Jump to content


Larger monitor - way easier to hit stuff (Duh)


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

Eyesan #1 Posted 14 July 2019 - 03:28 PM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 74587 battles
  • 196
  • Member since:
    09-21-2014

Hi all, 

 

Just for the benefit of anyone wondering how the hell did XXX player hit my cupola weak spot so many times in a row, answer likely is he's playing at a higher res on a larger monitor.

 

I've just upgraded, & hitting stuff is considerably easier, hadn't imagined it would make such a difference.

 

(I've gone from 1080 to 1440).

 



fwhaatpiraat #2 Posted 14 July 2019 - 03:38 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 56520 battles
  • 1,438
  • [RGT] RGT
  • Member since:
    05-04-2013
I recently - some months ago - changed to the server side reticle. Needed to adopt a bit, but aiming for cupolas and such became easier. Didn't expect it, but it is a case of: once you use it, you don't want to go back.

WindSplitter1 #3 Posted 14 July 2019 - 04:04 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 18883 battles
  • 3,347
  • [DTPT] DTPT
  • Member since:
    02-07-2016

View Postfwhaatpiraat, on 14 July 2019 - 02:38 PM, said:

I recently - some months ago - changed to the server side reticle. Needed to adopt a bit, but aiming for cupolas and such became easier. Didn't expect it, but it is a case of: once you use it, you don't want to go back.

 

Tried both. Saw no difference with SWE TDs. Still miss easy shots even waiting 1s or more still. Maybe I should give it another shot.

 

View PostEyesan, on 14 July 2019 - 02:28 PM, said:

Hi all, 

 

Just for the benefit of anyone wondering how the hell did XXX player hit my cupola weak spot so many times in a row, answer likely is he's playing at a higher res on a larger monitor.

 

I've just upgraded, & hitting stuff is considerably easier, hadn't imagined it would make such a difference.

 

(I've gone from 1080 to 1440).

 

 

I can confirm this.

 



NekoPuffer_PPP #4 Posted 14 July 2019 - 04:14 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33696 battles
  • 3,824
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View Postfwhaatpiraat, on 14 July 2019 - 04:38 PM, said:

I recently - some months ago - changed to the server side reticle. Needed to adopt a bit, but aiming for cupolas and such became easier. Didn't expect it, but it is a case of: once you use it, you don't want to go back.

 

It's completely ridiculous it's even an option...why would you want a reticle which moves according to your game's aim, instead of the actual aim with server lag accounted for, in order to not ever miss.?

 

View PostWindSplitter1, on 14 July 2019 - 05:04 PM, said:

Tried both. Saw no difference with SWE TDs. Still miss easy shots even waiting 1s or more still. Maybe I should give it another shot.

 

For the love of god, enable it.

 

View PostEyesan, on 14 July 2019 - 04:28 PM, said:

Hi all, 

 

Just for the benefit of anyone wondering how the hell did XXX player hit my cupola weak spot so many times in a row, answer likely is he's playing at a higher res on a larger monitor.

 

I've just upgraded, & hitting stuff is considerably easier, hadn't imagined it would make such a difference.

 

(I've gone from 1080 to 1440).

 

I recently upgraded too, from a 1080p 24" screen to a 1440p 32" screen. Magnificent.

 

Only problem is, I'm short-sighted...so now I gotta wear glasses all the time, since I'm a bit further away from the screen, just enough to make things blurry ughhh >.>

 

However...lower FoV settings also make the image you're seeing appear larger, so try enabling Dynamic FoV. When you zoom in, it gets narrower, and when you zoom out it gets wider. That could help too. It's all in the graphics settings.



onderschepper #5 Posted 14 July 2019 - 05:56 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 2168 battles
  • 698
  • [BOF] BOF
  • Member since:
    05-17-2019
I only wish WG would create a feature for Extended Displays (2 Screens), whereby one has game play and the other could have a full screen display of the map, or a tactical feed showing the status of all friendly and enemy players (enemies HP updated when spotted again).

Baldrickk #6 Posted 14 July 2019 - 11:39 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32165 battles
  • 16,394
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    03-03-2013

View PostWindSplitter1, on 14 July 2019 - 04:04 PM, said:

 

Tried both. Saw no difference with SWE TDs. Still miss easy shots even waiting 1s or more still. Maybe I should give it another shot.

 

 

I can confirm this.

 

Get the server reticule mod. 

You get smooth aiming client side, and a second reticule to see when the server side has caught up. 



