Jump to content


Lag, is it me?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

fredo_k #1 Posted 23 July 2019 - 09:10 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 33068 battles
  • 255
  • Member since:
    12-30-2012

From time to time i get some really bad lag and it’s very frustrating as you can expect. I remember Dez talked about it but i wonder if this is just my computer running some updates in the background or from the game side. Thanks for your feedback. I get 60 fps all settings maxed out no problem so i know my PC is good. 



If_I_Die_You_Die_Too #2 Posted 23 July 2019 - 09:22 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9660 battles
  • 865
  • Member since:
    07-14-2016

I'm in the UK and I think the problem is BT(as usual)

 

EU1 is pretty bad

EU2 is a bit better

 

Last night was worse

 

When I spawned I could use my gun

But the moment I tried to move my tank everything went to hell

 

EDIT pressing the left ALT button helps for me when things get critical, it seems to force a server response, like poking WoT with a stick to get its attention


Edited by If_I_Die_You_Die_Too, 23 July 2019 - 09:40 AM.


Homer_J #3 Posted 23 July 2019 - 10:00 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 31759 battles
  • 34,915
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postfredo_k, on 23 July 2019 - 09:10 AM, said:

From time to time i get some really bad lag and it’s very frustrating as you can expect. I remember Dez talked about it but i wonder if this is just my computer running some updates in the background or from the game side. Thanks for your feedback. I get 60 fps all settings maxed out no problem so i know my PC is good. 

 

Usually it's your ISP being terrible but the only way to know is to download pingplotter, point it at login.p1.worldoftanks.eu or login.p2.worldoftanks.eu depending on which server you use, let it run while you play and when you have lag save the trace as an image and post it to the forum.  Some knowledgeable person will take a look.

Edited by Homer_J, 23 July 2019 - 10:00 AM.


krismorgan #4 Posted 23 July 2019 - 10:01 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 35851 battles
  • 556
  • [UKT] UKT
  • Member since:
    10-18-2013
had it for days on and off

NekoPuffer_PPP #5 Posted 23 July 2019 - 10:25 AM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33686 battles
  • 3,811
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

I've had random microstutters for weeks now on EU1. Haven't tried EU2 yet.



Arkarthurer #6 Posted 23 July 2019 - 10:41 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 11177 battles
  • 133
  • Member since:
    02-16-2017

Yes, it's laggy. 

Experienced it yesterday but same lagginess today as well and in one instance battle had already started by the time I had joined the game.

Ark'

 

(Edit, i was on EU1)


Edited by Arkarthurer, 23 July 2019 - 10:42 AM.


pecopad #7 Posted 23 July 2019 - 12:00 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28400 battles
  • 1,952
  • [UGN] UGN
  • Member since:
    09-04-2015

View PostHomer_J, on 23 July 2019 - 10:00 AM, said:

 

Usually it's your ISP being terrible but the only way to know is to download pingplotter, point it at login.p1.worldoftanks.eu or login.p2.worldoftanks.eu depending on which server you use, let it run while you play and when you have lag save the trace as an image and post it to the forum.  Some knowledgeable person will take a look.

 

No,most of the times, its not the ISP fault. We are not in the stone age anymore most ISP provide plenty of bandwith to have no problems playing WoT. And people who have ISP problems they have with all games, netflix,yoytube, etc, not only with WoT.

 

If you have a problem with lag in a particular game, most probably its a problem in the game servers.



NekoPuffer_PPP #8 Posted 23 July 2019 - 12:11 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33686 battles
  • 3,811
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View Postpecopad, on 23 July 2019 - 01:00 PM, said:

yoytube

 

I've seen many copyright-avoidance name alternatives for YouTube, such as youchube or mewtube but this, this takes the cake.

 

On-topic it seems most people are having issues with EU1...interesting. Also, I've just played a few games on EU2 and had no issues.



undutchable80 #9 Posted 23 July 2019 - 01:43 PM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 11057 battles
  • 3,499
  • [T-D-U] T-D-U
  • Member since:
    10-30-2014
Friday and saturday terrible lagg on EU1 whilst playing FL. Ping would go from ~40ms to 250. Didnt matter if I just happen to change to sniper mode or not. Very frustrating timing your shots at a swarm of 7 WVs. 

Balc0ra #10 Posted 23 July 2019 - 02:34 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 71481 battles
  • 19,963
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View Postpecopad, on 23 July 2019 - 12:00 PM, said:

 

No,most of the times, its not the ISP fault. We are not in the stone age anymore most ISP provide plenty of bandwith to have no problems playing WoT. And people who have ISP problems they have with all games, netflix,yoytube, etc, not only with WoT.

 

If you have a problem with lag in a particular game, most probably its a problem in the game servers.

 

We might live in 2019. But that doesn't mean every ISP in the world is in 2019. As mentioned above. In most topics like this if they are from the UK. It's the ISP more so than not. BT and Virgin are usually mentioned then.

 

And for me the 9 out 10 times I get spikes and lags from my location. Like Eu1 is for me atm. It's neither my ISP or the WG server. It's one of the servers on the way directing my traffic that causes the spikes and packet loss. When every detail and even input has to go to the server and back to run the game. Anything bad on the 13 connections between me and WG is affected by it. As mine for EU1 goes via spots in my nation. Then to Denmark, Germany before it jumps on 2 different servers in The Nederlands before it hits the last 2 WG owned spots. And 9 out 10 times... It's always that server in Denmark for me that's owned by Telia. Every time I can't play. It's that's connection. Not my ISP. Not WG. 



