Jump to content


Frontline - G-Sync issue - terrible stuttering

frontline gsync rant

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

AtomowyGrzyb #1 Posted 11 February 2019 - 09:07 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 23992 battles
  • 62
  • [TDSTS] TDSTS
  • Member since:
    03-14-2012

I have RTX 2060 and although I am getting stable 144 FPS (144 Hz display) on max/ultra in Frontline, there is terrible stuttering present, like the image is smearing horizontally and flickering.

Changing detail levels does not fix it, but I found out that disabling G-Sync removes this painful effect. Can't play with this stuttering because, literally, eyes hurt and head aches after one battle.

Disabling G-Sync - no more stuttering / horizontal tearing. It's almost like the frames are getting doubled because the aim is jumping in little tiny steps (non fluid movement) like it was lagging.

 

So, if you're experiencing this kind of issues, try disabling G-Sync / FreeSync or even V-Sync if you use that.

 



hasnainrakha57 #2 Posted 11 February 2019 - 10:22 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18354 battles
  • 916
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-01-2013

View PostAtomowyGrzyb, on 11 February 2019 - 08:07 AM, said:

I have RTX 2060 and although I am getting stable 144 FPS (144 Hz display) on max/ultra in Frontline, there is terrible stuttering present, like the image is smearing horizontally and flickering.

Changing detail levels does not fix it, but I found out that disabling G-Sync removes this painful effect. Can't play with this stuttering because, literally, eyes hurt and head aches after one battle.

Disabling G-Sync - no more stuttering / horizontal tearing. It's almost like the frames are getting doubled because the aim is jumping in little tiny steps (non fluid movement) like it was lagging.

 

So, if you're experiencing this kind of issues, try disabling G-Sync / FreeSync or even V-Sync if you use that.

 

For how much u bought rtx2060?



AtomowyGrzyb #3 Posted 11 February 2019 - 01:10 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 23992 battles
  • 62
  • [TDSTS] TDSTS
  • Member since:
    03-14-2012

View Posthasnainrakha57, on 11 February 2019 - 09:22 AM, said:

For how much u bought rtx2060?

 

Wha.... what? How is this related? :D

Ladtus #4 Posted 11 February 2019 - 01:12 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 8977 battles
  • 81
  • [GO-HA] GO-HA
  • Member since:
    10-21-2018

What kind of CPU do you have?

And did you make sure your monitor is connected to your Graphics card?



AtomowyGrzyb #5 Posted 11 February 2019 - 01:35 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 23992 battles
  • 62
  • [TDSTS] TDSTS
  • Member since:
    03-14-2012

View PostLadtus, on 11 February 2019 - 12:12 PM, said:

What kind of CPU do you have?

And did you make sure your monitor is connected to your Graphics card?

 

Did you read the OP? Why are you asking me such stupid questions, would I get 144 FPS on Ultra details if I was using the iGPU?

IntruderFI #6 Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:34 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 49151 battles
  • 559
  • [S3AL] S3AL
  • Member since:
    07-05-2014

View PostAtomowyGrzyb, on 11 February 2019 - 03:35 PM, said:

 

Did you read the OP? Why are you asking me such stupid questions, would I get 144 FPS on Ultra details if I was using the iGPU?

 

Because not all CPU are equal?

PauI #7 Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:42 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 30715 battles
  • 511
  • Member since:
    10-15-2011

When I open Store I get this, the same when I open Frontline menu. Does anyone know a solution to this ? or is just a "feature"

I do not use mods, I already tried to delete game temp files (C:\Users\mypc\AppData\Roaming\Wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks)....same behavior

 


Edited by PauI, 11 February 2019 - 04:42 PM.


EldritchRogue #8 Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:45 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 4711 battles
  • 68
  • Member since:
    03-15-2014

View PostPauI, on 11 February 2019 - 05:42 PM, said:

When I open Store I get this, the same when I open Frontline menu. Does anyone know a solution to this ? or is just a "feature"

I do not use mods, I already tried to delete game temp files (C:\Users\mypc\AppData\Roaming\Wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks)....same behavior

 

 

I get same after first game, if u restart the game and open the page without going in game, you can use the interface.

DorsVenabiIi #9 Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:52 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 26473 battles
  • 1,189
  • [BIBLE] BIBLE
  • Member since:
    03-31-2015
Gsync/freesync always add tiny bit of input lag, why I would recommend always having it off in competetive multiplayer games centered around aiming, it's really for single player experiences. 

EldritchRogue #10 Posted 11 February 2019 - 05:01 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 4711 battles
  • 68
  • Member since:
    03-15-2014

View PostDorsVenabiIi, on 11 February 2019 - 05:52 PM, said:

Gsync/freesync always add tiny bit of input lag, why I would recommend always having it off in competetive multiplayer games centered around aiming, it's really for single player experiences. 

 

no.

darko1601 #11 Posted 11 February 2019 - 07:00 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 34940 battles
  • 20
  • [DGBKS] DGBKS
  • Member since:
    01-29-2013
I have i78700k and 1080ti and I get massive fps drops

VonCarlsson #12 Posted 11 February 2019 - 08:41 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 18021 battles
  • 128
  • [O_D] O_D
  • Member since:
    08-09-2013

View PostAtomowyGrzyb, on 11 February 2019 - 09:07 AM, said:

I have RTX 2060 and although I am getting stable 144 FPS (144 Hz display) on max/ultra in Frontline, there is terrible stuttering present, like the image is smearing horizontally and flickering.

