Let's talk about realism

• Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

Bulldog_Drummond #1 Posted 22 July 2019 - 09:14 PM

Field Marshal

• Player
  • 32681 battles

A point I want to make right away is that this post is not a whine or in anyway a criticism of the game.  With some minor reservations, I like it, which is why I have been playing it for 7 years.  What this is more aimed at is the poster who has a gripe about something he doesn't like and damns it on the basis that it is not "realistic".  So let's look at some of the not realistic aspects of the game that no one ever complains about, while they focus on some other piffling detail of what is after all an arcade game.

• You can resurrect your crew from dead using your Magic Potion of Immortality.  Multiple times.
  • You can fix your broken tracks or gun from inside the tank. Instantly.
  • You have these amazing things called Hit Points so, unlike real life tanks, you can survive multiple pens.
  • You have this remarkable ability to see an entire battlefield.  Watch the excellent film 'Lebanon' for a more accurate take on what a tank commander can see buttoned up.
  • If you aim at something it usually hits.  This would be great news to WW2 tank commanders.
  • You have all these amazing blueprint tanks and features and upgrades on tanks all of which are pure fantasy.
  • Ramming works
  • Driving underwater works

I am sure that there are many other points that I have overlooked but, as I say, these never come into consideration when people are arguing about "realism".

Edited by Bulldog_Drummond, 22 July 2019 - 09:14 PM.

Spurtung #2 Posted 22 July 2019 - 09:23 PM

Lieutenant General

• Player
  • 72674 battles
  • [WG_PT] WG_PT
Artillery's accuracy. 

Frostilicus #3 Posted 22 July 2019 - 09:25 PM

Lieutenant Сolonel

• Clan Diplomat
  • 23549 battles
  • [-ZNO-] -ZNO-