Jump to content


Remove The 3D Objects Outside The Map


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

Fanste94 #1 Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:31 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3930 battles
  • 357
  • Member since:
    01-13-2013
They are useless and use more PC resources

BravelyRanAway #2 Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:35 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 24210 battles
  • 11,511
  • [H_I_T] H_I_T
  • Member since:
    12-29-2010
Invest in some new tech.

PowJay #3 Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:38 PM

    Major General

  • Player
  • 39282 battles
  • 5,211
  • Member since:
    09-07-2012
Do you ever stop moaning?

Nishi_Kinuyo #4 Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:43 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 8799 battles
  • 6,046
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 10:31 PM, said:

They are useless and use more PC resources

Maybe you should stop using that Pentium 4 of your's and get a proper, modern PC instead.

Even an 8th gen i3 with a budget-ish GPU runs WoT more than well enough.


Edited by Nishi_Kinuyo, 07 August 2019 - 10:44 PM.


NekoPuffer_PPP #5 Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:51 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33696 battles
  • 3,824
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostNishi_Kinuyo, on 07 August 2019 - 11:43 PM, said:

Maybe you should stop using that Pentium 4 of your's and get a proper, modern PC instead.

Even an 8th gen i3 with a budget-ish GPU runs WoT more than well enough.

 

If I can run any game decently with my i3-4170 and a GTX950, then a current-gen i3 and GTX1050 are perfectly adequate.

 

Been tinkering around with settings and resolution and I'm able to run WoT at a stable 75fps at 1440p on low-HD graphics (HD client but with recuded graphics). Bushes still cause drops though, as they usually do...



Tha_Truth #6 Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:55 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 73581 battles
  • 85
  • [E-VO] E-VO
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 10:31 PM, said:

They are useless and use more PC resources

you assume there are 3d rendered objects outside the bounds.

 

they are probably projection mappings



Fanste94 #7 Posted 07 August 2019 - 11:08 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3930 battles
  • 357
  • Member since:
    01-13-2013
They are still useless the game doesn't need 3D objects outisde the map

Nishi_Kinuyo #8 Posted 07 August 2019 - 11:24 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 8799 battles
  • 6,046
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    05-28-2011

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 11:08 PM, said:

They are still useless the game doesn't need 3D objects outisde the map

And we already established that a budget PC from 6 years ago can run the game fine.

So if your's can not, then clearly the problem lies with you.

View PostNekoPuffer_PPP, on 07 August 2019 - 10:51 PM, said:

 

If I can run any game decently with my i3-4170 and a GTX950, then a current-gen i3 and GTX1050 are perfectly adequate.

 

Been tinkering around with settings and resolution and I'm able to run WoT at a stable 75fps at 1440p on low-HD graphics (HD client but with recuded graphics). Bushes still cause drops though, as they usually do...

 



Balc0ra #9 Posted 07 August 2019 - 11:49 PM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 71518 battles
  • 19,995
  • [WALL] WALL
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 11:08 PM, said:

They are still useless the game doesn't need 3D objects outisde the map

 

Considering that the fog of nothing beyond the map border was a common complaint pre 1.0. They added objects to outside the world to liven it up. And most of these are flat 2d textures rather then 3d objects that suck up power tbh.



Spurtung #10 Posted 07 August 2019 - 11:51 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 72674 battles
  • 6,234
  • [WG_PT] WG_PT
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013

View PostTha_Truth, on 07 August 2019 - 09:55 PM, said:

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 10:31 PM, said:

They are useless and use more PC resources

you assume there are 3d rendered objects outside the bounds.

 

they are probably projection mappings

Not the case considering you can break fences and push down trees outside the map.

22:53 Added after 2 minute

View PostBalc0ra, on 07 August 2019 - 10:49 PM, said:

 

Considering that the fog of nothing beyond the map border was a common complaint pre 1.0. They added objects to outside the world to liven it up. And most of these are flat 2d textures rather then 3d objects that suck up power tbh.

They are not, for example the fence along the 0 line in the city on the Siegfried Line map.

 

I suppose they become an issue when arties are spotting redline campers...


Edited by Spurtung, 08 August 2019 - 12:26 AM.


NekoPuffer_PPP #11 Posted 08 August 2019 - 12:28 AM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33696 battles
  • 3,824
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostSpurtung, on 08 August 2019 - 12:51 AM, said:

Not the case considering you can break fences and push down trees outside the map.

22:53 Added after 2 minute

They are not, for example the fence along the 0 line in the city on the Siegfried Line map.

 

I suppose they become an issue when arties are spotting redline campers...