Changing detail levels does not fix it, but I found out that disabling G-Sync removes this painful effect. Can't play with this stuttering because, literally, eyes hurt and head aches after one battle.

Disabling G-Sync - no more stuttering / horizontal tearing. It's almost like the frames are getting doubled because the aim is jumping in little tiny steps (non fluid movement) like it was lagging.

 

So, if you're experiencing this kind of issues, try disabling G-Sync / FreeSync or even V-Sync if you use that.

 

 

Make sure that you have the Windows power options set to "High Performance", you can find the setting by going into the Control Panel (the old one) clicking on System and Security and finally by clicking on Power Options. Furthermore, ensure that vsync is turned off in the game. Should the problems persist, I would suggest you limit the FPS slightly below 144 (there's a setting for that in-game).

AliceUnchained #13 Posted 11 February 2019 - 10:27 PM

    General

  • Player
  • 39029 battles
  • 9,502
  • [322] 322
  • Member since:
    10-18-2011

View Postdarko1601, on 11 February 2019 - 07:00 PM, said:

I have i78700k and 1080ti and I get massive fps drops

 

Then you obviously are clueless on setting up a system properly. I am using an i5 2500K with GTX 780 Ti currently and I don't get any FPS drops...

AtomowyGrzyb #14 Posted 12 February 2019 - 03:20 AM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 23992 battles
  • 62
  • [TDSTS] TDSTS
  • Member since:
    03-14-2012

View PostVonCarlsson, on 11 February 2019 - 07:41 PM, said:

 

Make sure that you have the Windows power options set to "High Performance", you can find the setting by going into the Control Panel (the old one) clicking on System and Security and finally by clicking on Power Options. Furthermore, ensure that vsync is turned off in the game. Should the problems persist, I would suggest you limit the FPS slightly below 144 (there's a setting for that in-game).

 

What's the point of your post. You did read the OP and understood that I have an abundance of FPS and never drop below 144? Also that FPS in Frontline is not an issue and that it is not a performance issue but a stuttering issue exclusive only to Frontline with G-Sync enabled? Also G-Sync itself limits the FPS to 143 on 144 Hz display so no need to do that manually. It just doesn't work properly in Frontline for whatever reason, seems like they are syncing events to frames and that messes up the input.

urmas400 #15 Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:43 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 24823 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    07-16-2012

View PostLadtus, on 11 February 2019 - 12:12 PM, said:

And did you make sure your monitor is connected to your Graphics card?


lmao, forum as helpful as always.

Vsync and gsync are total garbage in this game. Im pretty sure you are fine at your end, it's the problem with the game itself.



hasnainrakha57 #16 Posted 12 February 2019 - 05:46 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 18354 battles
  • 916
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    08-01-2013

View PostAtomowyGrzyb, on 11 February 2019 - 12:10 PM, said:

 

Wha.... what? How is this related? :D

Na just wanted to know nvidia said it will cost 350$ so wanted to know about market drama.... 



VonCarlsson #17 Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:35 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 18021 battles
  • 128
  • [O_D] O_D
  • Member since:
    08-09-2013

View PostAtomowyGrzyb, on 12 February 2019 - 03:20 AM, said:

[...] exclusive only to Frontline with G-Sync enabled?

 

Stuttering and strange artifacting is a common issue after the creators update for Windows 10, changing to "High Performance" is reported to solve some of those issues.

 

View PostAtomowyGrzyb, on 12 February 2019 - 03:20 AM, said:

 

Also G-Sync itself limits the FPS to 143 on 144 Hz display so no need to do that manually. It just doesn't work properly in Frontline for whatever reason, seems like they are syncing events to frames and that messes up the input.

 

G-Sync turns off when the FPS match the monitors maximum refresh rate, it does not, however, limit the frame rate. The idea is that vsync should take over at that point, but since that introduces quite significant input latency it's preferable to avoid that, thus we limit the FPS to a few frames below the G-Sync ceiling to ensure vsync is never active. If vsync is not enabled at all, you get screen tearing above the monitors maximum refresh rate.


Edited by VonCarlsson, 12 February 2019 - 08:35 PM.


AtomowyGrzyb #18 Posted 15 February 2019 - 10:19 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 23992 battles
  • 62
  • [TDSTS] TDSTS
  • Member since:
    03-14-2012

View PostVonCarlsson, on 12 February 2019 - 07:35 PM, said:

G-Sync turns off when the FPS match the monitors maximum refresh rate, it does not, however, limit the frame rate. The idea is that vsync should take over at that point, but since that introduces quite significant input latency it's preferable to avoid that, thus we limit the FPS to a few frames below the G-Sync ceiling to ensure vsync is never active. If vsync is not enabled at all, you get screen tearing above the monitors maximum refresh rate.

Well guess what, you're wrong. Without G-Sync I get 200-300 FPS, with G-Sync I have 143. V-sync is disabled. What you're saying is true for Freesync (having to cap the FPS), not G-Sync.

Also you still fail to acknowledge that it only sucks in Frontline, it works perfectly fine everywhere else.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users