Jump to content


Downloaded Game, Can Only Play on Min Settings...


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

Hoplite76 #1 Posted 09 June 2019 - 04:56 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 19274 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    12-30-2012

Hi All, I recently got as a gift an Alienware Aurora I7 9700k 8 Core Processor with a 512 SSD and Nvidia Geforce 2080 graphics card and 16MB of RAM.

 

All of my drivers are up to date and other games I own are operating at high or ultra graphics. I downloaded the HD client and when I press the Recommended graphics button it sets everything to minimum. This clearly cannot be correct. If I try to run on Ultra I get 4FPS. 

 

So I uninstalled and reinstalled the game, same result. Game is unplayable, even on minimum graphics I only get 30-40FPS

 

So the question is how can this be? Has anyone had a similar problem and provide some direction. I filed a ticket but thought maybe the community had an idea. 

 

I couldn't find another place here to post this so I figured I would put it here. 

 

Hoplite76



fwhaatpiraat #2 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:11 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 58600 battles
  • 1,772
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    05-04-2013
-running on shared gpu, not on dedicated gpu
-not plugged into net and/or running on some powersaver mode

Miepie #3 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:11 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 4033 battles
  • 1,061
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    05-19-2018
...I hope you mean 16 GB of RAM...

Bracciano_gatto #4 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:20 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 2916 battles
  • 410
  • Member since:
    09-07-2018
I really do not have an answer for you but, that is a nice rig you got there !

ExclamationMark #5 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:27 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16788 battles
  • 4,415
  • [IDEAD] IDEAD
  • Member since:
    04-12-2013

You can ask a mod to move it here, you'll likely get your fix quicker. :P

 

http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.php?/forum/2703-tech-corner/



Homer_J #6 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:40 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32362 battles
  • 35,391
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostHoplite76, on 09 June 2019 - 04:56 PM, said:

16MB of RAM.

 

Last time I had that much memory I was running a i386 CPU.

 

View Postfwhaatpiraat, on 09 June 2019 - 05:11 PM, said:

-running on shared gpu, not on dedicated gpu

 

I'd guess that.

Bordhaw #7 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:44 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 14894 battles
  • 4,882
  • Member since:
    01-29-2017

View PostHoplite76, on 09 June 2019 - 03:56 PM, said:

Hi All, I recently got as a gift an Alienware Aurora I7 9700k 8 Core Processor with a 512 SSD and Nvidia Geforce 2080 graphics card and 16MB of RAM.

 

All of my drivers are up to date and other games I own are operating at high or ultra graphics. I downloaded the HD client and when I press the Recommended graphics button it sets everything to minimum. This clearly cannot be correct. If I try to run on Ultra I get 4FPS. 

 

So I uninstalled and reinstalled the game, same result. Game is unplayable, even on minimum graphics I only get 30-40FPS

 

So the question is how can this be? Has anyone had a similar problem and provide some direction. I filed a ticket but thought maybe the community had an idea. 

 

I couldn't find another place here to post this so I figured I would put it here. 

 

Hoplite76

 

Download the SD client and use that.

Sharp1903 #8 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:44 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 40012 battles
  • 2,434
  • Member since:
    01-10-2014
You should buy a better laptop :trollface:

_6i6_ #9 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:45 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 18799 battles
  • 448
  • [A__K] A__K
  • Member since:
    03-22-2018

which motherboard do u have? as others said maybe ur mobo has an integrated gfx chip and theres some conflict there.check bios to disable the integrated gfx if possible and also in device manager to disable the onboard gfx

 

edit...i just saw it is an alienware branded so it is probably kinda customised, so dont bother about the mobo model, just check the aurora specs about the integrated gfx and how to disable it


Edited by _6i6_, 09 June 2019 - 05:46 PM.


iuytr #10 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:46 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 12148 battles
  • 712
  • Member since:
    06-04-2015
I would kill for 30-40 fps! I've been playing on around 8 fps since 1.0.

Homer_J #11 Posted 09 June 2019 - 05:48 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32362 battles
  • 35,391
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostBordhaw, on 09 June 2019 - 05:44 PM, said:

 

Download the SD client and use that.

 

If he downloaded the HD client then he already has the SD one and he said he had set it to minimum graphics.  His system (assuming the 16MB is a typo) is more than capable.