TheComfyChair #7 Posted 14 July 2019 - 11:59 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 8823 battles
  • 1,156
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    03-20-2017
As an old fart I recently got varifocal specs. I now have sniper mode built in just by lifting my head  :B

Edited by TheComfyChair, 14 July 2019 - 11:59 PM.


Baba_Yaga_s #8 Posted 15 July 2019 - 05:29 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 40987 battles
  • 233
  • [FUS2D] FUS2D
  • Member since:
    11-23-2012
If you want to aim properly and be beter you need gaming monitors with minim 144  Hertz , and the size doesnt matter . The monitors for games doesnt need to be large , they need to have 144 Hertz or 250 Hertz max . The frames are better and they can proces with the game at the same time.

reklakazala #9 Posted 15 July 2019 - 05:50 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 22498 battles
  • 332
  • [V-S-B] V-S-B
  • Member since:
    04-15-2015

View PostEyesan, on 14 July 2019 - 03:28 PM, said:

Hi all, 

 

Just for the benefit of anyone wondering how the hell did XXX player hit my cupola weak spot so many times in a row, answer likely is he's playing at a higher res on a larger monitor.

 

I've just upgraded, & hitting stuff is considerably easier, hadn't imagined it would make such a difference.

 

(I've gone from 1080 to 1440).

 

 

i have 21 inch . is there bigger ?

Jauhesammutin #10 Posted 15 July 2019 - 07:25 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23536 battles
  • 706
  • [KANKI] KANKI
  • Member since:
    11-05-2013

View PostNekoPuffer_PPP, on 14 July 2019 - 03:14 PM, said:

 

It's completely ridiculous it's even an option...why would you want a reticle which moves according to your game's aim, instead of the actual aim with server lag accounted for, in order to not ever miss.?

 

Because my aim is smooth and goes wherever I want whereas server reticle feels like I'm pulling the reticle with a rubber band. If you have a stable connection the normal reticle works just fine.



Somnorila #11 Posted 15 July 2019 - 08:35 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 57763 battles
  • 2,224
  • Member since:
    10-13-2012

Upgraded only your monitor or your whole system? Because i'm having a hard time believing that such a small bump in size would actually make a difference. I suppose somewhat like going from 24 to 27 inch, which is around 8cm difference, almost 1/6. Noticeable but not that important really.

 

I played WoT for so long i went through several monitors. From a 17 inch 4:3, to a 19 inch 4:3, to a 24 inch 16:10 (60Hz), to a 24 inch 16:9 (240Hz). Granted that i didn't play on a larger one, but i figured that 1080 is pretty fine for gaming and i'd rather not strain my already pretty old PC with higher resolutions. Otherwise i would had probably got a 2k resolution 27inch (144Hz) monitor.

Also i figured that on the long run i would rather have a better refresh rate to tap in than a higher resolution. 

Anyway, the only significant bump i noticed regarding ability to aim, was when i switched to server reticle. Took a while to get accustomed to a somewhat jumpy reticle but at least, most of the times, where you point you shoot. It helped to train not to rely so much on reflexes and take my time, until the reticle is on the enemy, which also helped with patience regarding aiming. 


Edited by Somnorila, 15 July 2019 - 08:38 AM.


MrClark56 #12 Posted 15 July 2019 - 08:42 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 7016 battles
  • 2,518
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-17-2013

View Postreklakazala, on 15 July 2019 - 05:50 AM, said:

 

i have 21 inch . is there bigger ?

 

yes.. above 21 inch they call it barry... the anaconda!! 

4nt #13 Posted 15 July 2019 - 09:44 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28196 battles
  • 1,101
  • Member since:
    04-09-2013

27in is good, but my monitor is so old it cannot go 2K. I've looked at more modern solutions but cannot really excuse myself for divulging the money yet.

Good thing tho is that with RTX on market and predecessors hot on heels, the monitor performance is going slowly up to 4K. It should bring 32in 2Ks soon to 150-200e level, and maybe on second hand sites to even sub-150. Maybe then.

 

Oh yea, personally I like the curved displays. But also I know gamers who wouldn't take them even for free. It helps slightly with space, but also have rep for breaking badly... Wouldn't probably buy one from second hand.

08:48 Added after 4 minutes

View PostSynopsis0, on 15 July 2019 - 05:29 AM, said:

If you want to aim properly and be beter you need gaming monitors with minim 144  Hertz , and the size doesnt matter . The monitors for games doesnt need to be large , they need to have 144 Hertz or 250 Hertz max . The frames are better and they can proces with the game at the same time.