 

Well, obviously, to retain a shred of realism, objects closer to the redline will still be 3D, but the ones beyond that are 2D.

 

I remember zooming in to the distant cliffs on...Cliff, and thought "wow, that looks ugly".



SpartA_1ah1 #12 Posted 08 August 2019 - 12:45 AM

    Corporal

  • Player
  • 22082 battles
  • 178
  • Member since:
    05-04-2014
Maybe they will do trump wall around the map.

Gremlin182 #13 Posted 08 August 2019 - 12:52 AM

    General

  • Player
  • 56175 battles
  • 9,310
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

They are a blessing and a curse.

Blessing because they add more immersion the landscape just keeps going as far as the eye can see.

Curse because sometimes you lose track of where the border is, head off towards some cover and when you get there its off map and you are sitting in the open.

You can make the border more obvious but that tends to remove the feeling of having an endless map.

Would not surprise me if there wasn't a mod for what you want.



Bulldog_Drummond #14 Posted 08 August 2019 - 12:55 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Player
  • 32681 battles
  • 10,168
  • Member since:
    08-10-2014
Since I play the game on either my Nokia or my Commodore 64 it would be helpful if colours were removed and the game was in white (or green) and black.

jack_timber #15 Posted 08 August 2019 - 10:44 AM

    Lieutenant Сolonel

  • Player
  • 39167 battles
  • 3,097
  • Member since:
    07-26-2014

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 10:08 PM, said:

They are still useless the game doesn't need 3D objects outisde the map

Maybe not but they are pretty and I just love to watch the trains going past, have yet to get the loco number yet though.

What are your PC specs btw...



StinkyStonky #16 Posted 08 August 2019 - 10:57 AM

    Major

  • Player
  • 33331 battles
  • 2,785
  • [-SJA-] -SJA-
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

View PostFanste94, on 07 August 2019 - 09:31 PM, said:

They are useless and use more PC resources

View Postjack_timber, on 08 August 2019 - 09:44 AM, said:

Maybe not but they are pretty and I just love to watch the trains going past, 

I love all the stuff outside the map.

 

The tornado on highway, the wandering sheep on Westfield, the train on Lakeville, the oil spill on El Haluf, the crashing plane on Erlenberg, the helicopters and jets on Minsk, the fighters on Prokhorovka, the fire/smoke on most maps.

Himmelsdorf has pictures of the devs in some of the destroyed buildings.

 

These thinks all make the game better.



TankkiPoju #17 Posted 08 August 2019 - 11:18 AM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 22987 battles
  • 7,049
  • [-MM] -MM
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011

View PostBulldog_Drummond, on 08 August 2019 - 12:55 AM, said:

Since I play the game on either my Nokia or my Commodore 64 it would be helpful if colours were removed and the game was in white (or green) and black.

 

Commodore 64 has a fixed 16 color palette.

 

But WoT on a 9600 bps green and black hardware terminal would be pretty sweet. That is, the screen updates at speed of 9600 bits per second... and only supports something like VT220 character set as graphics.


Edited by TankkiPoju, 08 August 2019 - 11:22 AM.


Homer_J #18 Posted 08 August 2019 - 11:38 AM

    Field Marshal

  • Beta Tester
  • 31782 battles
  • 34,931
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    09-03-2010

View PostNishi_Kinuyo, on 07 August 2019 - 11:24 PM, said:

And we already established that a budget PC from 6 years ago can run the game fine.

So if your's can not, then clearly the problem lies with you.

 

We already established that OP has a budget system from around 15 years ago.



Fanste94 #19 Posted 08 August 2019 - 06:39 PM

    Staff Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3930 battles
  • 357
  • Member since:
    01-13-2013
I can run the game fine but the objects outside the map are not important, you need to pay attention what's happening inside the map not outside the map and the game would run better for most people if there were no 3D objects outside the map and the map is confusing now because sometimes you think that you can move to a place and you see that it's outside the map

NekoPuffer_PPP #20 Posted 08 August 2019 - 07:30 PM

    Colonel

  • Player
  • 33696 battles
  • 3,824
  • [VRTC] VRTC
  • Member since:
    09-13-2013

View PostFanste94, on 08 August 2019 - 07:39 PM, said:

I can run the game fine but the objects outside the map are not important, you need to pay attention what's happening inside the map not outside the map and the game would run better for most people if there were no 3D objects outside the map and the map is confusing now because sometimes you think that you can move to a place and you see that it's outside the map

 

I think you might wanna make sure you can see the map border properly, it's in the settings somewhere, can't remember the exact section...but it's not in graphics.


Edited by NekoPuffer_PPP, 08 August 2019 - 07:30 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users