Is World of Tanks worth it?

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

llVIU #1 Posted 24 September 2019 - 07:47 PM

Warrant Officer

• Clan Commander
  • 37987 battles
  • [TKSPG] TKSPG

I started playing this game 7 years ago, then quit and moved to wot blitz. I came back and I see 2 things. People complain, mainly about the same issues. LOTS of complaining, and there's hardly any new players... the game should've gained more and more popularity, it should be easy to find new players and harder to find old players. But I get the feeling that most of the players are just as old here as I am, some even older, I can tell by the join date on these forums. It feels like new gamers have a better perspective than we do, they look at this game, they see the flaws more clearly and think to themselves ''nope, not worth it'' while we have our ''progress'', a game that we ''grew up with'' so we stick to it. But is it worth it? Are we having fun? How many of the issues have been fixed since you started playing world of tanks? Team killing, rude people, unfair matches, arty, hacking... it feels like wargaming is aware of this and they keep targeting their products to old players, rather than new ones. Even using us to draw new players in, such as rewards for referring people. Sounds like they're having a hard time getting new players. And the forums seem less active than in 2014. I don't hear anyone talking about world of tanks anywhere else on the internet or in real life (unlike for example half life, fortnite, overwatch, diablo, starcraft, world of warcraft etc) I don't get the feeling that things are gonna change drastically for the better (just band-aids of ''buy this limited edition tank for this limited time, buy this discount gold'' ) , and I think the game will decline in popularity even further until the day when the cost of keeping the servers is higher than the money flowing in. How many years will that take?

Am I wrong?