Response time too... Difference between 10ms old Nokia test flat-screen and 1ms gaming screen is significant. When I last bought monitor for myself I took care to check those specs- 100 MHz and 1ms RT. Even now some screens sold as gaming displays have ref rates below 100 and over 4ms (4ms is acceptable).


Edited by 4nt, 15 July 2019 - 09:51 AM.


OllieCromwell #14 Posted 15 July 2019 - 09:59 AM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 44829 battles
  • 481
  • [GENB] GENB
  • Member since:
    02-11-2011

View Postreklakazala, on 15 July 2019 - 05:50 AM, said:

 

i have 21 inch . is there bigger ?

 

Are we still talking 'monitor' here ? ... or are you just showing off, in which case I say "Pictures or it ain't so" .... :trollface::hiding:

jack_timber #15 Posted 15 July 2019 - 11:04 AM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 39167 battles
  • 3,097
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

View PostOllieCromwell, on 15 July 2019 - 08:59 AM, said:

 

Are we still talking 'monitor' here ? ... or are you just showing off, in which case I say "Pictures or it ain't so" .... :trollface::hiding:

 

I think the obligatory replay or it didn't happen....

Captain_Kremen0 #16 Posted 15 July 2019 - 11:13 AM

    Captain

  • Player
  • 38956 battles
  • 2,220
  • [TFMB] TFMB
  • Member since:
    06-04-2011

View PostMrClark56, on 15 July 2019 - 07:42 AM, said:

 

yes.. above 21 inch they call it barry... the anaconda!! 

 

"It's not a Monitor; Its a 20 foot co........."

NekoPuffer_PPP #17 Posted 15 July 2019 - 04:04 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33696 battles
  • 3,824
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostJauhesammutin, on 15 July 2019 - 08:25 AM, said:

Because my aim is smooth and goes wherever I want whereas server reticle feels like I'm pulling the reticle with a rubber band. If you have a stable connection the normal reticle works just fine.

 

"If you have a stable connection" ahah...ha...yeah, "if", that's the thing... :sceptic: and it still is off by a bit. Server reticle or bust. The game doesn't decide where your shot goes, the server does. Next time you wonder why your shot didn't even land in the same post code? That's why.

bitslice #18 Posted 15 July 2019 - 04:12 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 23946 battles
  • 676
  • Member since:
    12-28-2013

View PostEyesan, on 14 July 2019 - 02:28 PM, said:

Hi all, 

 

Just for the benefit of anyone wondering how the hell did XXX player hit my cupola weak spot so many times in a row, answer likely is he's playing at a higher res on a larger monitor.

 

I've just upgraded, & hitting stuff is considerably easier, hadn't imagined it would make such a difference.

 

(I've gone from 1080 to 1440).

 

 

Yeh, I'd agree with this.

 

I've gone from a 1080P 24" to a 1440P 32" and I've hit a few cupolas lately,

whereas previously I probably wouldn't have bothered.

 

I suspect a 1440P 27" with a higher refresh rate might have been a slightly better option, because the 32" is a tad too big to take everything in.

 

 

 



VonniVidiVici #19 Posted 15 July 2019 - 04:16 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 38691 battles
  • 12,519
  • Member since:
    03-18-2013

View Postbitslice, on 15 July 2019 - 04:12 PM, said:

 

Yeh, I'd agree with this.

 

I've gone from a 1080P 24" to a 1440P 32" and I've hit a few cupolas lately,

whereas previously I probably wouldn't have bothered.

 

I suspect a 1440P 27" with a higher refresh rate might have been a slightly better option, because the 32" is a tad too big to take everything in.

 

 

 

 

To me 27-30" is the sweet spot. Anything bigger than that and I need more than just some quick eye movements to see what's happening on the edges of the screen. This may well vary from person to person of course.

 

View PostCaptain_Kremen0, on 15 July 2019 - 11:13 AM, said:

 

"It's not a Monitor; Its a 20 foot co........."

 

Too beaucoup. :<

Edited by VonniVidiVici, 15 July 2019 - 04:16 PM.


ederfe #20 Posted 15 July 2019 - 06:22 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 17139 battles
  • 403
  • Member since:
    01-13-2015
Can someone explain why I can't buy a monitor measured in cm? Come on EU! Fix pls.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users