Jump to content


Strange setting reset today. Anyone else?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

_bitter_end_ #1 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:25 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 61180 battles
  • 517
  • Member since:
    05-28-2012

Hi all!

 

As the title says, i played wot in the afternoon, and after loggin out i wanted to turn off my computer, and my screen turned into a colory mess. After turning on my pc and logging into the game again, many of my previous settings (graphics, etc) were reseted, all the settings and missions were shown as "unseen" (with the little red numbers). Strange..... Did anyone of you experience the same guys? 


Edited by _bitter_end_, 27 November 2019 - 06:27 PM.


ValkyrionX #2 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:31 PM

    Major

  • Moderator
  • 54604 battles
  • 2,716
  • [RDDT] RDDT
  • Member since:
    02-07-2015
This thread has been moved to the correct section

_bitter_end_ #3 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:37 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 61180 battles
  • 517
  • Member since:
    05-28-2012
Thanks and sorry... any idea/help maybe, please? i guess not many players reading the tech corner....

Edited by _bitter_end_, 27 November 2019 - 06:39 PM.


RamRaid90 #4 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:40 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 26236 battles
  • 7,231
  • [DID0] DID0
  • Member since:
    12-14-2014
This seems to be a bug that has been around for a while.

Often happens to me at random times when no hardware fault has been present, and as yet haven't been able to put my finger on the cause.

Can you list your PC specs so I can see if there are any hardware consistencies?

Edited by RamRaid90, 27 November 2019 - 06:41 PM.


_bitter_end_ #5 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:43 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 61180 battles
  • 517
  • Member since:
    05-28-2012
Ryzen 1500X, 16 gb ddr4 ram, sapphire rx 580 8g pulse. At first i was afraid it is a hardware problem, but i didnt experience the same with other games... i didnt have this issue before. :/

Edited by _bitter_end_, 27 November 2019 - 06:44 PM.


ValkyrionX #6 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:44 PM

    Major

  • Moderator
  • 54604 battles
  • 2,716
  • [RDDT] RDDT
  • Member since:
    02-07-2015

View Post_bitter_end_, on 27 November 2019 - 06:37 PM, said:

Thanks and sorry... any idea/help maybe, please? i guess not many players reading the tech corner....

If you have problems with the client, I advise you first of all to remove all the mods.

 

Start the WGC and through the options starts a verification of the client's files to check that the files are updated and not corrupted.

Try starting the game after this scan without using mods.

If the game works and your settings are not lost after several restarts of the game then you have a problem created by some mods not updated or badly configured.


If the problem persists even without the use of mods and the launch of the game in a safe way I advise you to check via WGcheck and to contact Customer Service.

 

Glad to have helped you

 



_bitter_end_ #7 Posted 27 November 2019 - 06:48 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 61180 battles
  • 517
  • Member since:
    05-28-2012
I only use 1 mod which makes the female crew to have male voices. i use it for a long time already and nevert had any problems with it. I hope not my vga wants to go cr*p... O_O

Edited by _bitter_end_, 27 November 2019 - 06:49 PM.


RamRaid90 #8 Posted 27 November 2019 - 07:03 PM

    Lieutenant General

  • Player
  • 26236 battles
  • 7,231
  • [DID0] DID0
  • Member since:
    12-14-2014

View PostValkyrionX, on 27 November 2019 - 05:44 PM, said:

If you have problems with the client, I advise you first of all to remove all the mods.

 

Start the WGC and through the options starts a verification of the client's files to check that the files are updated and not corrupted.

Try starting the game after this scan without using mods.

If the game works and your settings are not lost after several restarts of the game then you have a problem created by some mods not updated or badly configured.


If the problem persists even without the use of mods and the launch of the game in a safe way I advise you to check via WGcheck and to contact Customer Service.

 

Glad to have helped you

 

 

I have experiemced the saame issue as OP, i have had a mod free client for around 3 years now. Even after several re-installs the issue occasionally shows its head.

It seems completely random and happens probably once every few months.



_bitter_end_ #9 Posted 27 November 2019 - 07:08 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Player
  • 61180 battles
  • 517
  • Member since:
    05-28-2012

View PostRamRaid90, on 27 November 2019 - 06:03 PM, said:

 

I have experiemced the saame issue as OP, i have had a mod free client for around 3 years now. Even after several re-installs the issue occasionally shows its head.

It seems completely random and happens probably once every few months.

Its a bit relaxing, that im not the only one having this problem.... but i guess its by far not relaxing for you though. But at least it looks that its not my hardwares issue. 

 

Anyway, i restarted the game again, and no problems now, but i guess, i will see it again, if RamRaid does sometimes too... :/



PointZero #10 Posted 27 November 2019 - 08:53 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Player
  • 46848 battles
  • 1,315
  • Member since:
    02-03-2011

I've had it happen a couple of times aswell on some of the previous patches, both times were after when my computer froze up and I had to do a hard reset.

This is the reason why I keep a screenshot of my settings saved so I don't have to remember what my settings were in the rare case it happens again.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users