Jump to content


How to change frontline keybinds?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Elua #1 Posted 11 February 2019 - 05:41 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 32588 battles
  • 669
  • Member since:
    10-20-2010
I have problem : I m using changed keybinds for almost all actions ( WASD = UHJK for me for example ) "J" in fronltine is action for abandon vehicle and its super annoying because  I do this crap twice ( lol noob ) before I realized WTF happens. Every time I move backwards that abandon vehicle timer starts and FFS is ultra annoying. Standard in game keybind menu don't have any frontline special buttons options, I cant find it in preferences.xml file also.

Edited by Elua, 11 February 2019 - 05:42 PM.


Pansenmann #2 Posted 11 February 2019 - 06:27 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34973 battles
  • 13,028
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

This is a great question.

[solved, see post #9]

Edited by Pansenmann, 15 February 2019 - 12:38 AM.


Pansenmann #3 Posted 11 February 2019 - 09:07 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34973 battles
  • 13,028
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012
[solved, see post #9]

Edited by Pansenmann, 15 February 2019 - 08:22 PM.


Elua #4 Posted 11 February 2019 - 09:29 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 32588 battles
  • 669
  • Member since:
    10-20-2010
Thank you sir.

Pansenmann #5 Posted 11 February 2019 - 09:39 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34973 battles
  • 13,028
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012
[solved, see post #9]

Edited by Pansenmann, 15 February 2019 - 08:21 PM.


Elua #6 Posted 12 February 2019 - 04:24 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 32588 battles
  • 669
  • Member since:
    10-20-2010
I don't want mess with windows registry  :( I don't feel safe doing that kind of things.

Dava_117 #7 Posted 12 February 2019 - 10:26 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 20900 battles
  • 4,049
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    12-17-2014

View PostPansenmann, on 11 February 2019 - 09:39 PM, said:

 

you're welcome.

 

as a workaround you could try to remap the (hardware)  key "J" to a different one using

sharpkeys

and then set your preferences.xml the the other one you defined before.
and don't forget to revert the setting when you finish your gaming session ;)
 

 

I just want to quote the "Game accessibility guidelines"
 

 

 

 

Does this program works just for 1 key at time or I can select more than one?



Pansenmann #8 Posted 13 February 2019 - 10:49 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34973 battles
  • 13,028
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012
[solved, see post #9]

Edited by Pansenmann, 15 February 2019 - 08:22 PM.


Pansenmann #9 Posted 14 February 2019 - 12:22 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34973 battles
  • 13,028
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

View PostElua, on 12 February 2019 - 04:24 AM, said:

I don't want mess with windows registry  :( I don't feel safe doing that kind of things.

 

All right, I got the answer.

WG support even wanted me to do the full report stuff.

*shrugs* - it's just a keybind!

 

anyways, let's go.

I'll keep it in line with my other post from some years ago [1]

 

1. Go to the following folder: %appdata%\wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks\

2. make a backup copy of the file "preferences.xml"

3. open the original "preferences.xml" file with a text editor of your choice (notepad++ recommended)

4. go to the end of the file and add the following lines right below "<commandMapping>"  (enter an empty line for easier viewing)

 

Block Quote

             <CMD_REQUEST_RECOVERY>
                <fireKey> KEY_B </fireKey>
                <satelliteKeys/>
            </CMD_REQUEST_RECOVERY>

 

 

that way the "Request Recovery" is now bound to the key "B".

 

Hope it helps.

your friendly neighborhood Pansenmann

 

PS: you can also re-bind the quest objectives hotkey for random battles the same way, which is normally on the "N" key

 

 


Edited by Pansenmann, 14 February 2019 - 12:25 AM.


Elua #10 Posted 14 February 2019 - 09:32 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Tester
  • 32588 battles
  • 669
  • Member since:
    10-20-2010
Ok works great it's ok now. Thx. :)

Edited by Elua, 14 February 2019 - 09:52 AM.


eekeeboo #11 Posted 14 February 2019 - 03:27 PM

    English Community Manager

  • WG Staff
  • 45938 battles
  • 1,728
  • [0XIDE] 0XIDE
  • Member since:
    07-25-2010
Awesome work again, good job! (Out of likes so this will have to do!) 

Pansenmann #12 Posted 15 February 2019 - 08:24 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 34973 battles
  • 13,028
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    08-17-2012

View Posteekeeboo, on 14 February 2019 - 03:27 PM, said:

Awesome work again, good job! (Out of likes so this will have to do!) 

 

thanks for the heads up :)
@OP can you please add [solved] to the topic title?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users