24doom24 #11 Posted 23 July 2019 - 02:36 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 8161 battles
  • 308
  • Member since:
    10-20-2012
Ping sky rockets from time to time and it only happens when I play WoT so no it's not on my end.

Homer_J #12 Posted 23 July 2019 - 02:55 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 31759 battles
  • 34,915
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postpecopad, on 23 July 2019 - 12:00 PM, said:

 

No,most of the times, its not the ISP fault. We are not in the stone age anymore most ISP provide plenty of bandwith to have no problems playing WoT.

 

 

 

Hhahahahhahahahahahhahahahahhahhahahhahahahhaha

 

Excuse me, I just fell off my chair.

 

Most ISPs provide a product aimed at web browsing and streaming video where the odd second of zero throughput won't be noticed.  They do not care about gamers and will fob you off with excuses and techno mumbo jumbo.

 

In short.  Do the test then come back.

13:57 Added after 1 minute

View Post24doom24, on 23 July 2019 - 02:36 PM, said:

Ping sky rockets from time to time and it only happens when I play WoT so no it's not on my end.

 

There's a lot of internet between "your end" and the server.

 

Again.  Do the test then come back.



onderschepper #13 Posted 23 July 2019 - 03:04 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 2168 battles
  • 696
  • [BOF] BOF
  • Member since:
    05-17-2019

I'm the same as everyone, EU1 with a wildly fluctuating Ping going from <30 up to 400 and back again in a span of 10 seconds.

 

The interesting thing is unlike perhaps everybody else, I am connecting via 4G Hub as opposed to Fiber cables in the ground, thus my connection traverses differently for the first part of the journey. (Fiber.........in Rural England..............:D)

 

It's also strange when the main servers I use for BFBC2 are located in Germany, but my Ping therein is a steady 30ms.



Homer_J #14 Posted 23 July 2019 - 03:25 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 31759 battles
  • 34,915
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View Postonderschepper, on 23 July 2019 - 03:04 PM, said:

I'm the same as everyone, EU1 with a wildly fluctuating Ping going from <30 up to 400 and back again in a span of 10 seconds.

 

The interesting thing is unlike perhaps everybody else, I am connecting via 4G Hub as opposed to Fiber cables in the ground, thus my connection traverses differently for the first part of the journey. (Fiber.........in Rural England..............:D)

 

It's also strange when the main servers I use for BFBC2 are located in Germany, but my Ping therein is a steady 30ms.

 

Like everybody?  Not me.  I don't get that wildly fluctuating ping even on 4G.  It does a bit on 2G though.

 

And how do you know BFBC2 measures ping the same way as WoT (which TBH has a very dodgy ping monitor).



onderschepper #15 Posted 23 July 2019 - 03:42 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 2168 battles
  • 696
  • [BOF] BOF
  • Member since:
    05-17-2019

View PostHomer_J, on 23 July 2019 - 03:25 PM, said:

 

Like everybody?  Not me.  I don't get that wildly fluctuating ping even on 4G.  It does a bit on 2G though.

 

And how do you know BFBC2 measures ping the same way as WoT (which TBH has a very dodgy ping monitor).

 

Like everyone who has stated they are encountering issues. :P I only normally encounter such lag on GPRS. :P

 

BFBC2's displayed Ping is half of actual Ping, thus therein I am showing as 15ms.

 

Ultimately I just take it as it comes, as online gaming is inherently unpredictable hence tournaments being conducted via LAN - plus it's a good excuse for a party in a Casino (not WoT). :B



If_I_Die_You_Die_Too #16 Posted 23 July 2019 - 09:09 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 9660 battles
  • 865
  • Member since:
    07-14-2016

Got a warning for inactivity this am lol, 999 ping

 

But it got me out doing stuff, dang hot out there at the moment



4nt #17 Posted 23 July 2019 - 09:46 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 28153 battles
  • 1,095
  • Member since:
    04-09-2013
Again not a single spike for me all weekend.

You do know that ISPs slow down traffic during rush hours, do you? Only with high cost fixed IPs one may get priority traffic, and only with some ISPs. Better read those contracts carefully.

TheComfyChair #18 Posted 24 July 2019 - 12:20 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 8816 battles
  • 1,148
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    03-20-2017
I am at war with SKY....they are sneaky buggers though. :bush:

PayMore #19 Posted 24 July 2019 - 08:13 AM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 26526 battles
  • 642
  • Member since:
    05-24-2013
I allso have started to get a lot of lag the last month. I think there mayby is some change in WG ELO algorithims that is doing that. Its a long time since I bought a Fort Knox package

Lagalaza #20 Posted 24 July 2019 - 08:41 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 7707 battles
  • 263
  • [D-ANG] D-ANG
  • Member since:
    08-11-2018

I'm in the middle of nowhere on the west coast of Scotland. You have to get a ferry to get to where I am!!

 

Ping never worse than 40ms and usually running at 15-20ms. Very rarely get lag, if ever. I am one of only a handful of people linked into my exchange on fibre optic with BT. I pay for the top package and get a great connection 99% of the time. I guess because there are only a few of us using it, lag is never an issue.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users