Jump to content


How do the fragments work?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

yeezusk #1 Posted 11 May 2019 - 01:29 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5035 battles
  • 31
  • [SKIL5] SKIL5
  • Member since:
    07-09-2017

I recently got enough fragments to research a tier 9 german vehicle. 

I would like to research the e75 but would I need the tiger 2 before i can buy the e75?



WoT_RU_Doing #2 Posted 11 May 2019 - 01:41 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 54328 battles
  • 2,910
  • [-GY-] -GY-
  • Member since:
    07-20-2013

You can research the entire tech tree without ever actually buying a tank. I doubt anyone has ever done so, but many people skip purchasing tanks they researched, especially at lower levels. 

With the bljueprints, I believe that you still have to have unlocked the research route to the tank before you can actually apply the blueprints, just as if you were using normal XP. But again, if you have the XP to do that, you don't need to buy the tanks on the way.



yeezusk #3 Posted 11 May 2019 - 01:49 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5035 battles
  • 31
  • [SKIL5] SKIL5
  • Member since:
    07-09-2017

View PostWoT_RU_Doing, on 11 May 2019 - 01:41 AM, said:

You can research the entire tech tree without ever actually buying a tank. I doubt anyone has ever done so, but many people skip purchasing tanks they researched, especially at lower levels. 

With the bljueprints, I believe that you still have to have unlocked the research route to the tank before you can actually apply the blueprints, just as if you were using normal XP. But again, if you have the XP to do that, you don't need to buy the tanks on the way.

 

I know that I don't need to buy the tanks to actually progress but I do need the previous vehicle on to research it. Example, I haven't started the heavy tank line in germany , so if I research the E-75 using blueprints I would need to go through the Tiger II and once I get that I can fully buy and research the E-75.

WoT_RU_Doing #4 Posted 11 May 2019 - 01:51 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 54328 battles
  • 2,910
  • [-GY-] -GY-
  • Member since:
    07-20-2013

Still not clear what you are asking....you don't need the Tiger II....you do need to have researched the Tiger II, and it's second turret.



Balc0ra #5 Posted 11 May 2019 - 01:54 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 70166 battles
  • 19,022
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View Postyeezusk, on 11 May 2019 - 01:49 AM, said:

 

I know that I don't need to buy the tanks to actually progress but I do need the previous vehicle on to research it. Example, I haven't started the heavy tank line in germany , so if I research the E-75 using blueprints I would need to go through the Tiger II and once I get that I can fully buy and research the E-75.

 

Yes, you do need to have unlocked the tank before it first. As most tanks research paths are blocked by modules etc. In the Tiger II's case, you need to have the turret unlocked on it to open the path to the E75 before you can even buy any of the 10 blueprint parts needed. And to unlock the Tiger II turret, you first need to unlock... the Tiger II.

 

 



_zzzz_ #6 Posted 11 May 2019 - 01:54 AM

    Private

  • Player
  • 453 battles
  • 9
  • [-UM] -UM
  • Member since:
    01-12-2019
You can research a vehicle with a discount at any stage of the blueprint assembly if you have all previous vehicles and necessary modules in the branch researched.

Dorander #7 Posted 11 May 2019 - 04:04 AM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 20369 battles
  • 4,779
  • Member since:
    05-07-2012
The simplest way to understand it is that the mechanic of researching vehicles has not changed to before blueprints existed, it's just a reduction in experience cost. So sadly you can't cut into a line mid-way when you have earned/researched the entire vehicle blueprint (regardless of how little sense that makes, it's an arcade tank game, not a simulator).

yeezusk #8 Posted 11 May 2019 - 05:47 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 5035 battles
  • 31
  • [SKIL5] SKIL5
  • Member since:
    07-09-2017
Ok Thank you all , I ended up unlocking some vehicle fragments for the leopard pta as I already have the indien pz.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users