Edited by Homer_J, 09 June 2019 - 05:49 PM.


ExclamationMark #12 Posted 09 June 2019 - 06:00 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16788 battles
  • 4,415
  • [IDEAD] IDEAD
  • Member since:
    04-12-2013
Nah, definitely not a typo. He clearly has 16mb of RAM. :rolleyes:

Edited by ExclamationMark, 09 June 2019 - 06:01 PM.


onderschepper #13 Posted 09 June 2019 - 06:13 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 2168 battles
  • 698
  • [BOF] BOF
  • Member since:
    05-17-2019
The new generation of PC gamers - all the gear, but no idea! :facepalm:

SuNo_TeSLa #14 Posted 09 June 2019 - 06:25 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 48511 battles
  • 470
  • [SWEPH] SWEPH
  • Member since:
    07-07-2013

View PostHomer_J, on 09 June 2019 - 05:40 PM, said:

 

Last time I had that much memory I was running a i386 CPU.

 

 

I'd guess that.

 

You must have had the most amazing 386 then, i never recall seeing any with more than 4 mb :trollface:

crnakoza #15 Posted 09 June 2019 - 07:19 PM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 60100 battles
  • 2,036
  • Member since:
    11-03-2014

View PostHoplite76, on 09 June 2019 - 04:56 PM, said:

Hi All, I recently got as a gift an Alienware Aurora I7 9700k 8 Core Processor with a 512 SSD and Nvidia Geforce 2080 graphics card and 16MB of RAM.

 

Your CPU has an integrated GPU which is obviously being used, switch to your GeForce. Since I neither have IGPU/GPU combo, nor I use Windows, this guide is the best I can provide you with:

https://support.sera...ndows-computer-

 

View PostSuNo_TeSLa, on 09 June 2019 - 06:25 PM, said:

 

You must have had the most amazing 386 then, i never recall seeing any with more than 4 mb :trollface:

 

My 486 had 4 MB... 16 megs in those days was comparable to having some 128 GB today.

NekoPuffer_PPP #16 Posted 09 June 2019 - 07:23 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 34123 battles
  • 3,985
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View Postonderschepper, on 09 June 2019 - 06:13 PM, said:

The new generation of PC gamers - all the gear, but no idea! :facepalm:

 

Yup.

 



ExclamationMark #17 Posted 09 June 2019 - 07:36 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16788 battles
  • 4,415
  • [IDEAD] IDEAD
  • Member since:
    04-12-2013
How about instead of bashing someone who appears to be unknowledgeable and is asking politely for help, you attempt to educate or help them, since you are clearly vastly more educated. :)

Edited by ExclamationMark, 09 June 2019 - 07:36 PM.


NekoPuffer_PPP #18 Posted 09 June 2019 - 07:50 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 34123 battles
  • 3,985
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostExclamationMark, on 09 June 2019 - 07:36 PM, said:

How about instead of bashing someone who appears to be unknowledgeable and is asking politely for help, you attempt to educate or help them, since you are clearly vastly more educated. :)

 

It's just a meme bro.

 

He already got the answers. Laptops like to run in power saving mode, and another user said his CPU has an integrated GPU, which seems is being used instead of the 2080 because of - power saving.

 

First thing you do with any new gear/game: Go through all the settings, adjust everything to suit you and your usage/playstyle, and then start playing.

 

Nothing is plug-and-play, nothing.



ExclamationMark #19 Posted 09 June 2019 - 07:52 PM

    Brigadier

  • Player
  • 16788 battles
  • 4,415
  • [IDEAD] IDEAD
  • Member since:
    04-12-2013
And? There is likely a reason they don't visit the forums often - interactions like these. You may find it funny, they may not. Either way it's unhelpful. 

Homer_J #20 Posted 09 June 2019 - 07:58 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 32362 battles
  • 35,391
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostExclamationMark, on 09 June 2019 - 07:52 PM, said:

And? There is likely a reason they don't visit the forums often - interactions like these. You may find it funny, they may not. Either way it's unhelpful. 

 

Unlike your extremely helpful posts?

 

Pot, kettle, black.

 

It's interesting interactions like this which brought me to forums in the first place.  If it was all boring factual stuff it would be a bit of a turnoff.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users