplitter1 #53 Posted 29 January 2019 - 09:14 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 22710 battles
  • 4,493
  • [WINDY] WINDY
  • Member since:
    02-07-2016

View PostM0nsterTr4x, on 28 January 2019 - 02:29 PM, said:

where do i get this game center? looks decent

 

If you value your WoT installation, you will not do this.

 

@WG, please, unlink WoWS from this application.



Gremlin182 #54 Posted 30 January 2019 - 01:51 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 71869 battles
  • 11,145
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

Ahh yes that's the other problem I had with the center it does something to your game install.

If later you get rid of the center and try to launch the game normally you cannot you needed to reinstall the game.

I cannot say if it still does that but if so its bad programming.

IF I try it out again I will probably either try it on my NA account which isn't important to me or backup the game first.



ralesm1989 #55 Posted 30 January 2019 - 03:42 AM

    Captain

  • Moderator
  • 37129 battles
  • 2,025
  • [GX] GX
  • Member since:
    10-19-2012

First of all, i want to apologise str8 away if i missed it somewhere here. I will explain my problem.

 

When i click play in game center, it enters game, and AUTOMATICALLY CONNECTING ME TO EU1. This is especially bad when i play campaign, and i need to login to eu2. Last night i got some empty battle screen after one battle, and i needed to enter new battle immediately after that previous one. With that empty battle screen, disconnecting server is not helping, you need to close game. And then, im comming back through game center, and yet again first connecting to eu1, then i need to switch manualy eu2, after what i was late to enter another battle. 

 

So, even when campaign is over, still that will make problems, at least for me.

 

Is there any solution for that automatic connecting to certain server, so i can set, at least during campaign, to be connected first to EU2? 

If there is no option for that, is there possibility to fix it and make possible?

 

Thanks.


Edited by ralesm1989, 30 January 2019 - 03:43 AM.


eekeeboo #56 Posted 30 January 2019 - 04:53 PM

    EU Video Content Manager

  • WG Staff
  • 53659 battles
  • 2,690
  • [MEME] MEME
  • Member since:
    07-25-2010

View PostWindSplitter1, on 29 January 2019 - 08:14 PM, said:

 

If you value your WoT installation, you will not do this.

 

@WG, please, unlink WoWS from this application.

 

​There will be only more things added to WGC! Soon the world! :izmena:

Homer_J #57 Posted 30 January 2019 - 05:03 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Moderator
  • 34753 battles
  • 39,951
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postralesm1989, on 30 January 2019 - 02:42 AM, said:

 

Is there any solution for that automatic connecting to certain server, so i can set, at least during campaign, to be connected first to EU2? 

 

 

Yes.  It's in the in game options. On the general tab IIRC.

 

At the bottom on the left, says "display server selection upon game launch".

 

https://asia.wargami.../article/22555/


Edited by Homer_J, 30 January 2019 - 05:10 PM.


ralesm1989 #58 Posted 31 January 2019 - 01:19 AM

    Captain

  • Moderator
  • 37129 battles
  • 2,025
  • [GX] GX
  • Member since:
    10-19-2012

View PostHomer_J, on 30 January 2019 - 05:03 PM, said:

 

Yes.  It's in the in game options. On the general tab IIRC.

 

At the bottom on the left, says "display server selection upon game launch".

 

https://asia.wargami.../article/22555/

 

Thanks. :)

OofBerry #59 Posted 04 March 2019 - 04:59 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 25338 battles
  • 247
  • [_RLD_] _RLD_
  • Member since:
    05-27-2015
What I would love is for you to add the common test server and sandbox onto the WGGC, as I still have 3 WoT launchers.

_b_ #60 Posted 05 March 2019 - 01:04 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 62067 battles
  • 4,234
  • [AL7F4] AL7F4
  • Member since:
    04-06-2011

This:

 

"Also, a little extra coming with this update: the WGC now supports multiple accounts for each social network and multiple user accounts."

 

With current ban of cheaters fresh in mind and crying on forum .... will the WGC somehow differentiate between different users and any mods installed on client, or will a 'clean' user risk being given a thoroughly investigated deserved ban due to others using illegal mods?

 

I don't care since I don't let anyone else use my gaming laptop....and play vanilla .... bur for me this screams of haing to suffer weeks of crying on forum next banwave :trollface:  "It wasn't me, it was my dog!" ...or similar :P


Edited by _b_, 05 March 2019 - 01:04 PM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users